Page 9 - Labatt BTRC Annual Report 2020-2021
P. 9

Jade Chan, Graduate Student
Weifan Dong, Graduate Student
Jerry Fan, Graduate Student
Nicolaes Min, Graduate Student
Ali Momin, Graduate Student
Namal Abeysundara, Postdoctoral Fellow Shahrzad Bahrampour, Postdoctoral Fellow Xin Chen, Postdoctoral Fellow
Xian Wang, Postdoctoral Fellow
Siyi Wanggou, Postdoctoral Fellow Kamilia Talipova, Research Technologist Wei Wang, Research Technologist
Dr. Xi Huang
Scientist, Principal Investigator
Dr. Xi Huang is a Scientist at the Developmental & Stem Cell Biology Program and Arthur and Sonia Labatt Brain Tumour Research Centre
at The Hospital for Sick Children, and an Assistant Professor at the Department of Molecular Genetics at University of Toronto.
While extensive research has informed genetics and biochemical mechanisms in tumorigenesis, how bioelectrical and biophysical signalling regulates cancer is less defined. Ion channels regulate cellular bioelectrical and biophysical properties by perceiving stimulations (mechanical force, membrane voltage, temperature, pH etc.) to control ion flux across membranes. Using multi-disciplinary approaches in bioinformatics, Drosophila and mouse genetics, xenograft modeling, cell biology, advanced imaging, electrophysiology, and bioengineering, the Huang lab decodes ion channel functions in brain tumour initiation, progression, metastasis, drug resistance, and develop ion channel-targeting cancer therapeutics.
Research Support: Canadian Institutes of Health Research,
Cancer Research Society Operating Grant, Early Researcher Award, EMHSEED Interdivisional Research Funding Program, Natural Sciences and Engineering Research, SickKids IP&C Proof of Principle Grant, Sontag Foundation Distinguished Scientist Award
   Advisory Board
of the Labatt BTRC
Sonia and Arthur Labatt Dr. Ronald Cohn
Dr. David Berman
Dr. James Drake
Mr. Ted Garrard
Dr. Bradly Wouters
Dr. Kevin Smith
Dr. Gabrielle Boulianne Dr. Jim Whitlock
Dr. Trevor Young
Dr. Janet Rossant
Dr. Meredith Irwin
Affiliated Scientists
Cameron Ackerly, PhD Mark Bernstein, MD
Eric Bouffet, MD Normand Laperriere, MD Donald Mabbott, MD James Perry, MD
Paul Kongkham, MD, PhD

   7   8   9   10   11