Page 12 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 12

be penalized unless the penalty for the rule she broke is   However, she breaks rule 2, and possibly rule 69.1(a), if
               a non-excludable disqualification.                 while using those tactics she intentionally breaks a rule.

               PART 1 – FUNDAMENTAL                               CASE 138
               RULES                                              Generally,  an  action  by  a  competitor  that  directly
                                                                  affects the fairness of the competition or failing to take
                                                                  an appropriate penalty when the competitor is aware of
               Rule 1.1, Safety: Helping Those in Danger          breaking a rule, should be considered under rule 2. Any
                                                                  action, including a serious breach of rule 2 or any other
               CASE 20                                            rule,  that  the  committee  considers  may  be  an  act  of
               When  it  is  possible  that  a  boat  is  in  danger,  another   misconduct should be considered under rule 69.
               boat  that  gives  help  is  entitled  to  redress,  even  if  her
               help was not asked for or if it is later found that there
               was no danger.                                     RYA 1967/13
                                                                  When a boat  that  starts  and  finishes deliberately uses
                                                                  the right-of-way rules to ‘sail off’ another on the same
               Rule 2, Fair Sailing                               leg of the course to benefit her own series position, she

               CASE 27                                            does not break rule 2 or rule 24.2.
               A boat  is not  required to  anticipate that another boat   RYA 1986/6
               will break a rule. When a boat acquires right of way as   When a boat abandons her attempt to sail the course,
               a result of her own actions, the other boat is entitled to   she  may  be  deemed  to  have  retired  and,  if  she  then
               room to keep clear.                                manoeuvres against, and interferes  with, another boat
               CASE 31                                            that is racing, she will be penalized and the helmsman
               When  the  correct  visual  recall  signal  for  individual   may be liable to disciplinary action.
               recall is made but the required sound signal is not, and   RYA 1988/8
               when  a  recalled  boat  in  a  position  to  hear  a  sound   When  two  overlapped  boats  are  close-hauled  on  the
               signal  does  not  see  the  visual  signal  and  does  not   same  tack  and  L  suddenly  heels  to  windward,  she
               return,  she  is  entitled  to  redress.  However,  if  she   maintains  her  rights  provided  her  action  is  not
               realizes she is on the course side of the line she must   deliberate. If L’s action is deliberate, with the intention
               return and start correctly.                        of causing W to break rule 11, she breaks rule 2.
               CASE 34                                            RYA 1989/6
               Hindering another boat may be a breach of rule 2 and the   ‘Other  documents  that  govern  the  event’  in  the
               basis for granting redress and for action under rule 69.2.   definition  Rule  must  be  stated  or  referred  to  in  the
               CASE 47                                            notice of race and in the sailing instructions before they
               A  boat  that  deliberately  hails  ‘Starboard’  when  she   become  mandatory  for  boats  racing.  When  a  race
               knows she is on port tack has not acted fairly, and has   committee considers it necessary for boats to adhere to
               broken rule 2.                                     local  regulations  or  prohibitions,  it  must  issue  an
                                                                  explicit  notice  of  race  and  sailing  instructions  to  that
               CASE 65                                            effect. When no such notice or instructions are issued, a
               When a boat knows that she has broken the Black Flag   boat  that  does  not  comply  with  a  local  regulation  or
               rule, she is obliged to retire promptly. When she does   prohibition does not break the Fair Sailing rule.
               not do so and then deliberately hinders another boat in
               the race, she commits a breach of sportsmanship and of   RYA 1989/13
               rule  2,  and  her  helmsman  commits  an  act  of   Use of standard, designed positions for equipment (e.g.
               misconduct.                                        a spray hood) not restricted by class rules or the sailing
                                                                  instructions  does  not  break  rule  2,  since  there  is  no
               CASE 73                                            clear-cut violation of the principle of sportsmanship.
               When, by deliberate action, L’s crew reaches out  and
               touches W, which action could have no other intention   RYA 1990/8
               than to cause W to break rule 11, then L breaks rule 2.   After an incident, a boat that knows she has broken a
                                                                  rule cannot protect herself from the consequences of not
               CASE 74                                            taking a penalty by citing the absence of a protest by the
               There is no rule that dictates how the helmsman or crew   other boat.
               of  a  leeward  boat  must  sit.  Contact  with  a  windward
               boat  does  not  break  rule  2  unless  the  helmsman’s  or   RYA 1999/5
               crew’s position is deliberately misused.           When  a  give-way  boat  is  already  breaking  a  rule  of
                                                                  Section  A  of  Part  2  by  not  keeping  clear,  deliberate
               CASE 78                                            contact does not necessarily break rule 2.
               In a fleet race either for one-design boats or for boats
               racing under a handicap or rating system, a boat may   RYA 2001/2
               use  tactics  that  clearly  interfere  with  and  hinder   When a boat believes that she may have broken a rule
               another  boat’s  progress  in  the  race,  provided  that,  if   and retires in compliance with the Basic Principle, she
               she is protested under rule 2 for doing so, the protest   may revoke her retirement within protest or declaration
               committee finds that there was a reasonable chance of   time if she later realises that she did not in fact break a
               her  tactics  benefiting  her  final  ranking  in  the  event.
                                                              12
   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17