Page 96 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 96

correct her error. If she continues to sail the course, later   Damage  includes  something  that  a  prudent  owner
               marks have a required side as if she had not made an   would  repair  promptly.  Damage  includes  damage  a
               error. However, when a boat begins to return to correct   boat causes to herself. Damage may be serious, even if
               an error, she resumes sailing the leg on which she made   both boats are able to continue to race.
               her error and all marks she has rounded or passed since   When a boat may have caused injury or serious damage
               making the error no longer have a required side. When
               her string is drawn taut, it will not catch on those later   in  breaking  a  rule  of  Part  2  or  rule  31  but  does  not
                                                                  retire, a protest against her is to be heard and decided
               marks,  which  become  relevant  again  only  when  her
               error  has  been  corrected,  after  which  they  must  be   on the basis of the appropriate rule. Only when she is
                                                                  found to  have broken such a rule and to  have caused
               rounded or passed correctly.
                                                                  injury  or  serious  damage  does  the  question  of
               Question from Minima YC                            compliance with rule 44.1(b) become relevant.
               RYA 2001/2                                         SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               Rule 2, Fair Sailing                               There was a pre-start collision between boats A and B.
               Rule 61.3, Protest Requirements: Protest Time Limit   Boat B took a two-turns penalty. Boat A protested. The
                                                                  protest  committee  disqualified  boat  B  under  rule
               When a boat believes that she may have broken a rule   44.1(b),  for  causing  serious  damage  and  not  retiring.
               and retires in compliance with the Basic Principle, she   The cost of repairing both boats was substantial, boat B
               may revoke her retirement within protest or declaration   having come out the worse with an exposed core and a
               time if she later realises that she did not in fact break a   displaced bulkhead. Both boats had completed the race
               rule.  However,  if  she  is  not  acting  in  good  faith,  she   and  a  further  race  that  day.  Boat  B  appealed,  on  the
               breaks rule 2, Fair Sailing.                       grounds that the cost of repairs alone did not constitute
               ASSUMED FACTS                                      serious damage if a boat was able to continue racing.
               Boat  A  lodged  a  protest  against  boats  B  and  C  for   DECISION
               sailing the wrong course. Boat B did not believe she had   B’s appeal is dismissed.
               done so, but ‘did the sportsmanlike thing’ and retired.
               Boat  C  did  not  retire.  Within  protest  time,  boat  A   The serious damage referred to in rule 44.1(b) includes
               checked  her  facts with the race  committee, and  found   damage a boat causes to herself as a result of breaking a
               that  her  protest  was  unjustified.  She  withdrew  her   rule of Part 2.
               protest against boat C.                            WS Case 19 gives some examples of questions to ask

               QUESTION                                           when  deciding  whether  there  is  damage.  It  also states
               Was boat B then entitled to ‘unretire’?            that  'It  is  not  possible  to  define  'damage'
                                                                  comprehensively'.  The  protest  committee  used  a
               ANSWER                                             different and widely-accepted criterion, which the RYA
               The rules are silent with regard to ‘unretiring’. When a   supports,  namely  whether  what  had  happened  to  the
               boat  retires  in  compliance  with  rule  44.1,  Penalties  at   boats was something that a prudent owner would repair
               the Time of an Incident:  Taking a Penalty,  for having   promptly, even though the boats were able to continue
               gained  a  significant  advantage  or  causing  serious   racing.  There  is  no  doubt  that  both  boats  required
               damage in the act of touching a mark or breaking a rule   prompt attention, and so there was damage.
               of Part 2, that is irrevocable.
                                                                  The  RYA  upholds  the  protest  committee's  conclusion
               When  a  boat  retires  for  some  other  reason,  as  in  this   that the damage was serious, based on both the extent
               case, and has indicated her retirement either to the race   and type of the damage and the cost of repairs to both
               committee  or  to  another  boat,  she  may  reverse  this   boats both in absolute terms and relative to the value of
               decision  before  the  end  of  protest  time  or  declaration   the boats. The fact that one or both boats can continue
               time,  whichever  is  earlier,  provided  that  she  has  not   racing does not preclude damage from being serious.
               broken  any  other  rule  in  the  meantime.  For  instance,
               retiring  during  a  race,  using  her  engine,  and  then   B’s  disqualification  was  stated  to  be  for  not  retiring.
               resuming racing would preclude ‘unretirement’.     Rule  44  cannot  be  broken.  Failure  to  take  the
                                                                  appropriate penalty under rule 44 opens a boat to being
               However,  if  she  has  no good reason to ‘unretire’, she   penalized  for  her  breach  of  the  relevant  right-of-way
               breaks  rule  2,  Fair  Sailing,  and  the  protest  committee   rule (or rule 31). When  a  boat protests under rule 44,
               should,  if  necessary,  extend  the  protest  time  limit  for   her protest is to be corrected and heard accordingly. If a
               any boats that did not proceed with a protest against her   party  to the  protest  is  found  to  have  broken  a  rule  of
               because of her initial retirement.                 Part  2  or  rule  31,  and  also  to  have  caused  injury  or
               Question from Royal Southampton YC                 serious damage (or gained a significant advantage), but
                                                                  had not retired, then the protest committee is to penalize
               RYA 2001/3                                         her for breaking the relevant rule of Part 2 or rule 31.
               Rule 14(b), Avoiding Contact                       The fact that a boat has caused injury or serious damage
               Rule 44.1(b), Penalties at the Time of an Incident:   and has retired does not prevent a protest being brought
               Taking a Penalty                                   against her and heard. The outcome, if unfavourable to
               Rule 64.1(a), Decisions: Penalties and Exoneration   a  boat  that  has  retired,  will  be  that  she  cannot  be
                                                                  penalized,  but  the  facts  found  can  lead  to  redress  for
                                                                  another boat.
                                                              96
   91   92   93   94   95   96   97   98   99   100   101