Page 34 - CHSCA Issue 3 2019-2020
P. 34

Good News Department
by Tom Murray
 You never value something as much as when you lose it. High school sports are over for the remainder of the school year. All of us are experiencing pain and a great sense of loss. For coaches and their players, for parents, officials and fans it is a dark time.
Let us not dwell on the present, but glance back at the happy times before the coronavirus entered our lives and let us congratulate coaches and their teams who have earned distinction in their respective sport. And let us focus on the future when we will return to bet- ter days when high school athletic competition has re- turned.
News about coaches being appointed to new posi- tions:
n Derby baseball coach Steve Bainer was appoint-
ed school’s next head football coach in February. n Pat Miller was named next Norwalk football
n Phil Orbe was named the new athletic director at
New London High School.
n Erik Becker has been named the head football
coach Haddam-Killingworth.
n Former Capital Prep girls’ basketball coach Tam-
my Millsaps was hired as the New London girls’
basketball coach.
n Mike Serricchio was named the Ledyard’s new
football coach.
n Mike Eagle is returning to sidelines as Coginchaug
co-op football coach.
n Mike Forget, has been named the Darien’s new
head football coach for the 2020 season.
n Chris Pace has been hired as the Abbott Tech/Im-
maculate (ATI) head football coach.
n Regina Sullivan has been appointed as the girls’
soccer coach in Guilford.
n Matt DeMarco is the new track and field coach
at Killingly H.S.
n Brian Neumeyer has been appointed as boys’
soccer coach at Fairfield Prep.
n Marc Romano has been named the athletic direc-
tor at Montville High School,
n The FCIAC will be inducting six new members into its Hall of Fame when the conference holds its year-end ceremony on June 18 at the Norwalk Inn.
n The Hall of Fame Class of 2020 will include wres- tling coaches Charles Anderson of Trumbull and Jason Shaugnessy of Warde, Wilton baseball coach Tim Eagan, Norwalk field hockey coach Kyle Seaburg, Ludlowe girls’ tennis coach John Resiert, and Greenwich administrator Ralph Mayo.
n The FCIAC will also be honoring Trumbull’s Jerry McDougall with the Ralph King Award, and New Canaan’s Vin Iovino with the John Kuczo Award.
nThe Casey-O’Brien Football Foundation Hall of Fame honored Cheshire High School coach Don Drust, who will receive the Chapter Coach of the Year Award. Two longtime coaches with ties to the area have been selected for Distinguished American awards. George DeLeone and Chris Palmer have a combined 100 years of coaching in the col- lege and professional (NFL) ranks.
n Dave Johnson, commissioner of the South West Conference since 2015, will be honored with the Hal Levy High School Achievement Award by the Connecticut Sports Writers’ Alliance at the 79th Gold Key Dinner on April 26 at the Aqua Turf Club in Southington.
n Windham’s Pat Risley was honored as NHSCA na- tional coach of the year.
n Bunnell High School named its basketball court after former longtime AD Dave Johnson.
n The New Haven Register named Naugatuck football coach, Michael Wilson, state coach of the year.
n Anthony DiLungo had his jersey retired for East Haven hockey at the rink that bears his name. He died in 2018, just 49 years old. He’d been an as- sistant coach for 13 years at East Haven.
n The JCC Classic has been postponed indefinite- ly. Too bad for the coaches who were selected to coach. They include Tim Tredwell (Hand) and Mari Conlon, (Notre Dame-Fairfield) for the girls’ and Dannie Powell (Bunnel) Ken Smith (Wind- sor) and boys’ game.
n Annual All County and Scholar – Athlete dinner has been postponed indefinitely. Slated to be hon- ored are Boys’ Basketball Coach of the Year, Mike Kohs of Xavier H.S. and Girls’ Basketball Coach of the Year, Joseph Cavallaro, of Shelton H.S. Brad Chernovetz will receive the Hank Luzzi Official of the Year Award.
  PAGE 34 • CONNECTICUT COACH • ISSUE 3 • 2019-2020

   32   33   34   35   36