Page 260 - STG18 Flip Book
P. 260

                                  Jacob Hamblin
Rosenbruch World
   Jacob Hamblin Home
and Museum
435 673-2161
3325 Hamblin Dr, Santa Clara
Open: Winter: Oct 7th–Apr 5th, Mon–Sat 9am–5pm, Sun 1pm–5pm; Summer: Apr 6th–Oct 6th, Mon–Sat 9am–7pm, Sun 1pm–7pm
Just 4.5 miles west of St. George
No Admission Fee
Mormon craftsmen built this handsome pioneer home in 1862 of local red sandstone and ponderosa timbers from Pine Valley. Brigham Young called Jacob Hamblin, one of the earliest settlers in Santa Clara, in 1854 to work with the Paiute Indians of southern Utah. Since his first home was destroyed by a flood, this is Jacob’s second home, and it is still decorated with many original artifacts.
Pine Valley Chapel
435 574-3202
52 W Main St, Pine Valley
Open Memorial-Labor Day: 10am to 5pm Sunday Services at 10am
No Admission Fee
Wildlife Museum
435 656-0033
1835 S Convention Center Dr, Ste B, St George
Mon–Sat: 10am to 5pm
Admission Fee: Adults $8, Seniors 55+ $6, Children (3–12) $4, Children Under 2 FREE
The Rosenbruch Wildlife Museum is a world-class facility with over 300 species of wildlife displayed in their natural habitat, including live waterfalls, thunder and lightning, and trails to provide an unforgettable experience. Pathways wind through the plains of Africa, the South Pacific, mountains of Asia, and the forests of North America.
St. George Art Museum 435 627-4525 leisureservices/artmuseum
47 E 200 North, St George
Open Mon–Sat: 10am to 5pm, Thurs: 10am to 8pm Admission Fee Required
The building, which is now the St. George Art Museum, was originally built in the 1930s to store beet seed for a sugar beet factory. This was the start of a business that would last for nearly fifty years.
The building was vacant after 1979 and became an eyesore. Through the vision, generosity, and hard work of the community, the ultimate dream to restore the building as part of the St. George’s historic district was realized in 1997 when it became the beautiful new home of the Art Museum.
            St. George Art Museum
    In the 1860s a group of settlers sent to establish the Washington and Santa Clara colonies desired a permanent chapel that was similar in style to the churches they had
left in New England. Ebenezer Bryce, a shipbuilder, took on the challenge in 1868 and used his shipbuilding experience to design the chapel. The attic rafters were built like the bottom of a ship. When the church was finished, he said, “If a flood should come, it would float and if a wind came strong enough to blow it over, it would still never crash to pieces.” The Pine Valley Chapel is the oldest continuously used building of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints.
 Zion National Park
   Rosenbruch World Wildlife Museum

   258   259   260   261   262