Page 93 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 93

the crew member of the right-of-way boat; thus rule 2   RYA 1999/7
               was not broken.                                    Rule 64, Decisions
               The  contact  was  an  infringement  of  rule  14,  but  rule   The decision of a protest committee may be altered only
               14(b)  explicitly  prohibits  the  right-of-way  boat  being   when a case is reopened or on appeal. It is not open to
               penalized  under  this  rule  when  the  contact  does  not   a  club  sailing  committee  to  change  a  protest
               cause injury or damage.                            committee’s decision.
               Jagga v Chalkhill Blue, Brighton Marina YC         SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
                                                                  Alchemist was OCS at the start of the Round The Island
               RYA 1999/6                                         Race.  She  tried  to  return  to  the  pre-start  side  of  the
               Rule 64.2, Decisions: Decisions on Redress         starting line, but was not seen by the race committee to
                                                                  have done so, and was given a finishing time penalized
               While  it  is  to  be  avoided  when  more  equitable
               arrangements  are  available,  abandonment  may,  very   by  a  5%  time  penalty,  as  permitted  by  the  sailing
               occasionally, be the least unfair option.          instructions.  She  requested  redress,  believing  that  she
                                                                  had returned correctly.
               A race officer cannot overrule a sailing instruction.
                                                                  The  protest  committee  found  that  she  had  tried  but
               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS                               failed  to  return  correctly.  Another  sailing  instruction
               In a youth event on a reservoir with 259 boats, parking   permitted the protest committee to waive any penalty if
               and launching arrangements were difficult. The Topper   it decided that a boat had broken a rule, other than a rule
               fleet of 111 had a single start, (warning signal scheduled   of Part 2, when the infringement had had no significant
               for  1130),  and  on  the  first  day  found  their  launching   effect  on  the  outcome  of  the  race.  Using  this  sailing
               delayed. A sailing instruction prohibited launching until   instruction, the protest committee, finding that she had
               a  black  ball  signal  was  lowered.  The  signal  was  still   not gained any advantage from her incorrect start, gave
               displayed at 1100.                                 Alchemist  redress  by  removing  the  5%  time  penalty
                                                                  from her finishing time.
               Just after 1100, a race official, realising that the black
               ball signal should have been removed, but unable to get   The sailing  committee of the club organizing the race
               this  done  promptly,  told  several  competitors  that  they   overruled this decision and disqualified Alchemist. She
               could now launch, and some did so. The black ball was   appealed.
               lowered at 1105. The race officer started the race five
               minutes  before  the  scheduled  time.  As  a  result,  many   DECISION
               boats were unable to reach the starting area in time for a   Alchemist’s appeal upheld:  she  is to be reinstated  into
               reasonable start and requested redress.            her finishing position.
                                                                  The  protest  committee  was  entitled  to  use  the  sailing
               The protest committee found that they had been affected
               by  the  race  committee  errors,  and  granted  redress  by   instruction  permitting  it  to  waive  the  penalty,  and  the
               abandoning the race.                               RYA sees no reason to question its decision.
               Walsdos  and  other  Toppers  requested  redress  in  their   Neither a race committee nor the sailing committee of a
               turn, asking for the race to be reinstated with individual   club  has  the  authority  to  overturn  the  decision  of  a
               boats  getting  some  other  form  of  redress.  This  was   protest committee. The race committee, as a party to the
               refused  and  Walsdos  appealed.  In  her  appeal  she   hearing, had the option to request a reopening (rule 66),
               suggested  that  the  sailing  instruction  prohibiting   or to appeal (rule 70.1). It did neither.
               launching  before  the  signal  was  lowered  had  been   Request for Redress by Alchemist, Island SC
               overruled by the action of the race official.
                                                                  RYA 1999/8
               DECISION                                           Rule 32.1(b), Shortening or Abandoning After the Start
               Walsdos’s appeal is dismissed.
                                                                  When  the  wind  falls  light  in  a  race  that  cannot  be
               While  it  is  to  be  avoided  when  more  equitable   shortened,  it  is  not  proper  for  the  race  committee  to
               arrangements  are  available,  abandonment  may,  very   abandon  until  it  is  unlikely  that  any  boat  will  finish
               occasionally, be the least unfair option.
                                                                  within the time limit. The possibility of a revival of the
               In this case, the launching problems were considerably   wind must be taken into account.
               aggravated by the start being made early and the effects   SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               of the race committee’s errors on the fleet (not just on   The  starting  and  finishing  line  for  a  handicap
               the boats seeking redress) are unquantifiable. The RYA   centreboard race was a transit from the shore, and there
               sees no grounds for overturning the protest committee’s   were no facilities for the race committee to go afloat to
               decision at the time in favour of some other imperfect   shorten at a mark. The race would have been finished
               arrangement. The applicant is not correct when he says   after three laps, and the time limit was two hours. The
               that the black ball signal had been overruled by the race   leading boat had sailed the first two laps in just over 20
               officer.  This  could  be  effected  only  by  a  change  to   minutes for each lap. The wind then dropped, and the
               sailing  instructions.  Any  earlier  launching  broke  this   leading boat made only limited progress in the next 25
               sailing  instruction,  and  any  boat  that  decided  not  to   minutes. Some boats chose to stop racing.
               launch until the signal was lowered was correct to wait.
               Request for Redress by Walsdos, Datchet Water SC
                                                              93
   88   89   90   91   92   93   94   95   96   97   98