Page 11 - Labatt BTRC Annual Report 2019-2020
P. 11

7th Annual Mike and Dianne Traynor Annual Lectureship with Dr. Toshihiko Wakabayashi
The annual Traynor lectureship, now in its
7th year, hosted Dr. Toshihiko Wakabayashi and his seminar titled “Recent advances
and future prospects of gliomas with integrated diagnosis based on the WHO 2016 classification and following cIMPACT-NOW up-date information.” Dr. Wakabayashi is
the Chair of the Department of Neurological Surgery at Nagoya University, Japan. He
has followed in a long line of outstanding Department chairs including Drs. Jun Yoshida and Kenichiro Sugita. Dr. Wakabayashi has run an active neuro-oncology laboratory for the past two decades, and has made seminal contributions to the field of experimental neuro-oncology.
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Dr. Roel Verhaak
Molecular trajectories of glioma
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Dr. Shoukat Dedhar
Overcoming the adaptive response of tumors to hypoxia by targeting HIF-1 induced carbonic anhydrase IX/XI
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Dr. Jason Huse
Characterizing and targeting epigenetic dysfunction in malignant glioma
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Dr. Bodour Salhia
Advances in preclinical models of brain metastasis
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Dr. Jerome Fortin
Discovery of oncogenic mechanisms and therapeutic targets in brain tumours
1999 Dr. Robert Martuza, Georgetown University
2000 Dr. Gregory Cairncross, Western University
2001 Dr. David Kaplan, Montreal Neurological Institute
2002 Dr. Charles Stiles, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
2003 Dr. Luis Parada, University of Texas
2004 Dr. Eric Holland, Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
2005 Dr. Darell Bigner, Duke Cancer Institute
2006 Dr. Webster Cavenee, Ludwig Institute
2007 Dr. David H. Gutmann, St. Louis Children’s Hospital
2008 Dr. Henry Brem, Johns Hopkins University
2009 Dr. Joe Costello, UC San Francisco
2010 Dr. Waldemar Debinski, Wake Forest University 2011 Dr. Kenneth Aldape, MD Anderson Cancer Center 2012 Dr. Inder Verma, Salk Institute
2013 Dr. Fred Lang, University of Texas
2014 Dr. William Weiss, UC San Francisco
2015 Dr. Robert Wechsler-Reya, Sanford Burnham Institute 2016 Dr. Jeremy Rich, Cleveland Clinic
2017 Dr. Nada Jabado, McGill University
2018 Dr. Mitchel S. Berger, UC San Francisco
2019 Dr. Roel Verhaak, The Jackson Laboratory
   Dr. Toshihiko Wakabayashi and Dr. James Rutka

   9   10   11   12   13