Page 116 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 116

retire. Suppose that the sailing instructions say that the   whether at the time of the incident the boat that wishes
               penalty  for  breaking  a  rule  of  the  IRPCAS  or  some   to protest was aware of the injury or serious damage. It
               other  specified  and  applicable  navigation  byelaw  is   is  for  the  protest  committee  to  decide  whether  what
               DNE.  A  boat that  realises  that  she  has  broken  such  a   happened to a boat ranks as injury or  serious damage.
               rule  cannot  accept  a  DNE,  and  no  other  penalty  is   Guidance on damage is to be found in WS Case 19 and
               available to her, other than retiring. So retire she must.   RYA Case 2001/3.

               When a boat has retired, nothing in rule 60 prevents her   Questions from Royal Southampton YC
               from being protested. Rule 63.1 then requires the protest
               committee to hear all protests. Rule 64.1 says that when   RYA 2005/6
               a  protest  committee  decides  that  a  boat  has  broken  a   Rule 70.2, Appeals and Requests to a National
               rule,  it  shall  disqualify  her  unless  some  other  penalty   Authority
               applies. Normally, retirement precludes penalization, as
               stated  in  rule  64.1(b).  However,  as  also  stated  in  that   A  protest  committee  may  not  refer  only  part  of  its
               rule, that is not so when a boat has taken an applicable   decision  for  correction  or  confirmation:  the  RYA  will
               penalty such as retirement but the only penalty available   review all decisions related to an incident.
               to the protest committee is DNE. In this case, the protest   SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               committee  can  and  must  apply  a  DNE  penalty,   The belated shortening of the course resulted in redress
               regardless of the boat having retired.             being requested by and granted to A and B, in the form

               QUESTION 2                                         of  being  awarded  better  scores  than  their  finishing
               How can a boat be required or allowed to use her engine   positions. On learning of the redress granted, C and D
               to avoid contact with other racing boats and commercial   asked for redress on the grounds that the redress granted
               shipping,  and  to  use  her  engine  after  her  preparatory   to A and B was unfair to themselves. E then lodged a
               signal  if  late  arriving  at  the  starting  area,  without   request  claiming  that  she  had  been  equally
               incurring a penalty?                               disadvantaged by the race committee error, and should
                                                                  also be given an improved score.
               ANSWER 2
               Rule 42.3(i) may now make this possible. However, the   The protest committee refused redress to C, D and E,
               rule also says that a boat that does so must not thereby   but decided to ask the RYA whether the shortening of
               gain a significant advantage in the race.          course could be considered invalid as well as late.
               QUESTION 3                                         DECISION
               Is  weather  information  sent  to  a  mobile  phone,  to  a   In upholding the protest committee’s decision in all five
               receiver or to a computer by a weather bureau as part of   requests, the RYA stated as follows.
               a dedicated subscription service 'freely available' for the   The RYA will not agree to consider the correctness of
               purposes  of  rule  41(c)?  Is  the  cost  of  that  service   only  part  of  a  protest  committee’s  decision.  It  is  not
               relevant? Is information available to all on the internet   provided  for  in  rule  70.2,  and  to  do  so  could  lead  to
               'freely  available',  given  that  a  subscription  has  to  be   inconsistency. For instance, a finding that the race had
               paid to an internet service provider?              never  been  validly  shortened  might  result  in  the
               ANSWER 3                                           abandonment of the race as being the more appropriate
               Once  a  subscription  has  been  paid  to  a  generally   redress. The RYA has reviewed all of the original and
               available  and  non-specialised  communications  service,   further decisions.
               such as an Internet Service Provider, a telephone service   Request for confirmation or correction, Hamble River SC
               (mobile  or  terrestrial)  or  a  television  licence,  any
               information that is then available to the general public,   RYA 2005/7
               or is available to all competitors in the event, and that   Rule 61.3, Protest Requirements: Protest Time Limit
               can  be  accessed  readily  and  at  no  further  cost  (other   Rule 69.2, Misconduct; Action by a Protest Committee
               than  the  cost,  if  applicable,  of  a  standard  rate  call  or   Rule 78.1, Compliance with Class Rules; Certificates
               connection) is 'freely available'. The notice of race and
               sailing  instructions  may  change  rule  41  to  widen  or   The hearing of requests for redress and rule 69 actions
               narrow this.                                       may unavoidably have to take place after the end of an
                                                                  event, but the time limit for lodging a protest should not
               QUESTION 4                                         normally be extended beyond then.
               What is the meaning of ‘injury or serious damage that is
               obvious  to  the  boat  intending  to  protest,'  in  rule   The  protection  of  WS  case  57  does  not  extend  to  an
               61.1(a)(4)?  Is  this  different  from  'injury  or  serious   owner or person in charge who knows, or should know,
               damage', as referred to in other rules?            that the boat does not comply with class rules.
                                                                  SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               ANSWER 4
               It is possible that damage or injury that is obvious to the   Following  an  Extraordinary  General  Meeting  of  the
                                                                  Osprey  Class  on  23  April  2005  ratifying  the  use  of
               boats involved may not be serious. The question for the
               protest committee to decide, in considering the validity   Kevlar sails, a protest was received on 4 May 2005 by
                                                                  the organizing authority, which had organized the 2004
               of a protest when the general requirement for a prompt
               hail  of  'Protest'  and,  when  applicable,  for  the  prompt   National  Championships  in  August  of  that  year.  The
                                                                  protest alleged that two prize-winning competitors had
               displaying of a red flag has not been complied with, is
                                                             116
   111   112   113   114   115   116   117   118   119   120   121