Page 112 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 112

Serendip  said  in  her  appeal  that  'we  believed,  in   hearing  applied  only  when  a  boat  had  failed  to  'keep
               accordance  with  the  sailing  instructions  that  we  had  to   clear of commercial shipping as required by the Colregs
               round the yellow buoy after a change of course had been   and by-laws.' A power-driven vessel such as Red Eagle
               signalled.' Nothing in the sailing instructions required her   was  normally  required  by  IRPCAS  Rule  18  (a)(iv)  to
               to  round  a  yellow  buoy.  As  rule  90.2(c)  makes  clear,   keep out of the way of a sailing vessel, in which case
               nothing  said  at  a  briefing  can  change  the  sailing   IRPCAS Rule 17(a)(i) required  NJOS, as the  stand-on
               instructions, nor can it explicitly or implicitly change the   vessel, to keep her course and speed. NJOS would have
               meaning of a race signal in the Racing Rules of Sailing   failed to comply with this when she had tacked out into
                                                                  the channel.
               The decision to disqualify White Knuckles 1 is reversed.
               Although she was present at the hearing, she was never   However,  if  Red  Eagle  was  a  vessel  to  whom  the
               a party to the hearing, as defined, as she was explicitly   narrow channel or fairway provisions of the IRPCAS or
               excluded from Serendip's protest, and was not protested   the local Byelaws applied, then NJOS was required not
               by the protest committee. As stated in rule 64.1, only a   to  obstruct  or  impede  her,  which  was  tantamount  to
               party  to  a  protest  hearing  can  be  penalized.  Although   requiring NJOS to ‘keep clear’ of Red Eagle, and so the
               she did not appeal against her disqualification, the RYA   DNE without a hearing and its endorsement by the jury
               is  empowered  by  rule  71.2  to  reverse  the  protest   would have been proper.
               committee’s decision. She is reinstated to her finishing   The  RYA  referred  this  question  back  to  the  protest
               position
                                                                  committee,  deciding  as  follows  once  an  answer  was
               Serendip v Firestorm and others, Royal Western YC of England    provided.
               RYA 2004/2                                         DECISION
               IRPCAS rule 9(b)                                   NJOS’s appeal is dismissed.
               IRPCAS rule 17(a)(i)                               NJOS  was  required  by  the  preamble  to  Part  2  of  the
               IRPCAS rule 18 (a)(iv)                             Racing Rules of Sailing to accord Red Eagle her rights

               When a boat that is racing meets a large powered vessel   under  the  International  Regulations  for  the  Prevention
               in a fairway or narrow channel, she is to presume and   of Collisions at Sea (the IRPCAS  - also known as the
               act on the basis that the vessel can safely navigate only   'Colregs').
               within the channel, and therefore has right of way.   However, Red Eagle might be considered to have right
               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS                               of way over NJOS. IRPCAS rule 9(b) says that a sailing
               NJOS  had  tacked  briefly  into  the  fairway  of   vessel shall  not impede the passage of a vessel  which
               Southampton Water. She tacked back, but not before the   can  safely  navigate  only  within  a  narrow  passage  or
               captain of Red Eagle, an approaching car ferry, realising   fairway,  and  regulation  10(1)  of  the  Southampton
               there to be a risk of collision, decided to go full astern,   Harbour Byelaws 2003 which applied to the area of the
               and  reported  the  matter  to  the  club.  An  independent   incident requires a small vessel such as NJOS, not being
               enquiry (that was not a protest) followed, and based on   confined to the fairway, not to make use of the fairway
               its  findings,  the  race  committee  disqualified  NJOS   so as to obstruct other vessels which can navigate only
               without a hearing, acting under a sailing instruction that   within  the  fairway.  If  Red  Eagle  was  restricted  to  the
               stated:                                            fairway, then in effect she had right of way, and NJOS
                                                                  had impeded or obstructed her.
               Boats  shall  keep  clear  of  commercial  shipping  as
               required  by  the  Colregs  and  by-laws.  Any  boat  that   However, if the narrow channel or fairway provisions of
               contravenes this sailing instruction may be penalized or   the IRPCAS or the Byelaws did not apply to Red Eagle,
               disqualified from one or more races or from the series   then it was the powered Red Eagle that was required to
               by  the  race  committee  without  a  hearing.  A   keep clear of the sailing vessel NJOS. (The term 'keep
               disqualification  under  this  sailing  instruction  may  be   clear' is not to be found in the IRPCAS, where the term
               non-excludable. This affects RRS 63.1.             'keep out of the way of' is used instead, in this case in
                                                                  IRPCAS rule 18(a)(iv). The RYA judges these terms to
               The decision was upheld by a hearing (that too was not   be synonymous.) If Red Eagle was the vessel required
               a  protest)  requested  as  provided  in  the  sailing   to keep clear, then NJOS was not, and so the provisions
               instructions  by  NJOS,  before  a  protest  committee.   of the sailing instruction were not applicable to her.
               Neither the enquiry nor the subsequent hearing found as
               a  fact  whether  it  was  NJOS  or  Red  Eagle  which  had   While  NJOS  may  indeed  have  broken  IRPCAS  rule
               right of way, noting that Red Eagle’s draft was found on   17(a)(i) by failing, as a right-of-way vessel, to hold her
               investigation to be sufficiently shallow to allow her to   course and speed, she could be penalized for that only
               sail  outside  the  fairway,  even  though  her  operational   as a result of a protest, and there was never any protest
               practice was to stay within the fairway.           complying with Rule 61.1(b), 61.2 and 61.3 against her.
                                                                  Even  if she had been protested, the penalty (assuming
               NJOS  was  scored  DNE  by  the  race  committee,  and   that rule 2 was not also infringed) could only be DSQ,
               appealed.                                          and not DNE if the sailing instruction did not apply.
               The RYA decided that the question of which vessel held   In  its reply to the question  from the RYA, the protest
               right of  way  was  material  to  whether  NJOS  had  been   committee  pointed  out  that  a  vessel  restricted  to  a
               properly  penalized.  The  power  of  the  race  committee   narrow channel was not required to display any signal
               under  the  sailing  instructions  to  disqualify  without  a   to this effect, and that it followed that a sailing vessel
                                                             112
   107   108   109   110   111   112   113   114   115   116   117