Page 17 - Access 2021
P. 17

    FROM MARINE Veteran Jacobson
Q: Name and Military branch Justin Jacobson, U.S Marines
Q: What does your life look like outside of the program?
I run a small herd of cattle, manage a small farm to include beef and egg production and farming. I also work part time for a local cattle company. I perform doctoring, managing, and processing thousands of cattle on thousands of acres.
Q: How does this identity impact being a student?
I work before work and after work. My day starts at 5:30 a.m., I usually make breakfast for my nephew and myself, make coffee, then proceed to complete my daily routine of chores. Then I go to work around 7:30 a.m. and finish work around 5:30 p.m., I do my nightly chores from 5:30 p.m. to about 6p.m.. Then I make dinner for my nephew. I take Tuesdays and Thursdays off from work, but not from my daily routine. I kept this schedule and completed last semester with almost straight As. I will be downsizing and liquidating majority of my assets when I move to Fresno for school.
It impacts school by making every assignment important to me because it is challenging to stay disciplined. The decision to pursue school is huge and has challenged me in many ways but is equally rewarding as it is challenging. I put school as my priority so I can pursue my goal of a bachelor’s degree. I want to set an example for my nephew that through hard work and commitment, anything can be achieved. He is only seven, but he watches me almost daily. He may not understand it at this age but he will later on in life.
   becomes a Bulldog
   Gathered and processed over 160 Cow/calf pairs for shipment.
  A C C E S S - The Division of Continuing and Global Education 17
  Managing small personal herd and teaching nephew how to feed.

   15   16   17   18   19