Page 113 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 113

crossing  a  channel  was  required  to  make  her  own   choose to allow avoidable contact to occur, but at her
               assessment of a powered vessel's capability in order to   own risk, depending on the outcome.
               determine which rules of IRPCAS apply.
                                                                  A right-of-way boat (or one entitled to room or mark-
               While  finding  this  to  be  unsatisfactory,  the  protest   room)  that  deliberately  breaks  rule  14  by  allowing
               committee,  on  reflection,  believed  that  as  Red  Eagle   contact  to  occur  does  not  break  rule  2  if  damage  or
               was  a  large  vessel  that  was  operating  in  a  narrow   injury was not caused. The exoneration under rule 14(b)
               channel,  NJOS  should  assume  that  Red  Eagle  was   is immediate and automatic.
               restricted  to  that  channel.  The  protest  committee
               concluded that Red Eagle was therefore to be regarded   RS400 903 v RS400 1189, Blackpool & Fleetwood YC
               as a vessel restricted to a narrow channel or fairway.   RYA 2004/8
               The RYA accepts this finding. The right of way is to be   Definitions, Mark-Room
               decided according to the most obvious interpretation of   Rule 18.2(b), Mark-Room: Giving Mark-Room
               the  facts  of  the  situation  at  the  time  of  the  incident,   Rule 18.4. Mark-Room: Gybing
               given  that  safety  is  the  principal  objective  of  the   The  room  an  outside  overlapped  boat  must  give  at  a
               IRPCAS  and  byelaws.  NJOS  was  therefore  required   mark  to  an  inside  right-of-way  boat  includes  room  to
               neither to obstruct nor impede the passage of Red Eagle,   gybe when that is part of the inside boat’s proper course
               and so was obliged in effect to keep clear of her. There   to round the mark. In determining the right of an inside
               was clearly a sudden risk of possible collision, and the   boat to mark-room under rule 18.2(b), it is irrelevant that
               action  of  Red  Eagle's  captain  was  necessary  and   boats are on  widely differing courses, provided that an
               appropriate.                                       overlap exists when the first of them enters the zone.
               NJOS  therefore  broke  IRPCAS  rule  9(b)  and
               Southampton Harbour byelaw 10(1) by failing in effect                    S1
               to  keep  clear,  and  the  race  committee  was  entitled  to
               disqualify her without a hearing.
               Race Committee v NJOS, Royal Southampton YC
                                                                                Wind         Course to
               RYA 2004/3                                                                    next mark
               Rule 2, Fair Sailing                                                   S2
               Rule 14(b), Avoiding Contact
               When a right-of-way boat breaks rule 14 but there is no
               damage or injury, she is exonerated under rule 14 and
               does not break rule 2.                                                       P2
               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               L  was  approaching  the  finishing  line  close-hauled.  W
               crossed ahead and tacked to a windward overlap. There
               was  contact  while  W  was  between  head-to-wind  and
               close-hauled,  and  then  further  contact  a  few  seconds          P1
               later when L, with W close to windward, luffed to shoot
               the  finishing  mark.  L  protested,  and  the  protest   SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               committee disqualified both boats, W under rule 13, and   In force 3-4 conditions, following a wind shift, S was
               L under rule 14 for failing to avoid contact. L appealed.   approaching a leeward mark, which she was required to
               The  protest  committee,  in  commenting  on  the  appeal,   round to port, broad-reaching on starboard tack in order
               suggested that, in breaking rule 14, L had also broken   to  gybe  onto  a  reciprocal  close-hauled  course.  P,  on
               rule 2, Fair Sailing.                              another  leg  of  the  course,  was  approaching  the  same
                                                                  mark,  also  to  round  it,  from  nearly  the  opposite
               DECISION                                           direction, on port tack.
               L’s  appeal  is  upheld  and  she  is  reinstated  into  her
               finishing position.                                S hailed for room to round the mark and this hail was
                                                                  acknowledged. S  judged that she was  not being  given
               L became and remained the right-of-way boat from the   sufficient room to gybe in safety, and passed astern of P
               moment that W passed head to wind. The RYA does not   before gybing. Her protest, under rules 10 and 18, and
               question  the  protest  committee's  conclusion  that  L   which alleged contact (but not damage), was dismissed
               elected to collide with  W rather than  hit the  finishing   on the grounds that contact was not proven, that room
               mark,  thus  breaking  rule  14  by  not  avoiding  contact   was given for her gybe, and for S to decide not to gybe
               when it was reasonably possible to do so. However, the   was prudence that should not result in the penalization
               appeal  papers  contain  no  allegation  or  finding  of   of P. S appealed.
               damage or injury, and rule 14(b) states that a right-of-
               way boat is exonerated under this rule unless there was   DECISION
               contact that causes damage or injury. The possibility of   S’s appeal is upheld. P is disqualified
               damage  or  injury  is  not  a  sufficient  ground  for   S  and  P  were  on  opposite  tacks,  but  rule  18  applied,
               penalization,  and  a  right-of-way  boat  may  therefore   since both boats were not on a beat to  windward (see
                                                                  rule 18.1(a)), nor was the proper course of one of them
                                                             113
   108   109   110   111   112   113   114   115   116   117   118