Page 123 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 123

When  Danger  Mouse  arrived  in  the  start  area  she   confirmed. The original decision to disqualify BOD 69
               observed  a  valid  course  being  displayed  and  was,   was incorrect and she is reinstated.
               therefore,  under  no  obligation  to  look  further.  The   When  a  protest  committee  considers  reopening  a
               simultaneous display of more than one valid course for
               a class was an improper action of the race committee.   hearing  because  of  significant  new  evidence,  it  must
                                                                  first consider why the evidence was not brought to the
               Any doubt about the consequences of that action must
               be resolved in favour of the competitor (see RYA case   original  hearing.  It  must  do  this  before  actually
                                                                  reopening  the  hearing  to  receive  the  further  evidence.
               1989/10). Redress is to be given to Danger Mouse, and
               any  other  boats  that  sailed  the  same  course,  in  an   The protest committee must be satisfied that, if the party
                                                                  requesting  the  reopening  had  exercised  due  diligence
               arrangement  that  is  as  fair  as  possible  to  all  boats
               affected,  including  those  boats  that  sailed  the  course   prior  to the  original  hearing,  even  then  she  could  not
                                                                  have brought the evidence at that time.
               intended by the race committee.
                                                                  In this case, the additional evidence was from witnesses
               The  protest  committee  was  correct  to  recognize  that   who  were  in  the  vicinity  of  the  incident  and  there  is
               under  rule  61.1(a)(3)  a  protest  by  a  boat  for  breaking
               rule 28.1 need not be notified before the protestee has   nothing  to  show  that  their  testimony  could  not  have
                                                                  been offered at the original hearing. It was not therefore
               finished.
                                                                  ‘new’ evidence.
               Doyouthinkhesaurus v Danger Mouse, Parkstone Y C.
                                                                  Therefore,  based  on  the  facts  found  in  the  original
               RYA 2008/3                                         hearing,  the  disqualification  of  BOD  27  is  confirmed,
               Rule 14, Avoiding Contact                          corrected  to  be  under  rule  18.2(b)  (as  the  protest
               Rule 66, Reopening a Hearing                       committee had itself realised).
               When  a  protest  committee  reopens  a  hearing  to  hear   The  protest  committee’s  reason  for  reopening  the
               additional  evidence,  and  when  this  is  invalid  because   hearing was not because it thought it might have made a
               that  evidence  would  have  been  available  with  the   significant error, and the fact that it later realised that its
               exercise  of  due  diligence  at  the  time  of  the  original   original  decision  was  in  part  incorrect  does  not
               hearing, the fact that the protest committee realises that   retrospectively validate its decision to reopen.
               its  original  decision  was  incorrect  on  the  facts   Hence  the  decision  to  reopen  and  thus  the  resultant
               originally found does not negate that invalidity.   reinstatement of BOD 69 was invalid.
               In a protest, a party that is a right-of-way boat or one   BOD 69 was entitled to mark-room from BOD 27 at the
               entitled to room may be penalized under rule 14 even if   mark.  Penalization  under  rule  14  is  possible  when
               the  damage  or  injury  referred  to  in  rule  14(b)  is   neither of the clauses 14(a) and 14(b) protect her. There
               incurred only by a third boat that is not a party to the   was contact which caused damage, and the fact that it
               hearing, if it is a consequence of the original breach of   was  caused  to  a  third  boat  not  a  party  to the  hearing
               a rule of Part 2 by one of the parties.            does not negate the application of rule 14(b).

               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS                               However, nothing in the facts found suggests that BOD
               The protest committee found as facts that Broads One   69 failed to act to avoid contact after it was clear that
               Design  69  was  overlapped  to  windward  inside  the   BOD 27 was not giving mark-room. It is possible that,
               protestor,  BOD  27,  when  approaching  an  off-wind   had  the  hearing  not  been  reopened  and  the  original
               mark. BOD 27 then collided with a third boat, Yare &   decision  had  then  become  the  subject of  an  appeal  or
               Bure  17,  causing  damage.  The  protest  committee,   reference,  the  RYA  would  have  asked  for  further
               basing its decision on a presumption under rule 18.2(e)   information  from  the  protest  committee  on  this  point.
               that an earlier overlap had not been proved to have been   Since there is no reason to question the clearer findings
               broken, disqualified both parties, citing only rule 14(b).   of the reopened hearing, despite its invalidity, this is not
               The protestor asked  for the  hearing to be reopened to   necessary. BOD 69 is therefore reinstated.
               hear  additional  witnesses.  This  was  agreed  to  and  the   The  protest  form  made  it  clear  that  Y&B  17  was
               protest committee now found as a fact (without recourse   involved  in  the  incident  if  only  because  there  was  a
               to  rule  18.2(e))  that  the  boats  were  overlapped  when   collision  between  her  and  BOD  27.  The  protest
               BOD  27  entered  the  zone;  that  BOD  27  did  not  give   committee should have made her a party to the hearing
               mark-room to BOD 69; and it concluded that the actions   by protesting her in accordance with rule 60.3(a)(2), a
               of  BOD  27  ‘did  not  give  BOD  69  reasonable   procedural  move  to  keep  open  all  possible  outcomes
               opportunity to avoid the contact that occurred between   depending on the facts found. It is now too late for this
               these boats’.                                      to  be  done  and,  in  any  case,  the  clearer  facts  do  not
               The protest committee confirmed the disqualification of   indicate any infringement by Y&B 17 - see RYA case
               BOD  27  under  the  first  sentence  of  rule  18.2(b)  and   2003/3.
               exonerated BOD 69. It then requested confirmation or   Request for Confirmation or Correction of a Decision, Norfolk Broads
               correction of its decision from the RYA under rule 70.2.   YC
               DECISION                                           RYA 2008/4
               The  decision  to  reopen  the  protest  hearing  did  not   Definitions, Keep Clear
               comply with rule 66. The revised decision was therefore   Rule 15, Acquiring Right of Way
               invalid. The original decision to disqualify BOD 27 is
                                                             123
   118   119   120   121   122   123   124   125   126   127   128