Page 136 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 136

When  Red  comes  close  to  the  stern  of  Blue,  Blue   RYA 2016/3
                   must  keep  clear  under  rule  10  even  if  this  means   Rule 62.1(a) Redress
                   moving away from the shore to give Red room inside
                   her and Yellow must allow her space to do so.   Setting a course within a race area that includes known
                                                                  shallow area(s) is not normally an improper action of
               Questions from Thames SC
                                                                  the race committee.

               RYA 2015/1
               Rule 44.2, One-Turn and Two-Turn Penalties         SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
                                                                  In race 3 of the Fast 40+ class  in the Vice  Admiral’s
               For a boat to exonerate herself she must comply with   Cup, the race committee set a course which included a
               the two requirements of the rule: to get well clear of   leg  which  would  take  the  fleet  over  the  East  Knoll
               other boats as soon as possible; and, to promptly make   Bank. Whilst on this leg, Otra Vez, Jubilee and Invictus
               the required number of turns.                      all  ran  aground  before  continuing  in  the  race  and
                                                                  finishing.
               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS                               Otra  Vez  requested  redress,  asserting  that  the  course
               Daring was rounding a port-hand windward mark on   passed over a shallow that the deeper draft boats could
               starboard tack when she touched the mark. She wished   not  clear  but  which  the  boats  with  lesser  draft  could
               to take a penalty and sailed past the mark and to   pass  over.  The  request  was  upheld,  and  the  race
               windward of the course to the next mark. She bore away   committee  then  requested  redress  for  Jubilee  and
               and gybed and then found her intended course was   Invictus  which  was  also  granted.  These  boats  were
               blocked by a number of boats, including Hot Rats,   given average points for all races for the first two days
               which had rounded the mark behind her and were     of racing excluding race 3.
               sailing to the next mark. Daring sailed back towards the   The race committee appealed the decision because they
               mark on port, allowing the other boats to pass her and   believed  that  the  boats  concerned  would  have  had
               then tacked to finish taking her turn.             sufficient  electronic  navigation  aids,  including  depth
                                                                  sounders, and were able to avoid a known navigational
               Hot Rats protested Daring for hitting the mark and not   hazard.
               exonerating herself. The protest committee found that
               Daring had not taken a One-Turn Penalty in compliance   DECISION
               with rule 44.2 and disqualified her for breaking rule 31.   The appeal is upheld. Otra Vez, Jubilee and Invictus are
               Daring appealed on the grounds that the course that she   not  entitled  to  redress  and  are  to  be  scored  in  their
               actually sailed was equivalent to the disadvantage that   original finishing places in race 3.
               she would have suffered in taking a One-Turn Penalty.   Rule  62  has  three  non-exclusive  requirements  for
                                                                  redress to be granted: the possibility that a boat’s score
               DECISION                                           has  been  or  may  be  made  significantly  worse;  and,
               The appeal is dismissed.                           through  no  fault  of  her  own;  and,  in  this  case,  by  an
               The requirements in rule 44.2 are absolute and cannot   improper action or omission of the race committee.
               be satisfied by actions that may be equivalent, in time or   There is no evidence to suggest that the boats could not
               distance.                                          have  sailed  the  course  without  going  aground,  as  did
               The first requirement is to get well clear of other boats   other  boats,  and  therefore  they  cannot  claim  their
               as soon after the incident as possible. If a boat   groundings to have been through no fault of their own.
               commences her penalty turn from a position where the
               predictable course of other boats means that she would   Setting  a  race  course  that  runs  across  or  alongside  a
               have to interrupt the turn, then she has failed to sail well   known shallow area to which some boats will be able to
               clear as required by the rule.                     sail closer than others because of their shallower draft is
               The second requirement is to promptly make the     not normally an improper action of the race committee.
               required number of turns in the same direction, each
               turn including one tack and one gybe.              Requet for redress by Otra Vez and by the Race Committee for
                                                                  Jubilee and Invictus. Royal Ocean Racing Club
               Daring did not sail sufficiently far from the fleet in
               order to take her turn as evidenced by the fact that other   RYA 2017/1
               boats, who were sailing an entirely predictable course,   Rule 19.1, Room to Pass an Obstruction: When Rule 19
               interrupted the taking of her turn. Therefore, Daring   Applies
               was not well clear of other boats, did not take a One-  Rule 19.2(c), Room to Pass an Obstruction: Giving
               Turn Penalty and was correctly disqualified for    Room at an Obstruction
               breaking rule 31.
                                                                  At a mark laid adjacent to a continuing obstruction, the
               Hot Rats v Daring, Royal Dart YC                   obligation of outside boats to give room to pass the
                                                                  continuing obstruction continues to apply. There is no
                                                                  requirement for boats to give mark-room to inside boats

                                                                  at the mark, who may only pass the mark on the
                                                                  required side while giving room for the continuing
                                                                  obstruction and, if windward boats, keeping clear.


                                                             136
   131   132   133   134   135   136   137   138