Page 44 - Spring 2018 Final
P. 44

Pike:Layout 1  02-Apr-18  5:27 PM  Page 1




            44                                           Bob, in your role as editor of the magazine and as
                                                         an umpire I thought you might be interested in
                                                         sharing our experience, with your wise comments,
                                                         with your readers. (Ed - I will give it a go and I
                                                         have excluded the diagrams sent and produced
                                                         something else!).  We recently had an unusual
                                                         problem occur in one of our matches.
                                                          The lead bowl shows where it came to rest before
                                                         bowl the back bowl had been delivered.  After de-
                                                         livery the back bowl struck the lead bowl pushing it
              Dead or not Dead?
              Dead or not Dead?                          over the ditch line into the ditch area, where it
                                                         comes to rest just before the back bowl, which is
                                                         still moving, strikes it again, sending it back over
                                                         the ditch line into the live area where it comes to
                                                         rest for a second time. (Ed- I wish you had a video,
                                                         this I had to see!)
              The second bowl was removed from the ditch but bowl the first bowl remained in play in the
             live area, because it was deemed that as the back bowl was still in play when it hit the lead
             bowl for the second time should remain in the live are where it had come to rest for the sec-
             ond time.
                   Regards
                   Colin Pike

             Ed - firstly, let me establish something not understood by the vast majority of bowls is THAT
             A BOWL CROSSING THE DITCH IS NOT DEAD!  Nowhere in the rule book does it say that
             a bowl crossing the ditch line is dead. We are of course discussing a non-toucher. To be
             dead it must  a) come to rest either wholly in the ditch or with any part of it overhanging the
             ditch line. b) it must contact the Fender. C) it must contact a toucher in the ditch or d) it must
             contact a Jack in the ditch. If it has not done any of these four it is live until it does any of
             them, so if you stop a bowl before it does any of the above the YOU ARE INTERFERING
             WITH A LIVE BOWL IN PLAY. The actual relevant parts of the rules in the rule book state:-
             B (3) DEAD BOWL - (e) it touches or rebounds from the fender or contacts a toucher
             or the jack which is in the ditch, unless the bowl in question is a toucher or (f) when it
             comes to rest any part of the bowl breaks any part of the ditch line, unless it is a
             toucher.
             The interesting part of the question asked by Colin is that it is that he states that the lead
             bowl has “come to rest” and therefore dead and should be removed. However everything
             may have happened so quickly that this could not have been done. It is clear that the lead
             bowl is dead and no matter what, it cannot be made live again, a dead bowl is a dead bowl
             full stop! As to the back bowl, according to the above rules there is nothing to cover this situ-
             ation as the lead bowl was not a toucher.

             I have seen very many hands go in and stop a bowl hitting the fender or a Jack/Bowl in the
             ditch BUT until it does hit it is still live. My reasoning is that by hitting a dead bowl at rest, as
             stated, then it clearly is a dead bowl.  Now, what would happen if both bowls were still mov-
             ing in the ditch and one rolled back into the live area after being hit is another question alto-
             gether.  So Umpires and Barrack Room Lawyers, what would you have ruled and why?

             If I was the Umpire I would have ruled that both bowls were dead - no problemo!  However,
             there is no exact rule that covers this situation as the rules do not cover a non-toucher being
             hit by a non-toucher in the ditch. Perhaps other Umpires will disagree with me?  If so let’s
             hear you.
   39   40   41   42   43   44   45   46   47   48