Page 110 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 110

SUMMARY OF THE FACTS                               requirement, and was unable to comply with the second
               In a strong wind and choppy sea cut up by a cross-tide,   because of Supernatural’s infringements.
               three  category  IRC2  boats  were  approaching  the   Exoneration  for  breaking  rule  16.1  is  possible  under
               leeward port-hand mark. Panache, the inside boat, was
               on  starboard  tack.  Supernatural  and  Dragonfly  were   rule  21,  but  in  this  case  there  was  no  failure  by
                                                                                  give
                                                                  Dragonfly
                                                                             to
                                                                                        mark-room.
                                                                                                     Furthermore,
               overlapped outside her, both on port tack, and had been
               so  before  any  of  the  boats  entered  the  zone.   Supernatural  was  neither  taking  mark-room  to  which
                                                                  she was entitled, nor yet rounding the mark, nor sailing
               Supernatural  collided  with  Panache,  then  gybed  onto
               starboard  tack,  veered  towards  Dragonfly,  which  was   her proper course.
               still on port tack, and collided with her as well. Damage   Supernatural v Dragonfly, Royal Ocean Racing Club
               resulted from both collisions.
                                                                  RYA 2003/8
               Supernatural  was  disqualified  under  rule  16.1  for   Definitions, Keep Clear
               failing  to  give  Dragonfly  room  to  keep  clear.  She   Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
               appealed, on the grounds  firstly that she  believed that   Rule 14(a), Avoiding Contact
               rule 16 did  not apply to her, as stated in rule  21, and
               secondly  that  Dragonfly  should  have  given  sufficient   When  boats  are  overlapped  on  the  same  tack  on
               room to enable both of the inside boats to perform any   converging  courses,  the  moment  when  the  windward
               manoeuvre to avoid a collision.                    boat has failed to keep clear is, by definition, also the
                                                                  moment when the right-of-way boat must take avoiding
               DECISION                                           action  if  she  is  to  avoid  penalization  under  rule  14,
               Supernatural’s appeal is dismissed.                should contact causing damage then occur.
               Panache  was  entitled  to  steer  a  course  for  a  tactical
               rounding provided that she gave Supernatural room to
               keep clear when she changed course, and provided that
               she sailed no farther from the mark than she needed to
               sail her proper course, as required by rule 18.4. There is
               nothing to suggest that she did otherwise.
               Supernatural was required to keep clear of Panache and,
               from  zone  entry,  to  give  her  room  to  sail  to  the  mark.
               Supernatural did neither, breaking rules 10 and 18.2(b).

               Dragonfly  was required  by rule 18.2(b) to give  mark-
               room  to  Panache  and  Supernatural  from  the  moment
               they entered the zone. The protest committee found that
               she complied with this requirement, and the RYA sees   SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               no  reason  to  doubt  this  finding.  After  she  gybed,   W  and  L  were  approaching  the  starting  line  to  pass
               Supernatural became right-of-way boat, and Dragonfly   inside a small starting mark for a reaching start. They
               broke  rule  10.  However,  Supernatural  broke  not  only   converged  and  there  was  contact  between  them,
               rule  16.1,  but  also  rule  15  with  respect  to  her  and   resulting in damage to both of them. L protested W. The
               Dragonfly  is  exonerated  under  rule  21(a)  because  she   protest committee disqualified both of them, W for not
               was sailing within the room to which she was entitled   keeping clear, as the mark was surrounded by navigable
               under those rules. The RYA is satisfied that there was   water  she  could  have  luffed  into,  and  so  she  was  not
               nothing  that  Dragonfly  could  have  done  to  avoid  the   entitled to room because of the preamble to Section C;
               collision,  and  so  she  did  not  break  rule  14.   and L for breaking rule 14. L appealed on the grounds
               Supernatural’s  loss  of  control  resulted  from  her  own   that, given she was not required to give room to W, she
               earlier breaking of rule 10, and is no reason to exonerate   was not required to take avoiding action under rule 14
               her further infringements.                         until it was clear that W was not keeping clear, and that
                                                                  when that moment arrived, there was then nothing she
               In addition, Supernatural as an inside overlapped right-
               of-way  boat with respect to  Dragonfly, would  have to   could do to avoid contact.
               gybe to sail her proper course at the mark, and so was   DECISION
               required by rule 18.4 to sail  no farther  from the  mark   L’s appeal dismissed.
               than  needed  to  sail  that  course.  She  clearly  sailed
               beyond the point where rule 18.4 required her to gybe,   The RYA is satisfied that, at a point of time before the
               thus breaking that rule as well.                   starting signal, W was not keeping clear; that it was or
                                                                  should  have  been  clear  to  L  that  W  was  not  keeping
               The  rules  did  not  require  Dragonfly  to  give  sufficient   clear;  that  it  was  reasonably  possible  for  L  to  avoid
               room to enable each of the inside boats to perform any   contact  at  that  time;  that  she  did  not  act  to  avoid
               manoeuvre to avoid a collision. Dragonfly’s obligation   contact; and that contact resulting in damage resulted.
               was to give Supernatural and Panache room to sail to
               the  mark,  and  to  keep  clear  of  Supernatural  when   To  clarify  the  interaction  of  rules  11  and  14,  L  was
               Supernatural obtained right of way and changed course   right-of-way boat under rule 11, and W was required to
               towards  her.  Dragonfly  complied  amply  with  the  first   keep  clear  of  her.  A  windward  boat  on  a  converging
                                                                  course with a leeward boat has failed to keep clear if the
                                                                  leeward  boat  cannot  sail  her  course  because  avoiding
                                                             110
   105   106   107   108   109   110   111   112   113   114   115