Page 95 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 95

charts that will show that the mark can be rounded only   caught  on  headlands,  passes  to  one  side  of  non-
               by looping it.                                     navigable shallows or prohibited areas, and follows the
                                                                  course of a river.
                                                 Starting area    To  decide  differently  might  sometimes  mean  that  a
                                                                  mark identified by the sailing instructions as a rounding
                                                                  mark  would  otherwise  have  to  be  looped,  requiring  a
                                                                  boat to cross her own wake.
                                                Oscar
                                                                  An  analogy  can  be  drawn  with  the  separate  and
                                                                  different  requirement  in  the  definition  Finish  to  cross
                                                                  the  finishing  line  from  the  course  side.  This  has  the
                    Rebbecks                                      effect of prohibiting ‘hook finishes’ in open waters, but
                                  Brownsea             Bell       where the race is on a river it is quite possible that the
                                    Island
                                                                  course of a river can result in the line being approached
                                                                  in the opposite direction from the rhumb line from the
                                                                  last mark. Here too, it is implicit that the direction of the
                                                                  course is constrained by physical geography.
               ASSUMED FACTS                                      Similar  situations  can  occur  with  a  sea  course  that
               The  Club  asked  questions  that  arose  from  a  protest   finishes within a harbour.
               where  the  time  limit  for  any  appeal  had  expired.  The
               sailing  instructions  required  all  marks  to  be  rounded.   QUESTION 4
               The course set included Rebbecks (S), Oscar (P), Bell   What  are  the  obligations  on  a  boat  when  a  rounding
               (S). The race committee had intended that Oscar was to   mark is laid close to the rhumb line from the previous
               have  been  a  passing  or  ‘boundary’  mark,  to  keep  the   mark to the next mark?
               race  away  from  the  starting  line  being  used  by  other   ANSWER 4
               boats.                                             If,  from  observations  afloat,  competitors  cannot  be
               QUESTION 1                                         expected to be sure on which side of the rhumb line it
               Were boats entitled to interpret the true intentions of the   lies,  then  a  competitor  who  does  not  loop  it  and  is
               race committee and not loop Oscar?                 protested should be exonerated if in fact it should have
                                                                  been looped.
               ANSWER 1
               No.  The  sailing  instructions  required  marks  to  be   However,  if  fixed  marks are used and  if  boats can  be
               rounded,  and  therefore the  only  correct  course was  to   expected  to  have  a  chart  on  board,  then  the  charted
               loop  Oscar.  The  fact  that  the  intentions  of  the  race   position  will  determine  whether  the  mark  has  to  be
               committee were to the contrary does not change this.   looped.
               QUESTION 2                                         Questions from Parkstone YC
               If a boat decided not to loop Oscar and was successfully
               protested, could she then seek redress?            RYA 2001/1
                                                                  Rule 28.1, Sailing the Course
               ANSWER 2                                           Rule 28.2, Sailing the Course
               For redress to he granted, there must be some improper
               act  or  omission  by  the  Race  Committee.  Requiring   A leg of a course does not end until the mark ending it
               Oscar to be looped was not automatically an improper   has been left on the required side. When a boat leaves a
               action of the race committee. If some boats elected not   mark on her wrong side, it is only at that mark that she
               to  round  Oscar,  were  successfully  protested  and  then   must  unwind  and  round  to  correct  her  course.  Her
               sought redress, then a protest committee  might rightly   course around any subsequent marks, between making
               regard the setting of such a course as an improper action   her  mistake  and  correcting  it,  is  not  relevant  to  the
               if it brought the fleet into conflict with other boats in the   ‘string test’.
               vicinity of the starting line. If some boats looped Oscar   ASSUMED FACTS
               and others chose not to do so for safety reasons, then it   A boat leaves a mark on her wrong side. She rounds one
               is possible that the only equitable redress  might be to   or more  further  marks correctly. She then realises  her
               abandon the race.                                  error.
               Further questions unrelated to the diagram:        QUESTION
                                                                  May she return directly to the mark concerned, there to
               QUESTION 3
               Must  the  string  referred  to  in  rule  28.2,  when  drawn   correct her mistake? Or must she first retrace her course
               taut, lie in navigable water only?                 via the other marks to unwind her string?

               ANSWER 3                                           ANSWER
               There is no direct guidance in the rule itself or in  WS   She may return directly to the mark concerned.
               cases. However, it would be curious for a boat’s wake   A leg has not been completed until the mark ending it
               to  be  regarded  as  passing  over  dry  land,  and  the   has been left on the required side. A boat that makes an
               pragmatic  interpretation of rule 28.2  is that the string,   error by leaving a mark on the wrong side will fail the
               when  drawn  taut,  lies  in  navigable  waters  only,  is   string test described  in rule 28.2 unless she returns to
                                                              95
   90   91   92   93   94   95   96   97   98   99   100