Page 4 - Heritage A5 compile
P. 4

Bay and the first by a European explorer in what is now the
                        10
               Redlands.  Much of Coochiemudlo today remains as Flinders
               described it on Friday 19 July  1799:


                       On the S. E. side of the island, this higher part descends
                       suddenly into a steep bank, where the earth is red as
                       blood…The trees upon it are large and luxuriant and the
                       new Pine is amongst them. The exterior part of the island
                       on the west side is a flat . . . abundantly covered with large
                       Mangrove trees. On the S. W .and N E sides, it is mostly
                       low and sandy and here the Palm –Nut [pandanus] tree is
                               11
                       produced.

               Despite the clear similarities between Coochiemudlo and the island
               described by Flinders, Coochiemudlo was not recognised as
               Flinders’ sixth island until the 1970s when island resident Ted Jones
                                                                  12
               correctly interpreted Flinders’ records to make the identification.

               The name Coochiemudlo was not, however used till the end of the
               nineteenth century. By 1840 the name ‘Innis Island’ for the Island
               was in local use at the Moreton Bay settlement; it was named after
                                                     13
               Lieutenant Innis who explored much of the Bay.  The Government
               Surveyor, Robert Dixon produced a map issued in 1842 with the



               10  The Explorers of Moreton Bay pp 9-39; E. F. Jones, Matthew Flinders: The
               Discoverer of Coochie Mudlo Island, Coochi Mudlo Island Progress
               Association 1977, p. 19.
               11  Matthew Flinders  quoted  in The Explorers of Moreton Bay, p. 24.
               12  E. F. Jones, The Coochiemudlo Island Heritage: An Historical Monograph
               (Vol.1), Edward Field Jones, p. 8.
               13 Jones, ‘Coochiemudlo Island in the Nineteenth Century’, p26.
   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9