Page 117 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 117

used Kevlar sails that broke the class rules in force at   in  time.  These  reasons  might  include  being  very  late
               the time of the event.                             ashore  after  being  rescued,  going  to  hospital,  or  poor
                                                                  wind conditions making a return to shore in time very
               The protest committee considered the matter of validity   difficult; it does mean however that submitting a protest
               and decided that under rule 61.3 there was good reason   needs to be done quickly on returning to shore.
               to extend the time limit and heard the protest, which it
               dismissed, citing WS Case 57.                      Regattas  need  to  have  closure  for  new  protests
                                                                  involving  on-the-water  incidents,  which  includes
               The  protest  committee  then  referred  the  matter  to  the   competing  in  a  boat  that  does  not  comply  with  class
               RYA to confirm or correct its decision.
                                                                  rules, and the time limit as described in rule 61.3 should
               DECISION                                           not normally be extended beyond the end of the event.
               The protest was invalid and should not have been heard.
                                                                  That  does  not  preclude  serious  allegations  being
               Rule  61.1(a)  requires  a  boat  intending  to  protest  to   investigated  after  the  end  of  an  event.  Actions  under
               inform the other boat at the first reasonable opportunity.   rule  69  have  no  time  limit  and  can  be  initiated  by  a
               Osprey 1298’s own protest form states that the protestees   protest committee at any time even after the regatta has
               had not been notified. The protest was therefore invalid,   finished  and  the  competitors  have  gone  home.  An
               and the hearing should have been closed.           allegation,  even  in  a  late  and  invalid  protest,  of  the
                                                                  knowing  use  of  a  better  but  forbidden  sail  material
               Even if the protestees had been properly notified of the   would be a good reason for a protest committee to call a
               protest in May 2005, the protest committee should not   hearing under rule 69, but that is a matter for a protest
               have extended the time limit, since the facts justifying   committee to decide.
               the protest must have been known to the protestor at the
               very  latest  by  the  end  of  March  when  he  would  have   Request for confirmation or correction of a decision, Penzance SC
               received notice of the EGM. There was no good reason
               for him to wait more than a month.                 RYA 2005/8
                                                                  Rule 64.1(a), Decisions: Penalties and Exoneration
               While these reasons are sufficient to correct the protest
               committee’s decision to proceed with the  hearing (not   A  boat  is  to  be  exonerated  only  when  compelled  by
               that  such  a  decision  changes  the  outcome,  since  the   another boat’s infringement to fail to comply with what
               protest  was  dismissed),  the  RYA  comments  on  two   the rule concerned obliges her to do or not do.
               further matters arising from the protest.          SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               First, the protest committee dismissed the protest, citing   Habanero collided with a moored vessel, causing it to
               WS Case 57. In that case, a duly authenticated certificate   move into the path of Jump the Gun!, which touched the
               had been presented in good faith by an owner who had no   moored  vessel.  Jump  the  Gun!  was  protested  by
               reason to be aware of the error in the certificate. In this   Heartbeat 2 for breaking a sailing instruction that said
               protest, the protested competitors, being sailmakers, must   that  ‘an  entered  boat  that  collides  with  or  fends  off  a
               have  known the  material  in their  sails, and  no  boat  can   moored or anchored vessel at any time shall retire and
               plead ignorance of a class rule as an excuse. They would   report the collision to the race office.’  Jump the Gun!
               not therefore have been entitled to the protection of Case   had  reported  the  collision,  but  had  not  retired.  The
               57 in a valid protest based on rule 78.1.          protest committee noted that Habanero had retired, and
                                                                  exonerated  Jump  the  Gun!,  by  implication  because
               Secondly, even  if  a properly  notified protest  had been   Jump  the  Gun!  was  compelled  to  break  the  sailing
               lodged  in March 2005, this  being the earliest date the   instruction  because  of  an  infringement  by  Habanero.
               protestor became aware of the facts, the protest should   Heartbeat 2 appealed.
               have  been declared  invalid, because  it was  not  lodged
               before the end of the event. It is sometimes unavoidable   DECISION
               that the results at the end of an event turn out not to be   Heartbeat  2’s  appeal  is  upheld.  Jump  the  Gun!  is
               final.  All  requests  for  redress  as  a  result  of  the   disqualified.
               publication of the  final results  must be  heard and any   The  sailing  instruction  does  not  say  'a  boat  shall  not
               subsequent  requests  for  reopening  considered.  A   collide with or fend off a moored or anchored vessel'.
               competitor who has left the site but later finds out his   Rather  it  imposes  an  obligation  on  a  boat  when  a
               results are not correct is still entitled to have his request   collision  occurs,  namely  to  retire  and  report  the
               for  redress  heard  provided  he  fulfils  the  conditions  of   incident. The collision itself is not prohibited. Nothing
               rule 62.2. Where there is no International Jury, a protest   that  Habanero  did  prevented  Jump  the  Gun!  from
               committee’s decision may be changed on appeal.     complying with the requirement in SI 9 to retire, and so
               For  protests  concerning  something  that  may  have   exoneration  under  rule  64.1(a)  is  not  appropriate.  She
               happened  during  racing,  however,  the  RYA  considers   failed  to  retire,  thus  breaking  SI  9,  and  is  therefore
               that a good reason for extending the protest time limit   disqualified  for  not  retiring,  by  virtue  of  the  first
               beyond the end of the event will usually be outweighed   paragraph  of  rule  64.1.  Nor  does  any  part  of  rule  62,
               by the better reason of the need for the results to be as   Redress, allow any compensation.
               final as possible.                                 For the same reason, it should be noted that Habenero
               The  requirement  to  extend  the  time  if  there  is  good   did  not  break  the  sailing  instruction.  Indeed,  she
               reason to do so is to allow for circumstances in  which   complied with it by retiring.
               the competitor finds it impossible to submit the protest
                                                             117
   112   113   114   115   116   117   118   119   120   121   122