Page 38 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 38

RYA 1999/4                                         RYA 2016/3
               A boat that believes she has been adversely affected by   Setting a course within a race area that includes known
               a mistake of the race committee, but which chooses not   shallow area(s) is not normally an improper action of
               to race or to continue racing although able to do so, is   the race committee.
               not  without  fault,  since  she  contributes  to  her  own
               worsened score, and so is not entitled to redress.   Rule 62.1(b), Redress

               RYA 2002/10                                        CASE 19
               When a race committee learns before a race that a fixed   Interpretation of the term ‘damage’.
               mark  is  out  of  place,  it  must  advise  competitors.  If  it
               learns  of  this  during  a  race,  it  must,  if  possible,  act   CASE 110
               under rule 34. If it could  do either, but  does not, this   A  boat  physically  damaged  from  contact  with  a  boat
               can give rise to the possibility of redress, which is not to   that was breaking a rule of Part 2 is eligible for redress
               be refused to a boat affected and without fault because   only  if  the  damage  itself  significantly  worsened  her
               of a clause in the sailing instructions denying liability   score or place. Contact is not necessary for one boat to
               for  the  accuracy  of  the  position  given  for  the  mark.   cause  injury  or  physical  damage  to  another.  A
               However,  a  boat  that  relies  solely  on  GPS  for   worsening  of  a  boat’s  score  caused  by  an  avoiding
               navigation is not without fault if she herself could have   manoeuvre is not, by itself, grounds for redress. ‘Injury’
               earlier detected the error visually.               refers to bodily injury to a person and, in rule 62.1(b),
               A  race  committee  is  not  under  a  duty  to  check  the   ‘damage’ is limited to physical damage to a boat or her
                                                                  equipment.
               positions it receives for all the fixed marks it may use.
                                                                  CASE 116
               RYA 2004/1                                         A discussion of redress in a situation in which a boat is
               No statement made at a briefing by a race officer can
               change  or  add  to  a  rule,  which  includes  the  sailing   damaged early in a series, is entitled to redress under
                                                                  rule  62.1(b),  and  is  prevented  by  the  damage  from
               instructions  and  the  meaning  of  a  race  signal  in  the
               Racing  Rules  of  Sailing. A  boat  that  relies  on  such  a   sailing the remaining races. In such a situation it is not
                                                                  fair  to  the  other  boats  in  the  series  to  award  her
               statement is at fault for the purposes of redress if she
               chooses as a result to attribute a different meaning to a   average  points  for  half  or  more  of  the  races  that
                                                                  comprise her series score.
               race signal.
                                                                  CASE 135
               RYA 2006/2                                         If a boat breaks a rule of Part 2 by failing to keep clear,
               When there is an improper action of the race committee,
               a boat is entitled to redress only when she can show a   the right-of-way boat, or a third boat, may be entitled to
                                                                  redress if she is physically damaged, even if the damage
               clear link between that action and her score. If flag X is
               removed prematurely, an OCS boat that does not return   is not caused directly by a collision with the boat that
                                                                  was required to keep clear.
               will be entitled to redress only if she can show that she
               would have returned had it been displayed for longer. If   CASE 142
               she  can  satisfy  the  protest  committee  on  this  point,   When  a  boat  requests  redress  because  of  injury  or
               appropriate  redress  would  take  into  account  the  time   physical damage caused by a boat that was breaking a
               she  would  then  have  taken  to  return  and  start.   rule of Part 2, she need not protest the boat that caused
               Reinstatement into her finishing position is unlikely to   the damage or injury, but her request will not succeed
               be equitable to all boats.                         unless evidence given during the redress hearing leads
                                                                  the  protest  committee  to  conclude  that  the  other  boat
               RYA 2006/5                                         broke a rule of Part 2.
               When the sailing instructions are ambiguous, so that it
               is not clear whether a mark has a required side, any     RYA 1993/5
               doubt is to be resolved in favour of a boat liable to
               penalization.                                      While  rule  36  may  remove  the  possibility  of  a  boat
                                                                  being penalized because the race was recalled, a boat is
                                                                  entitled to have her protest heard. If it is found as a fact
               RYA 2006/8                                         in the protest that the other boat broke a rule of Part 2,
               Unless otherwise specified in the sailing instructions, a
               race  committee  has  no  power  to  disqualify  a  boat   the  protest  committee  may  go  on  to  consider  whether
                                                                  redress under rule 62.1(b) is applicable.
               without a hearing, or score her DNF if she finishes, if it
               believes she has not  sailed the course. Instead it must   RYA 1996/8
               protest her within the protest time limit. A boat wrongly   A  boat  that  is  seeking  redress  for  having  been
               disqualified  without  a  hearing  or  incorrectly  scored   physically damaged by a boat required to keep clear in
               DNF  is  entitled  to  be  reinstated  into  her  finishing   an incident before she is racing is advised to protest as
               position.                                          well as to ask for redress.
               RYA 2008/2                                         RYA 1999/2
               The simultaneous display of more than one valid course   After an incident, a boat may both protest another boat
               for a class is an improper action of the race committee,   and request redress: the use of ‘or’ in rule 60.1 does not
               which may entitle boats to redress, with any doubt being   preclude  both  options  being  used  together.  A  race
               resolved in favour of the competitor.              committee cannot be compelled to exercise its right to
                                                                  protest.
                                                              38
   33   34   35   36   37   38   39   40   41   42   43