Page 115 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 115

water  (weighing  5kg)  in  the  buoyancy  tanks  of  NFP1   The protest  committee has  no direct power under rule
               when she returned to the shore after race 41.      66 to reopen the decision of the race committee on the
                                                                  grounds that the race committee may have come to the
               DECISION                                           wrong decision based on the evidence, since it was not
               The decision of the protest committee that the Wessex   the  body  that  made  the  decision.  It  must  however
               Exiles team won the race is confirmed. The reasons for   consider a request for redress that the race committee’s
               the decision are corrected.
                                                                  decision  was  an  improper  action  under  rule  62.1(a)
               When  deciding  a  request  for  redress  following  a   where it affected the requester’s finishing position.
               breakdown,  rule  D5  requires  the  race  committee  to
               consider, amongst other things, whether a red flag was   Parties to a Hearing
                                                                  A breakdown request is a request for redress under rule
               displayed and whether the finishing position of the boat   62.1(a).  In  accordance  with  the  definition  Party  the
               was significantly affected. The case papers make clear   parties to such a redress hearing are the requester and
               that the race committee failed to properly consider these   the  race  committee.  However,  when  rule  D1.2(e)
               matters  and,  on  receipt  of  the  request  for  redress  by   applies,  it  is  often  appropriate  for  representatives  of
               WE1, the protest committee was entitled to review all   both  teams  in  the  race  to  be  present  when  the  race
               the circumstances of the breakdown.
                                                                  committee is collecting evidence from the teams.
               A boat is required to display a red flag as soon as she   Request  for  confirmation  or  correction  of  decision,  Wessex  Winter
               should  reasonably  be  aware  of  the  facts  that  would   Warmer
               justify seeking redress; when the  facts are  not  learned
               until  after  the  race,  as  in  this  case,  there  is  then  no   RYA 2005/5
               requirement  to  display  a  red  flag.  Until  the  tank  was   Sportsmanship and the Rules
               opened  after  the  race  it  was  not  possible  for  the   Rule 41(c), Outside Help
               competitor to know for a fact that there was water in the   Rule 42.3(i), Propulsion
               tank.  Were  it  otherwise,  all  competitors  would,  to   Rule 60, Right to Protest; Right to Request Redress or
               protect their right to seek redress, be obliged to display   Rule 69 Action
               a red flag in the event of any suspicion that a supplied   Rule 61.1(a)(4), Protest Requirements: Informing the
               boat might have suffered a breakdown, pending further   Protestee
               inspection after racing.                           Rule 64, Decisions: Penalties and Exoneration
               A leak in the hull of a supplied boat that allows water to   A boat  that has retired may be protested, and a valid
               penetrate into a buoyancy tank is clearly a breakdown   protest against her must be heard, but the boat is not to
               for the purposes of rule D5. The breakdown was neither   be penalized unless the penalty for the rule she broke is
               the fault of the crew nor one that the crew could have   a non-excludable disqualification.
               avoided.
                                                                  Although rule 42.3(i) permits the sailing instructions to
               As the water entered the tanks through a leak in the keel   allow  the  use  of  an  engine  for  propulsion  in  stated
               it can be inferred that there was less water at the start of   circumstances, a boat that avails herself of this breaks
               the  race  and  that  this  increased  progressively  towards   rule 42 if she gains a significant advantage in the race.
               the 5 litres found after the race. The protest committee
               decided that the evidence did not support a conclusion   Information available at no cost other than the cost of
               that the boat's finishing position was made significantly   subscribing to and using a generally available and non-
               worse by the water in the tank.                    specialised service through which it is to be obtained is
                                                                  'freely available'.
               The  RYA  sees  no  reason  to  disagree  with  this
               conclusion. Rule D5.4 allows redress to be given only   'Damage'  in  rule  61.1(a)(4)  must  be  serious.  For  the
               when the boat's finishing position is made significantly   relaxation  of general  protest  notification  requirements
               worse.  The  result  of  the  original  race  41,  won  by   to apply, the injury or damage must be obvious to the
               Wessex Exiles, stands and the result of the resailed race   boat that wishes to protest.
               is discarded.                                      QUESTION 1
               RELATED ISSUES                                     Sportsmanship and the Rules, says that retiring may be
               Right of Appeal                                    a penalty, and Rule 64.1(a) says that a boat cannot be
               The  sailing  instructions  denied  the  right  of  appeal  in   penalized if some other penalty applies.
               accordance  with  rule  70.5(a).  Rule  70.5  requires  the   Does  this  apply  to  all  infringements,  and  can  it  be
               denial of appeal to be stated in both the notice of race   varied  in  sailing  instructions?  We  need  to  be  able  to
               and the sailing instructions. No proper notice of race has   apply  serious  penalties,  such  as  a  non-excludable
               been provided to the RYA so there is doubt about the   disqualification (DNE), to boats that break the IRPCAS
               validity  of  this  sailing  instruction.  However,  this  was   and  local  navigation  byelaws  with  respect  to
               not an appeal by a party but a reference by the protest   commercial shipping, without a boat having the option
               committee under rule 70.2, which is not covered by the   of  avoiding  penalization  by  retiring,  which  it  appears
               rule  70.5  provisions.  The  reference  to  the  RYA  for   she can do (RET) even after finishing.
               confirmation or correction is therefore valid.
                                                                  ANSWER 1
               Process for Breakdown Requests                     When  a  boat  realises  that  she  has  broken  a  rule,  and
               Rule  D5.3  transfers  the  responsibility  for  deciding   when  a  turn(s)  penalty  or  some  other  penalty  is  not
               redress  following a  breakdown  to the race committee.   available  to  her,  the  Basic  Principle  requires  her  to
                                                             115
   110   111   112   113   114   115   116   117   118   119   120