Page 114 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 114

to tack at the mark (see rule 18.1(b)). It was not relevant   asked  for  redress,  which  was  denied.  The  protest
               that they were approaching the mark on widely differing   committee asked for confirmation of its decision.
               courses  –  see  WS  Case  12.  When  the  first  of  them   DECISION
               entered  the  mark’s  zone  they  were  overlapped,  and  P
               was required by rule 18.2(b) to give S room to round the   The decision of the protest committee is confirmed.
               mark. It is clear that S’s proper course was to gybe at   The ends of the starting line in rules 30.1, 30.2, 30.3 and
               the mark as required by rule 18.4, and that she intended   30.4 are those specified in the sailing instructions, and
               to do so.                                          not  any  limit  or  distance  mark,  unless  the  sailing
                                                                  instructions explicitly change rule 30.
               The protest committee’s conclusion that sufficient room
               was given for a gybe is contradicted by its conclusion   Request for redress by Reefer and Raffles, Poole YC
               that, in the circumstances,  it was prudent for S not to
               attempt to gybe in the room given. That is tantamount to   RYA 2005/2
               saying  that  S  was  not  given  sufficient  space  in  the   Rule 70.2, Appeals and Requests to a National
               prevailing conditions.                             Authority
                                                                  Rule 70.5, Appeals and Requests to a National
               Rather than gybing, S luffed, and contact was likely had   Authority
               she not done so. P therefore broke both rule 10 and rule   Appendix D, Team Racing Rules
               18.2(b).
                                                                  Even if the right to appeal has been denied under rule
               Laser 153489 v Breeze 626, Grafham Water SC
                                                                  70.5(a),  this  does  not  preclude  the  protest  committee
                                                                  from requesting confirmation of its decision under rule
               RYA 2004/9                                         70.2, since that is not an appeal.
               Rule 30.1, Starting Penalties: I Flag Rule
               Rule 30.2, Starting Penalties: Z Flag Rule         In  team  racing,  a  request  for  redress  following  a
               Rule 30.3, Starting Penalties: U Flag Rule         breakdown of a supplied boat  shall be decided by the
               Rule 30.4, Starting Penalties: Black Flag Rule     race committee.

               The ends of the starting line are as stated in the sailing   Before  granting  redress  the  race  committee  shall
               instructions,  and  determine  the  beginning  of  the   consider all the requirements for redress in rule D5. A
               extension of the starting line for rule 30.1 and the base   boat is required to display a red flag when she should
               of the triangle in rules 30.2, 30.3 and 30.4, unless the   be  aware  of  the facts,  while  racing,  but  not  when  the
               sailing instructions say otherwise.                facts  cannot  be  learned  until  after  the  race.  The
                                                                  decision of the race committee may be contested via a
                                                                  request  for  redress,  which  is  a  matter  for  a  protest
                                                                  committee to consider.
                                                                  SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
                                                                  In  a  team  racing  event,  at  the  changeover  of  boats
                                                                  before race 41 between New Forest Pirates (NFP) and
                                                                  Wessex Exiles (WE), one boat in the NFP team asked
                                                                  for water to be removed from inside the buoyancy tanks
                                                                  of the boat. This was done and the boat was sent out to
                                                                  race. NFP lost the race and, on returning ashore, NFP1
                                                                  called for the resail officer, showed him that there was
                                                                  water in the tanks again and asked for redress.

                                                                  The resail officer granted redress in the form of a resail.
                                                                  When advised of the resail decision, boat WE1  orally
                                                                  requested redress, claiming that the decision in NFP1’s
                                                                  request for redress was an ‘improper action’. The race
                                                                  committee had to resail the race before the request for
                                                                  redress  by  WE1  could  be  heard  by  the  protest
                                                                  committee. The resail was won by NFP.

                                                                  After  a  hearing  of  the  request  by  WE1,  redress  was
               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS                               refused:  the  protest  committee  upheld  the  decision  of
               The  sailing  instructions  said  that  the  starting  line  was   the  resail  officer.  However,  at  a  reopening  of  this
               between two staffs, but that boats should start between   hearing,  the  protest  committee  decided  that  the
               two limit marks.                                   requirements for redress during the original race 41 had
               In a start under rule 30.4, Black Flag Rule, during the   not been met because a red flag had not been displayed
               last minute before the starting signal, several boats were   by NFP1 and that the original result of that race should
               sailing  in  the  triangle  formed  by  the  starting  line  (as   stand.  It  referred  the  decision  to  the  RYA  for
               defined  in  the  sailing  instructions)  and  the  first  mark,   confirmation or correction.
               but  not  within  the  triangle  formed  by  the  limit  marks   In  response  to  questions  from  the  RYA,  the  protest
               and the first mark. These boats were scored as BFD and   committee  found  as  a  fact  that  there  were  5  litres  of


                                                             114
   109   110   111   112   113   114   115   116   117   118   119