Page 99 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 99

ANSWER 1                                           SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               Rule19  applies  if  the  moored  vessel  is  large  enough   Anina was seriously damaged in a collision with Atom,
               relative to the boats racing to rank as an obstruction, as   and  lodged  a  protest  against  her.  Atom  was  not
               defined.                                           represented  at  the  protest  hearing.  The  protest
                                                                  committee decided to continue with the  hearing  under
               QUESTION 2                                         rule  63.3(b),  as  a  notice  calling  the  hearing  had  been
               Does  rule  20.1  apply  in  a  situation  when  two  close-  posted  as  required  by  the  sailing  instructions.  It  then
               hauled boats are approaching a moored boat?
                                                                  found that Anina had not complied with rule 61.1(a)(4),
               ANSWER 2                                           and so the protest was invalid. However, it decided to
               Yes, providing other requirements of rule 20.1 are met,   continue the hearing, relying on rule 60.3(a)(1), and the
               and the moored boat ranks as an obstruction.       original  notification  of  the  hearing.  Atom  was
                                                                  disqualified, and this decision was recorded on Anina’s
               QUESTION 3                                         protest form.
               Can  our  sailing  instructions,  which  prohibit  touching
               moored  vessels,  say  that  all  moored  vessels  are   When  she  realised  this,  Atom  asked  for  a  reopening,
               obstructions?                                      stating that, while she did not deny she was involved in
                                                                  a collision, she had never been notified by Anina of any
               ANSWER 3                                           intention  to  protest,  and,  indeed,  thought  that  Anina’s
               No.  This  would  change  the  definition  Obstruction,   protest would be only against a third boat involved in
               which  is  not  permitted.  A  sailing  instruction  may   the incident. When this was refused, she appealed.
               nevertheless state that a moored or anchored vessel shall
               not be touched.                                    DECISION
                                                                  Atom’s appeal is upheld, and she is to be reinstated into
               QUESTION 4                                         her finishing position.
               When  two  boats  are  sailing  overlapped  off  the  wind,
               and  approach  a  moored  vessel,  is  W  entitled  to  room   When  a  protest  is  found  invalid,  but  the  protest
               from L to pass to leeward of the obstruction, even if W   committee then wishes to proceed under rule 60.3(a)(1)
               could equally have passed to windward of it?       because  it  learns  of  serious  damage  from  the  invalid
                                                                  protest form, the requirements of rules 61 and 63 apply
               ANSWER 4                                           anew. The protest committee should have called a fresh
               Yes, if L passes to leeward of it.
                                                                  hearing with a new protest form, and notified Atom of
               QUESTION 5                                         the time and place of the hearing.
               When two boats are sailing overlapped off the wind and   Anina v Atom, Royal Dart Y.C.
               approach  a  moored  vessel  that  they  will  both  pass  to
               leeward if they hold their courses, but L then changes   RYA 2002/1
               course towards the  moored vessel,  must she then give   Rule 62.2, Redress
               room to W to pass to leeward of the moored vessel?
                                                                  When  a  boat  complains  in  writing  that  her  score  has
               ANSWER 5                                           been  adversely  affected  by  an  improper  action  of  the
               If L intends to pass to windward of the obstruction, she   protest committee, the protest committee shall treat this
               is entitled to room from W to do so, and W must keep   as a request for redress, even when it was lodged as an
               clear. If L is about to pass the obstruction to leeward, W   invalid request to reopen a hearing, For the request to
               may either choose to pass it to windward, in which case   succeed,  a  complainant  must  establish  an  improper
               rule 19 does not apply, or pass it to leeward as well, in   action or omission of the protest committee that made
               which case Q and A 4 apply.                        or might make significantly worse that boat’s score or
               Questions from Aldeburgh YC                        place in a race or series through no fault of her own.
                                                                  These are matters to be established during the hearing,
               RYA 2001/15                                        and every detail  supporting her claim need not  be set
               Rule 60.3(a)(1), Right to Protest; Right to Request   out  in  the  written  complaint  or  request,  although  the
               Redress or Rule 69 Action                          reason  for  the  request  must  be  stated.  However,  the
               Rule 63.1, Hearings: Requirement for a Hearing     scope of the hearing is to be limited to the essence of the
               Rule 63.2, Hearings; Time and Place of the Hearing;   complaint.
               Time for Parties to Prepare
                                                                  SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               When a protest committee learns from an invalid protest   At  the  Wayfarer  International  Championship,  on  a
               of  an  incident  that  may  have  resulted  in  injury  or   heavy-weather day, the protest committee gave redress
               serious damage and decides to protest a boat named as   in race 3 to four boats that claimed that they were given
               a  party  in  the  invalid  protest,  it  must  lodge  a  fresh   insufficient time after being released from the beach to
               protest  against  her,  and  she  is  entitled  to  new   reach  the  starting  area.  The  redress  was  the  average
               notification  of  the  new  hearing,  even  if  she  was  the   points  of  the  first  two  races  sailed  the  previous  day,
               protestee in the invalid protest and had been properly   when conditions were less onerous.
               notified  of  the  original  hearing  but  had  not  been   Another  boat,  Really  Random,  lodged  a  form  headed
               present.
                                                                  ‘Protest  Form  –  also  for  requests  for  redress  and
                                                                  reopening’  on  which  she  had  ticked  a  box  marked
                                                                  ‘Request by  boat …to reopen hearing’. She asked the

                                                              99
   94   95   96   97   98   99   100   101   102   103   104