Page 11 - Labatt BTRC Annual Report 2020-2021
P. 11

8th Annual Mike and Dianne Traynor Lectureship in Neuro-Oncology
The annual Traynor lectureship, now in its 8th year, hosted Dr. Donald O’Rourke and his seminar titled “CAR T-cell therapy for GBM: Early observations from the first two trials
at Penn and future directions.” Dr. O’Rourke’s lab studies EGFR targeted therapies and immunotherapies for brain cancer, including the application of Chimeric Antigen Receptor T-Cell (CART) immunotherapy to glioblastoma. Dr. O’Rourke led the Penn group in the first human clinical trial using CART cells for treatment of recurrent glioblastoma and recently completed a second clinical trial for newly diagnosed glioblastoma patients, utilizing a combination of CART cells and PD-1 inhibition. Dr. O’Rourke has several patents related to EGFR inhibition in human cancers. He has been recognized annually in Philadelphia Magazine’s list of Top Doctors since 2005, and has also been named one of the
Best Doctors in America and one of America’s Top Doctors annually since in 2006.
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Dr. Jerome Fortin
Discovery of oncogenic mechanisms and therapeutic targets in brain tumours
Wednesday, June 16, 2021
Dr. Sean Egan
Of mice and women: Modeling breast cancer in the mouse
 1999 Dr. Robert Martuza, Georgetown University
2000 Dr. Gregory Cairncross, Western University
2001 Dr. David Kaplan, Montreal Neurological Institute 2002 Dr. Charles Stiles, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute 2003 Dr. Luis Parada, University of Texas
2004 Dr. Eric Holland, Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center 2005 Dr. Darell Bigner, Duke Cancer Institute
2006 Dr. Webster Cavenee, Ludwig Institute
2007 Dr. David H. Gutmann, St. Louis Children’s Hospital 2008 Dr. Henry Brem, Johns Hopkins University
2009 Dr. Joe Costello, UC San Francisco
2010 Dr. Waldemar Debinski, Wake Forest University 2011 Dr. Kenneth Aldape, MD Anderson Cancer Center 2012 Dr. Inder Verma, Salk Institute
2013 Dr. Fred Lang, University of Texas
2014 Dr. William Weiss, UC San Francisco
2015 Dr. Robert Wechsler-Reya, Sanford Burnham Institute 2016 Dr. Jeremy Rich, Cleveland Clinic
2017 Dr. Nada Jabado, McGill University
2018 Dr. Mitchel S. Berger, UC San Francisco
2019 Dr. Roel Verhaak, The Jackson Laboratory
2020 Dr. Michelle Monje, Stanford University

   9   10   11   12   13