Page 261 - STG18 Flip Book
P. 261

 St. George Tabernacle
435 628-4072
18 S Main St, St George
Open Daily: 9am to dusk *Currently Closed For Renovations No Admission Fee
Completed in 1871, this historic LDS monument was a central gathering place in the city. Remarkably it took only 13 years to complete, including sculpting the red sandstone boulders for the 3 ft thick walls, hand-quarried from the foothills near the city. All the work was done locally, except the clock, which came from New York. It was very welcome, since only 6 people out of the 309 families that first settled St. George owned timepieces. Its bell also served as the alarm for the community. In 1993, much of the Tabernacle was restored to resemble, as closely as possible, its original state. Today, the tabernacle is home to church services, daily music recitals, and the weekly Dixie History and Music Series. Tours of this historical masterpiece are free.
Silver Reef Museum
435 879-2254
In The Historic Wells Fargo Express Building 1903 Wells Fargo Dr, Leeds
Open Mon, Thurs, Fri, & Sat: 10am to 5pm Tours: Start at 10:30am
Admission Fee: $3 per person, $10 for family
Located about 18 miles northeast of St. George, the “ghost town” of Silver Reef got its start when silver was discovered in the limestone cliffs of the eastern slope of the Pine Valley Mountains. Once word of the discovery got out, the hills were crawling with prospectors.
The town produced $9 million in silver from 1877 to 1903 and at one point boasted nine grocery stores, six saloons, a newspaper called the Silver Echo, eight dry goods stores, a bank, a Wells Fargo office, a hospital, hotels and boarding houses, and five restaurants.
The old Wells Fargo Office now serves as an art gallery and museum featuring artifacts of the only discovery in the world of silver in sandstone outcrops.
Washington City Museum
and Monument Plaza
435 986-4228
Telegraph and Main St, Washington
Open Mon–Fri: 10am to 4pm No Admission Fee
Located in the old rock schoolhouse built in 1908, the museum houses a large collection of artifacts and antiques belonging to settlers of southern Utah. Monument Plaza has 4 full-size bronze statues and 50 bronze medallions of early Washington pioneer settlers.
County Courthouse
97 E St George Blvd, St George
Tours: June–August Stop By To Schedule
No Admission Fee
In 1863, St. George became the county seat for Washington County. The Courthouse was completed in 1876 with brick and mortar manufactured locally, and 18-inch thick interior doors. The basement originally served as a jail, the first floor officed county government and a schoolroom, and the courtroom occupied the large room on the second floor. It houses original paintings of Zion National Park, the Grand Canyon, and is now the home of the St. George Chamber of Commerce.
Zion Human History Museum
435 772-0146
Zion Park Blvd, Springdale
Open daily: Mid March–April 10am to 5pm • Mid April–May 10am to 6pm • Summer 9am to 9pm • Early Fall 9am to 6pm • Late Fall 10am to 5pm • Closed November through mid- March.
Zion National Park Human History Museum explores how plants, animals, geology, and water resources of this area attracted past human cultures to visit and settle here. Exhibits are of Ancestral Puebloan, Mormon Pioneer, Southern Paiute, and early park history.
                St. George Children’s
435 986-4000
86 S Main St, St George
Hours: Mar–Jul: Mon–Sat, 10am to 6pm; Aug–Feb: Tues–Sat, 10am to 5pm; Cost: $5 per person, Under 2 is FREE
    Striving to “Discover, Imagine and Create,” the St. George Children’s Museum offers engaging interactive activities for children and families. Each room and exhibit is designed to be touched, felt, explored, and played with allowing participants to discover new worlds, participate in imaginative play, and create fun. Exhibits range from the Government Room, offering children the chance to explore the Oval Office and cast their votes in a voting booth, to the Art Room, offering children a chance to explore their imagination with weekly crafts, activities, and explore masterpieces from the great masters. Visit their website for more details and “free” days.
  St. George Temple
and Visitors Center
Temple - 435 673-3533
490 S 400 East, St George
Visitors Center - 435 673-5181
490 S 300 East, St George
Open Daily: 9am to 9pm No Admission Fee
      This famous LDS Temple was built between 1871 and 1877 at a cost of $800,000 and is the oldest temple still in use by the Church. Over one million feet of lumber was used in construction, most of it hauled between 37 to 80 miles from Pine Valley and Mt. Trumball. This impressive white Temple can be seen from all over the city and is strikingly contrasted by the red sandstone bluffs. The Visitors Center is open to everyone.

   259   260   261   262   263