Page 128 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 128

Some  boats  followed  this  oral  instruction,  left  the   Quixotic  would  therefore  be  entitled  to  a  finishing
               outfall buoy to port, and were given a finishing position.   position in a properly finished race.
               Quixotic, which was not keeping a radio watch, sailed   However, the race was never validly shortened, but that
               (with others) to the OLM as her next mark, and rounded
               it to starboard, passing between it and the shore mark.   was not the fault of the competitors. The race committee
                                                                  was responsible for this state of affairs, and all boats are
               In  the  process,  she  crossed  the  race  committee’s
               intended finishing line, but not (in the race committee’s   entitled  to  redress,  as  was  set  out  in  related
                                                                  circumstances  in  case  RYA  1993/1.  Cancelling  what
               opinion) in the right direction relative to the last mark.
               Quixotic was scored DNF. Having had her request for   had previously been until the last few yards a perfectly
                                                                  satisfactory  race  is  not  an  acceptable  outcome.  The
               redress refused, Quixotic appealed.
                                                                  protest committee might consider:
               DECISION
               The appeal is upheld. The protest committee is directed      if the different courses sailed did  not involve  any
               to  award  appropriate  redress  to  all  boats  in  the  race,   significantly  extra  distance  or  any  change  in  the
               Quixotic included, in accordance with rule 64.2.       order,  to  award  finishing  positions  to  all
                                                                      competitors based on their times of crossing either
               The race committee did not act in accordance with rule   finishing line regardless of direction (see WS Case
               32, since no flags were displayed, nor was the required   45);
               sound signal  made. Nothing  in the sailing  instructions      to view the results as two separate races and award
               validated an oral change to the sailing instructions – see   Quixotic equal first with the leader of the wrongly
               rule 90.2(c).                                          shortened race and to pair those who ‘finished’ in
                                                                      one direction with those that ‘finished’ in the other
               While the race committee’s actions and omissions were                  nd  rd
               therefore sufficiently improper to open the possibility of   direction, as equal 2 , 3  etc.;
               redress, it should be noted that, for the course set by the      if  the  data  were  available,  to  award  Quixotic  and
               race officer, the race could not validly be shortened on a   the  rest  of  the  fleet  finishing  positions  based  on
               line to the outfall buoy, even if the appropriate signals   their times at the last mark correctly rounded.
               had been made. Rule 32.2 prescribes three possibilities   Request for redress by Quixotic, Sovereign Harbour YC
               for shortening:

                   (a) at a rounding mark: the outfall buoy was never
                   a rounding mark;

                   (b)  at  a  line  the  course  requires  boats  to  cross:
                   there  was  no  required  line  from  the  shore  to the   RYA 2010/1
                   red outfall buoy;                              Rule 62.2, Redress
                   (c) at a gate: this was not a gate.            The  time  within  which  a  boat  must  lodge  a  claim  for
                                                                  redress regarding her score in the results begins when
               The only line that might have been a valid finishing line
               was  from  the  shore  mark  to  the  OLM,  because  it   the  boat’s  owner  or  person  in  charge  learns  of  the
               happened to be the next rounding  mark, and could  be   score, even if the results are marked ‘provisional’.
               used for shortening under rule 32.2(a). (Had it not also   SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               been a rounding mark, then it too would not meet the   The series comprised one race per day on a number of
               requirements  of  (a),  (b)  or  (c)  above  despite  being  a   consecutive Sundays. The series sailing instructions said
               mark of the starting and finishing line.)          that the protest time limit was within two hours of the last
                                                                  boat  in  the  race  finishing,  and  that  the  results  of  races
               Quixotic  crossed  both  the  finishing  line  to  the  red
               outfall buoy as actually (but wrongly) used by the race   would  be  posted  as  soon  as  practicable  on  the  notice
               committee to shorten, and also what would have been a   board situated in the main entrance hall of the club.
               valid finishing line to the OLM had the race committee   The last boat finished the first race of the series at 11:40
               procedures been proper. The race committee claims that   on Sunday. Results marked ‘provisional’ were posted in
               she  did  so  in  the  wrong  direction.  Assuming  the   the club’s bar shortly afterwards, at 12:15. The owner of
               finishing line from shore mark to red outfall buoy to be   Evelyn  was  in  the  bar  at  the  time,  and  was  heard  to
                                                    0
               about 0.2 nm  long on an  alignment only 17   different   comment  on  the  handicaps  used.  Lacking  his  reading
               from the rhumb line to it from the previous mark 1.7 nm   spectacles,  he  returned  to  inspect  the  results  on  the
               away, it is clear that the shore mark was open of the red   notice board in the hall at 10:00 on Tuesday and lodged
                                      0
               outfall buoy by as little as 2  from the previous mark. It   a request for redress at 11:30 on that day, claiming that
               was  therefore  almost  end-on  to  the  direction  of  the   incorrect  handicaps  had  been  applied  by  the  Club  to
               course from the last mark, and Quixotic is entitled to the   Evelyn and other boats.
               benefit  of  the  doubt  afforded  to  her  in  WS  Case  82,
               permitting her to cross it from either direction.   At  the  hearing  the  protest  committee  found  that  the
                                                                  results were available  in the clubhouse on the Sunday
               Even if  Quixotic chose not to keep a radio watch,  she   afternoon, that Evelyn’s request was out of time because
               was not at fault for the purposes of rule 62.1, since no   the  time  for  lodging  the  request  began  when  the  last
               sailing  instruction  required  her  to  do  so,  and  she  was   boat finished and there were no grounds for extending
               entitled  to  expect  that  any  shortening  of  the  course   the time  limit. The request was, therefore, invalid and
               would  be  done  using  the  flag  and  sound  signals.   would not be heard.

                                                             128
   123   124   125   126   127   128   129   130   131   132   133