Page 118 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 118

Jump the Gun! refers to several cases in support of her   should award redress. Appropriate redress would be to
               exoneration. These were all situations where a boat was   reinstate her in the race and add to her finishing time the
               compelled  to  break  a  'shall  not'  rule.  She  also  claims   estimated time for the boat to sail back to the start line
               that it was the  moored vessel that collided with  Jump   and then return to the point at which  she turned back
               the Gun! rather than Jump the Gun! colliding with the   which,  in  this  case,  is  unlikely  to  be  less  than  two
               moored vessel. The RYA does not accept that 'collides   minutes.  Reinstating  the  boat  in  her  actual  finishing
               with'  presupposes  which  of  two  vessels  was  more   position will be wrong as it will not be equitable to all
               responsible for causing the collision. As an analogy, a   boats as required by rule 64.2. If the protest committee
               protest committee would not apply such a distinction to   is not satisfied that the boat would have turned back if
               a boat making contact with  a  bobbing  inflatable pillar   flag X had been displayed for longer, redress should be
               mark she was rounding, even if wind or wave caused it   refused. See WS Case 31.
               to lean rapidly and unexpectedly far over. She would be
               penalized  for  breaking  rule  31’s  requirement  not  to   OBSERVATIONS
                                                                  The question submitted indicates that the boat expected
               touch the mark.
                                                                  to see an indication (using X or another flag) that she
               Heartbeat 2 v Jump the Gun!, Burnham Week          was on the course side of the line during the one minute
                                                                  period  before  the  starting  signal.  There  is  no
               RYA 2006/2                                         requirement  in  the  rules  for  such  a  signal  unless  so
               Rule 29.1, Recalls: Individual Recall              stated in the sailing instructions.
               Rule 62.1(a), Redress
               Rule 64.2, Decisions: Decisions on Redress         When the race committee intends to apply rule 30.1, a
                                                                  sailing instruction can change that rule to specify some
               When there is an improper action of the race committee,   signal other than flag X to recall boats that were OCS in
               a boat is entitled to redress only when she can show a   the  minute  prior  to  the  starting  signal  but  not  at  the
               clear link between that action and her score. If flag X is   starting  signal.  This  will  help  prevent  a  non-recalled
               removed prematurely, an OCS boat that does not return   boat making  a good start from  wrongly  believing that
               will be entitled to redress only if she can show that she   flag X was intended for her.
               would have returned had it been displayed for longer. If
               she  can  satisfy  the  protest  committee  on  this  point,   Request for Interpretation from Royal Brunei YC
               appropriate  redress  would  take  into  account  the  time   RYA 2006/3
               she  would  then  have  taken  to  return  and  start.
               Reinstatement into her finishing position is unlikely to   Rule 42, Propulsion
                                                                  Rule 61.1(b), Protest Requirements: Informing the
               be equitable to all boats.
                                                                  Protestee
               ASSUMED FACTS                                      A  race  committee  intending  to  protest  a  boat  over  an
               Flag I was correctly displayed as the preparatory signal
               for  a  race.  During  the  one  minute  period  before  the   incident  it  observes  in  the  racing  area  is  required  to
                                                                  notify the protestee after the race. Provided it does so, it
               starting signal a boat crossed to the course side of the
               starting  line  and,  although  on  the  pre-start  side  of  the   may  also  do  so  during  the  race  as  an  additional
                                                                  courtesy.  A  two-turns  penalty  is  not  available  for
               line at the starting signal, she failed to return across an
               extension of the line and then start as required by rule   breaking rule 42, unless the sailing instructions say so.
               30.1.  The race officer correctly displayed  flag X after   SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               the start but removed it after about one minute. The boat   Laser 182224 was protested by the race committee for
               was scored OCS and sought redress.                 breaking rule 42, and was disqualified. A member of the
                                                                  race committee made a hail of ‘Protest’ from the shore
               QUESTION                                           at the time of the incident, and the intention to protest
               Should the boat be granted redress for the error of the
               race  committee  in  failing  to  display  flag  X  for  4   and the reason was confirmed to Laser 182224 after the
                                                                  race. Laser 182224 was disqualified, and she appealed.
               minutes?
                                                                  DECISION
               ANSWER                                             The appeal is dismissed. The reasons for the appeal are
               A  boat  is  entitled  to  redress only  when  she  can  show
               that  a  mistake  affected  her  finishing  position.  This   addressed as follows:
               might  be  because  the  boat  was  not  able  to  see  the   No one on the bank was in a position to judge the wind
               committee boat during the period flag X was displayed,   conditions,  and  no  other  competitor  thought  I  was
               perhaps  because  of  intervening  boats,  but  would  have   breaking the rule.
               been  able  to  see  it  had  it  been  displayed  for  longer.
               Alternatively  she  might  be  able  to  convince  a  protest   It  is  for  the  protest  committee  to  decide  whether  the
               committee that  she  had seen  flag X, believed  it might   evidence of a protestor or witness  is credible, and the
               apply to her, and was on the point of returning when it   RYA sees no reason to question a conclusion that rule
               was  lowered.  In  either  situation,  the  earliest  time  the   42 had been broken. The appellant’s case in the protest
               error could have affected the boat is the moment flag X   hearing might have been stronger had he called another
               was lowered -  in this case, about one minute after the   competitor as a witness.
               starting signal.                                   The alleged protestor did not identify himself, was some
                                                                  distance away, and there was no reply to my hail to the
               If the protest committee is satisfied that the boat would
               have returned if flag X had been displayed for longer, it   OOD requesting clarification.
                                                             118
   113   114   115   116   117   118   119   120   121   122   123