Page 107 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 107

required  side,  rule  21  does  not  exonerate  her  if  she   mark-room. In this case, neither B nor C exercised that
               breaks rule 16.1.                                  right at the mark.
                                           B1                     QUESTION 3
                                                     A1           Does C sail above her proper course?
                             Wind                                 ANSWER 3
                                                C1                It may be that C sails above a proper course when she
                                                                  luffs, but that in itself breaks no rule. The only rules that
                                           B2                     place a proper course limitation on a boat are rules 17
                                                                  and 18.4, neither of which applies here.
                                                    A2
                                                                  QUESTION 4
                                                                  Which rules apply between A, B and C when C luffs?
                        C4       A4             C2                ANSWER 4
                                      A3                          Since C is no longer taking mark-room to which she is
                             B4
                                                                  entitled when she luffs at position 4 (see the answer to
                                   B3
                                                                  Question 2), rule 16.1 requires her to give both B and A
                                                                  room  to  keep  clear,  without  the  possibility  of
                              C3                                  exoneration under rule 21 for breaking rule 16.1. If C’s
                                                                  luff complies with rule 16.1 but B’s ability to respond is
                                                                  curtailed because A does not respond (or responds only

                                                                  belatedly  or  less  quickly  than  would  be  seamanlike),
               ASSUMED FACTS                                      then A breaks rule 11 and B would be exonerated under
               Three boats approached a leeward mark at slow speed   rule 64.1(a) in any protest against her for breaking rule
               in  light  winds.  C  was  clear  ahead  of  A  and  B  as  she   11.
               reached  the  zone.  B  was  overlapped  inside  A  at  the
               zone. C sailed wide round the mark leaving room for B   Rule  14  instructs  B  to  avoid  contact  if  reasonably
               to  round  up  inside.  C  shouted  ‘No  water’  and  luffed,   possible, so B should not deliberately hit A. However, B
               still within the zone, touching B. B attempted to head up   risks  disqualification  only  if  the  contact  is  avoidable,
               to  avoid  C  but  was  prevented  from  doing  so  by  A,   and if there is then damage, and if there are no grounds
               which was now overtaking to windward.              for  exoneration  because  of  an  infringement  by  C.  B
                                                                  cannot be penalized, even if there is damage, if contact
               QUESTION 1                                         with A or C is inevitable whatever she does.
               Which rules apply to the boats as they round the mark?
                                                                  Questions from Combs SC
               ANSWER 1
               C  enters  the  zone  clear  ahead  of  A  and  B,  and  the   RYA 2003/3
               second sentence of rule 18.2(b) entitles C to mark-room   Rule 60.3(a)(1), Right to Protest; Right to Request
               from A and B, namely room to leave the mark on the   Redress or Rule 69 Action
               required side. B is entitled to mark-room inside A under   Rule 64.1, Decisions: Penalties and Exoneration
               the first sentence of rule 18.2(b). B becomes overlapped   Rule R5, Procedures for Appeals and Requests:
               inside  C,  and  A  then  becomes  overlapped  inside  B.   Inadequate Facts; Reopening
               Neither A nor B is entitled to mark-room from C, and A
               is  not entitled to  mark-room  from B, as stated  in rule   In  an  appeal,  the  national  authority  must  accept  the
               18.2(c). However,  WS  Case 63  says that when  a boat   facts  found  by  the  protest  committee,  but  need  not
               voluntarily  or  unintentionally  makes  room  at  a  mark   accept  the conclusions of the protest  committee  based
               available to another that has no rights to such room, the   on those facts.
               other boat may take advantage, at her own risk, of the   When a protest committee wishes to protest under rule
               room. A must keep clear of B under rule 11, and B must   60.3(a)(1) having received a report of an incident that
               keep clear of C under the same rule.               may  have  resulted  in  injury  or  serious  damage,  it  is
               QUESTION 2                                         advised initially to protest all boats that may have been
               At what point does C’s entitlement to mark-room end?   involved. If it then finds that that there was in fact more
               At what point does B’s entitlement to mark-room end?   than one incident, and that serious damage or serious
                                                                  injury did not result from one of the incidents, it should
               ANSWER 2                                           close the hearing relating to that incident.
               Each of them is entitled to room to round the mark as
               necessary to sail the course, even if neither of them does   If there is a causal link between a series of collisions,
               so. Neither of them needs that room by position 4. WS   they  may  be  regarded  as  a  single  incident  for  the
               Case 63 goes on to identify the risk to the boat taking   purposes of rule 60.3(a)(1)
               room to which she is not entitled, namely that the boat   When  a  protest  committee  uses  rule  60.3(a)(1)  to
               entitled  to  mark-room  may  be  able  to  sail  a  proper   protest a boat, and the boat then is found to have been
               course  to  close  the  gap  between  her  and  the  mark,   involved in an incident that resulted in serious damage
               resulting in the opportunist no longer being able to give   or serious injury, and to have broken a rule, she is to be
               that room, and in the exoneration of the boat entitled to   penalized under the appropriate rule, even if it were not
                                                                  she that caused the serious damage or serious injury.
                                                             107
   102   103   104   105   106   107   108   109   110   111   112