Page 12 - Boarding Handbook 2019-2020
P. 12

I  Napier House is home to up to 46 girls aged 14–18, from Lower 5 to Upper Sixth,
E  accommodated in a combination of single, double or four-bed dorms, with three resident
R  staff. There is a fully-equipped kitchen-diner with ample seating, as well as two kitchens

H  upstairs for hot drinks, laundry, large common room and computer room.

O  Year groups are mixed throughout the House, with senior girls supporting younger ones,
U  helping girls make a wide range of friends across the School.
E Who’s Who in Napier

   Ms Laura Holloway, Housemistress
   Welcome to the happy and caring community that is Napier House. Now in my seventh
   year as Housemistress, I look forward to welcoming all girls, current and new, into the
   House and getting to know and support them over the course of their years with us.
   Alongside my fantastic team, I run a considerate and friendly house where all girls receive
   individual care to help them fulfil their potential.

   I live in the boarding house with my partner, James, our son, Samuel, our daughter,
   Elspeth, and our cat, Charlie — a favourite of the girls! I have worked in girls’ boarding
   schools since completing my degree at the University of Oxford and subsequent Master’s
   degree in Education. I teach Latin and Greek at Headington and I am Director of Overseas
   University Admissions. During the holidays, I am often found travelling abroad or walking
   in the countryside, spending time with friends and family and playing the piano. I look
   forward to welcoming you and your family to Napier.

   Mr Richard Darcy, Assistant Housemaster
   Welcome to Napier House — a caring, supportive and fun place to live. I joined
   Headington School in September 2016 as a Teacher of Biology and began my role as
   Assistant Housemaster of Napier House in September 2017. Over the past two years,
   I have enjoyed working with the Napier House team and forming positive working
   relationships with our girls.

   I arrived at Headington School following a period of four years teaching at the City
   of London School for Girls and lived in London for a period of eight years. I have been
   pleased with my decision to move to Oxford and love living here. I live in Napier House
   with my fiancée, Ellie.

   I completed my undergraduate degree in Biomedical Sciences at Queen Mary, University
   of London, followed by my teacher training at King’s College London. I am a keen
   supporter of Chelsea Football Club and a self-confessed rowing geek!

              I look forward to meeting you and getting to know you during your time in Napier House.
   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17