Page 35 - CHSCA Issue 3 2019-2020
P. 35

n Among those to be honored on June 25 with induc- tion into the Wilbur Cross Athletic Hall of Fame are Barbara Thaxton, former Cross girls’ basketball coach.
n Among those to be inducted into the Connecticut Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame in September are Brian Hurlock, Ron Hansen, and Margaret Tieman.
n The 2020 CAAD 2020 award recipients are CAAD Hall of Fame inductions Pam Goodpaster and John Shukie; Distinguished Service Award, Christopher Meyers; NAIAA State Award of Merit, Jonathan Nadeau; and The Robert Duncanson “Meritorious Service Award”, Ellen Turner.
n The coaches selected as the New Haven Register winter coaches of the year are Matt Richards (Ridgefield) ice hockey Assistant Coach of the Year; Notre Dame-Fairfield girls’ basketball coach, Maria Conlon; Ken Pierson, Hamden Hall boys’ swim coach; Darien ice hockey coach Mac Budd; Bran- ford wrestling coach, Jesse Hurlburt; Amanda Forcucci, Hamden girls’ basketball coach; Travis Gale, indoor track coach at Wilbur Cross; Jim Di- napoli, boys’ ice hockey coach at Branford; Kev- in Walton, Wilbur Cross boys’ basketball coach; Pete Capezzone, Old Saybrook girls’ track and field coach; and Pat Simon, Jonathan Law gym- nastics coach.
n Former baseball coach and athletic director Phil Orbe is slated for induction into the Montville High School Athletic Hall of Fame in November.
n Jim Cotter, the former Norwich Free Academy softball coach who won 297 games, was named to the Connecticut Collegiate and Scholastic Softball Hall of Fame in February.
n John Niski, Shelton athletic director, has been named the Michael’s Cup Athletic Director of the Year for his contributions to the success of Unified Sports.
known and highly respected in Middletown and was an excellent athlete. The Coaches Association extends its condolences to Deb and her family.
Timothy J. McDonald: The Holy Cross High School community was saddened to report that former President, Timothy J. McDonald passed away in the early morning of September 16, 2019. Mr. McDon- ald’s strong leadership, dedication, and commitment brought Holy Cross High School to where it is today.
Mr. McDonald served the students, faculty, staff and families of Holy Cross High School for more than 40 years in many titles and capacities. He began his teaching career at Waterbury Catholic High School in 1968. He joined the Holy Cross community in 1971 serving as a member of the faculty, coaching staff, and Dean of Students. He was appointed Principal in 1989, followed by Vice President for Advancement and Presi- dent in 2007, retiring in 2015. Mr. McDonald served on the Connecticut State Board of Education from 1995 -2007. In 2013, the Association of Catholic Admis- sions and Advancement Professionals presented him with the prestigious William A. MacNeill Award for his dedication and commitment to Catholic schools. In 2016, he was inducted into Holy Cross High School’s Crusader Hall of Honor.
Mr. McDonald was Holy Cross’s first basketball coach and served in that capacity from 1970-1988. His long list of accomplishments include: undefeated seasons in 1973 and 1977; seven Naugatuck Val- ley League Championships; State Runner-up (Class LL, 1980-81 and 1981-82); State Championship (Class LL, 1987-88); and Connecticut High School Coaches’ Association Coach of the Year, 1985-86. He served as a valued member of the CIAC Boys’ CIAC Basket- ball Committee and in 1998 the Waterbury Boys’ Club Humanitarian Award. He was also the recipient of the 2008 Boys’ CIAC Basketball Tournament Dedication Award.
Ralph McCarroll, legendary softball coach at South Windsor H.S. passed away in late winter. He was a physical education and health teacher for 29 years at the elementary, middle and high school level. He also coached girls’ softball for 15 years and served as athletic director and department head at the high school. He also served on the South Windsor Parks and Recreation Commission for 12 years, and was its chairman for 10 years.
McCarroll, a 2014 inductee into the South Windsor High Hall of Fame, received coach of the year awards from the Connecticut High School Coaches Associa- tion and the Northern Connecticut Football Foundation and served on the state football committee.
While he was athletic director, South Windsor won
700 Nick Augelli 500 Pat Risley 400 Todd Silva
Louis Petruzzello, the husband of Deb Petru- zzello, president-elect of the CHSCA, died tragically in a bike accent in Middletown in early May. Deb and her husband were married for 32 years. Louis was well
boys’ basketball wrestling
Coginchaug boys’ basketball
 CONNECTICUT COACH • ISSUE 3 • 2019-2020 • PAGE 35

   33   34   35   36   37