Page 103 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 103

The protest committee found that this question did not      Protest by 95, 44
               affect  Kishmiro’s  finishing  position  in  the  general      Any  of  the  above  with  the  word  ‘number’
               classification  for  the  overall  trophy,  and  so  addressed   preceding the number itself.
               itself to the question as to whether, for the purposes of
               rule 62.1, Kishmiro’s score in the race had been made   ANSWER 1
               significantly  worse,  since  the  question  of  whether   It is universally accepted that any use of ‘Protest’ as a
               Guffin was or was not entitled to the ‘Westerly’ trophy   noun  or  verb  will  comply  with  rule  61.1(a),  and  the
               did not affect Kishmiro’s overall race result.     same applies to rule E6.3. However, the order stated by
                                                                  rule  E6.3  is  explicit,  and  only  the  first  three  further
               It decided that competition for the Westerly trophy was   examples offered comply with that rule.
               a ‘race within a race’, and therefore Kishmiro had met   The  inclusion of the  word 'number'  in  a  hail does  not
               the  general  requirement  of  a  valid  request  under  rule   invalidate the protest.
               62.1.  Redress  was,  however,  refused.  The  term
               ‘Westerly  Class  Yacht’  was  nowhere  further  defined,   QUESTION 2
               either in a deed of gift or in the notice of race.  Guffin   How  can  the  requirement  to  inform  the  other  boat  in
               was  built  by  Westerly.  The  Westerly  Owners   rule 61.1(a) be complied with  if  the protestee remains
               Association  (WOA)  handbook  allocated  a  WOA    unaware of a valid protest against him?
               handicap  to  J/24s,  and  the  WOA  had  issued  a  guide   ANSWER 2
               called  ‘Westerly  Goes  Racing’,  which  included   When  rule  61.1(a)  applies  (whether  as  printed  or  as
               reference  to  J/24s.  The  protest  committee’s  decision   altered by rule E6.3), compliance with the requirement
               was that, for the purposes of the trophy,  Guffin was a   to hail, and, if necessary, to flag in its second sentence
               ‘Westerly Class Yacht’. It referred this to the RYA.
                                                                  fulfils the requirement of the first sentence to inform the
               DECISION                                           other boat at the first reasonable opportunity.
               The  decision  of  the  protest  committee  is  confirmed.   Questions from the Royal Tay YC
               When  there  is  a  prize  for  a  certain  category  of  boat
               within the overall results of a race, this itself ranks as a   RYA 2002/8
               race for the purposes of rule 62.1, and so questions of   Rule 63.7, Hearings: Conflict between Rules
               redress can be considered.                         Rule 89.2, Organizing Authority; Notice of Race:
               As  concerns  the  refusal  of  redress,  the  RYA  is  in  no   Appointment of Race Officials
               better position than the protest committee to interpret an
               ambiguous condition applying to the race, and sees no   An organizing authority can change its notice of race if
               reason to differ from the protest committee’s judgement   it gives adequate notice. The notice of race may also
               that Guffin was a ‘Westerly Class Yacht.’          say that it can be changed by the race committee. When
                                                                  the organizing authority or (if permitted to do so) the
               Reference from Guernsey YC
                                                                  race committee changes the notice of race, this can give
                                                                  rise to redress when the change is improper and
               RYA 2002/7                                         adversely affects a boat’s score.
               Rule 61.1(a), Protest Requirements: Informing the
               Protestee                                          When  there  is a conflict  between a  sailing  instruction
               Rule E6.3, Informing the Protestee                 and  the  notice  of  race,  this  is  to  be  resolved  by  rule
                                                                  63.7. In isolation, a statement in the sailing instructions
               When  rule  61.1(a)  applies  (whether  as  printed  or  as   that a sailing instruction will prevail over a conflicting
               altered by rule E6.3) compliance with the requirement   provision in the notice of race is not binding.
               to  hail  and,  when  required,  to  flag,  fulfils  the
               requirement to notify the protestee.               QUESTION 1
               The  protest  hail  procedure  in  radio-controlled  boat   Can the notice of race be changed once it is published?
               racing  requires  the  number  of  the  protesting  boat  to   ANSWER 1
               precede the number of the protested boat, with the word   Yes, rule 89.2(b) says  so, provided adequate  notice  is
               ‘protest’ or a variant thereof between the numbers.   given.
               QUESTION 1                                         QUESTION 2
               For a protest in a radio-controlled class by (say) boat 95   If so, who is permitted to do so, and how and when may
               against boat 44, is ‘95 protest 44’ the only protest hail   it be done?
               that complies with rule E6.3
                                                                  ANSWER 2
               If not, which other hails would comply? For example:
                                                                  The  organizing  authority  is  responsible  for  publishing
                  95 protests 44                                 the notice of race, and normally it must also make any
                  95 is protesting 44                            changes. However the notice itself could contain some
                  95 protested 44                                other method of making changes. For instance, it would
                  44 has been protested by 95                    be  possible  to  provide  in  the  notice  that  the  race
                  44 is protested by 95                          committee  can  make  changes.  Subject  to  what  is  said
                  44 is being protested by 95                    below, the notice can be changed at any time up to the
                                                                  end of the event it deals with.
                  44, protest by 95
                  Protest, 44 by 95

                                                             103
   98   99   100   101   102   103   104   105   106   107   108