Page 17 - West Pennant Hills Cherrybrook Cricket Club Yearbook 2014-15
P. 17

This was a sign of things to come and the guys showed why we have the best bowling attack in the comp. Steady wickets flowed all morning with some tremendous pressure through bowling partnerships. Jobbo (2/15); Riley Miedler once again backing up from 6fa in the SF picked up (3/13 and his 200th wicket making him the youngest in our history to achieve this landmark); Hendo the finals specialist grabbed (3/10) and Sol got an important wicket also (1/15). Berowra all out just after lunch for 67 after being 9/48 at lunch. This total is identical to what we bowled ARL out for in last year’s GF.
In reply we were able to reach 4-130 at stumps. Our top order was all class and really showed that if you dig in and value your wicket on this pitch, it would pay dividends. Gav Taylor (52*) and Stu Newman (43) were outstanding as they have been all season. With still 6 wickets left and plenty of batting to come we are in a superb position to bring home Rofie for a fourth straight year.
 Riley Miedler - A1 Grade Grand Final day 1 taking his 200th wicket and becoming the youngest player (21 years of age) in our 84 year history to achieve this significant milestone - 28th March 2015.
Day 2
Resuming at 4/130 we batted on for about 20 overs. Gav Taylor batted with great maturity to increase his overnight score to 74 and with Stu Newman (43) guided us to a strong position with a 79 run 3rd wicket partnership – the highest partnership of the match. Berowra had nothing to lose and went for fast runs but the challenge against our attack, quality fielding and smart captaincy was always going to be tough. Their innings followed a certain inevitability backed up by smart captaincy by James Makin who set 1-day fields and waited for Berowra boys to play get out shots. Matt Jobson backed up his 2 wickets in the first innings with 5/37. Scott Henderson got 3/6 and Matt Spalding got 1/33. We ended up winning by a comfortable innings and 29 runs to win our 4th consecutive Premiership. James Makin also notched up his 4th consecutive Premiership as Captain – another Club record.
The moment A1 won a Club record 4th consecutive Grand Final. Matt Jobson takes the wicket with Geoff Hasler (umpire) raising his finger. Also in the photo is from left: James Makin (Captain), Peter Stott, Stu Newman (w/k after taking the catch) and Sol Tomlinson running in - Sunday 29th March 2015.
In summary, the boys were just too experienced, better in all facets on the day, and know how to win the big games. “Welcome to the big dance”.
From left to right – back row: Geoff Hasler (umpire),
Riley Miedler, Scott Henderson, James Makin (Captain),
Sol Tomlinson, Stu Newman, Sam Baidya, Simon Moore (Umpire). Mid row: Lachlan Vile, Ranga Ediriwickrama, Matt Jobson, Gav Taylor. Front row: Peter Stott & Matt Spalding.

   15   16   17   18   19