Page 30 - Roton_50.5
P. 30
THE STORY OF ROWAYTON
Rowayton is an affluent coastal New England village located in the
town of Norwalk, Connecticut. Less than an hour from NYC, picturesque
Rowayton lies at the mouth of the Five Mile River, adjacent to Darien.
Rowayton is home to a host of beaches, three of which share a common
history.
In the early 20th century, Roton Point, Baylet Beach and the coastal enclave
Wee Burn Country Club made up what was once known as the Roton
Amusement Park. A boat landing attached to Sunset Rock, just west of Belle
Island, allowed steam boats from New York City to make day trips to the park.
Rowayton is also home to the historic Rock Ledge estate located on Highland
Avenue. Added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1977, the estate
brings worldwide attention to the bustling coastal village.
In 1910, James A. Farrell first built the Tudor revival mansion that burnt down
in 1913 and was rebuilt in Granite. Since 1966, the Farrell family stables have
been converted into the Rowayton Community Center and the Rowayton
Library.
The beautiful coastline of Rowayton has been a source of inspiration
for centuries. John Frederick Kensett, a famous nineteenth-century
landscape painter of the Hudson School, frequently chose to paint the
Rowayton seascape in his later life.
Home to an active community of artists, this tradition is carried
on through the lively local arts scene unique to the village of
Rowayton. Located on the Long Island Sound, Rowayton
offers beautiful coastal life living with the convenience
and sophistication of a city.