Page 131 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 131

results for the series after Race 8, it was reasonable for   Banjaard's disqualification is upheld.
               14067 to believe that 14057 could finish ahead of her in
               the series if she won the final race. Therefore, although   The change of course by Zoomers occurred at the point
                                                                  when it was clear that Banjaard was not keeping clear
               14067 was mistaken, her tactics did not break rule 2.
                                                                  (see rule 14(a)). However, the RYA is satisfied that it
               There was no evidence that the member of the protest   was reasonably possible for her to change course at that
               committee had a close personal interest in the decision;   moment  without  touching  Banjaard's  spinnaker.
               therefore,  he  did  not  have  a  conflict  of  interest.   Zoomers  therefore  broke  rule  14,  and,  since  damage
               Friendships  in  the  sport  are  common  and  do  not   resulted (see rule 14(b)), she too is to be disqualified.
               automatically  create  a  conflict  of  interest.  However,   In answer to Banjaard's question, a capsize to windward
               when any protest committee member is well acquainted
               with a party, it is recommended that this fact is declared   by  a  leeward  boat  resulting  in  contact  with  the
                                                                  windward  boat  will  not  necessarily  result  in  rule  11
               at the  start of  a  hearing  so  that  another  party  has  the
               opportunity  to  object  and  a  ruling  can  be  made  on   being broken (see WS Case 77). In this case, the critical
                                                                  factor was not the contact, but the convergence of the
               whether there  is a close personal  interest. A failure to
               make  a  declaration  does  not,  in  the  absence  of  other   courses and the closeness of the approach.
               evidence, necessarily prejudice the hearing.       Banjaard v Zoomers, Guernsey Yacht Club

               Ding Dong Do v One Purpose 14, South Caernarvonshire Y C
                                                                  RYA 2012/2
                                                                  Definitions, Keep Clear
               RYA 2011/3
               Rule 11 On the same tack, Overlapped               Rule 14, Avoiding Contact
                                                                  Rule R2.1.1 [as prescribed by the RYA], Submission of
               That  a  boat  did  not  keep  clear  is  a  conclusion  which   Documents
               can  be  reached  only  by  applying  the  criteria  in  that   The time limit for notifying an appeal runs from receipt
               definition.  Contact  may  be  evidence  that  a  boat  has
               already failed to keep clear.                      of the written decision of the protest committee.
                                                                  A  right-of-way  boat  risks  penalization  if  she  does  not
               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               In  F3-F4  winds,  Banjaard  (a  36  ft  cruiser-racer)   act to avoid contact involving damage immediately it is
                                                                  evident that the other boat is not keeping clear.
               rounded the windward mark overlapped to windward of
               Zoomers, (an RS 400 dinghy). The next leg was a reach.   SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               Zoomers  sailed  lower  to  hoist  her  spinnaker,  opening   Two Squibs were on a beat to  windward with  Toy  on
               the  gap  to  25  metres.  She  then  sailed  higher,  on  a   starboard  and  Quickstep  III  on  port,  on  a  collision
               converging  course.  When  she  again  came  close  to   course. Quickstep III completed a tack onto starboard a
               Banjaard,  Zoomers  began  to  bear  away.  Banjaard   short distance ahead of Toy. Toy acted to avoid contact
               simultaneously  began  to  luff.  Zoomers  capsized  to   immediately  the  tack  was  complete  but  very  shortly
               windward,  and  her  masthead  ripped  the  spinnaker  of   after, Toy’s bow hit Quickstep III’s transom.
               Banjaard.
                                                                  In the initial protest hearing Quickstep III was found to
               Banjaard protested, but was herself disqualified.   have failed to give Toy room to keep clear and she was
                                                                  disqualified  for  breaking  rule  15.  However,  at  a
               Banjaard appealed, asking whether all windward boats
               have  to  sail  on  the  assumption  that  leeward  dinghies   reopening of the hearing it was found that Quickstep III
                                                                  had  completed  a  two-turns  penalty  in  respect  of  the
               might capsize to windward.
                                                                  incident and she was reinstated to her original finishing
               In  answer  to  questions  from  the  RYA,  the  protest   position.
               committee stated that there would have been an almost
               immediate collision if Zoomers had held her course.   Quickstep III appealed the decision on the grounds that
                                                                  Toy,  having  had  time  to  take  avoiding  action,  should
               DECISION                                           have been disqualified for breaking rule 14 because the
               Banjaard’s appeal is upheld to the extent that Zoomers   collision had caused damage.
               is also disqualified.
                                                                  In  its  comments  on  the  appeal  the  protest  committee
               As  the  windward  of  two overlapped  same  tack  boats,   questioned  the  timeliness  of  the  notification  of  the
               Banjaard  was  required  by  rule  11  to  keep  clear  of   appeal to the RYA since it was made more than 15 days
               Zoomers.  Contact  is  usually  evidence  that  a  failure to   after  the  decision  had  been  given  at  the  end  of  the
               keep  clear,  as  defined,  has  already  occurred.  The   hearing albeit within 15 days of the appellant receiving
               relevant  test  in  the  definition  is  whether  the  distance   the written decision.
               between  the  boats  had  closed  to  the  point  where
               Zoomers  needed  to take  avoiding  action.  The  RYA  is   DECISION
                                                                  The appeal is valid and is upheld. Toy is disqualified.
               satisfied  that  this  point  had  been  reached,  given  the
               certainty  of  almost  immediate  contact  if  Zoomers  had   The  RYA  prescription  permits  the  time  limit  to  run
               held her course. Banjaard therefore broke rule 11.   from  receipt  of  the  written  decision  of  the  protest
                                                                  committee  because  the  decision  to  appeal  will  often
               Banjaard should have acted earlier than she did to try to   depend upon the exact words of the protest decision.
               keep  clear.  Had  she  done  so,  it  would  have  been
               reasonably  possible  for  her  to  avoid  contact.  She   From  the  definition  Keep  Clear,  a  boat  fails  to  keep
               therefore also broke rule 14.                      clear at the moment that a right-of-way boat would need
                                                             131
   126   127   128   129   130   131   132   133   134   135   136