Page 88 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 88

RYA 1996/5                                         cartridge. It was the practice of the race officer to give a
               Rule 18.1(c), Mark-Room: When Rule 18 applies      warning when a gun was to be fired such as ‘gun firing,
                                                                  ten seconds.’ CD, in Optimist 3777, was at the end of
               When a boat is clear ahead of another when she enters   the  line  nearest  to  the  committee  boat  in  a  good
               the zone at a mark and is then leaving the mark when   position. When the starting gun was fired, the wad hit
               the  other  boat  enters  the  zone,  it  is  only  the  rules  of   him between the eyes, his eyes were filled with dust and
               Sections  A  and  B  of  Part  2  that  apply  between  them   his nose was cut. As a result Optimist 3777 was late in
               when they meet. Rule 18 does not apply.
                                                                  starting and claimed redress under rule 62.1(a). Redress
                                                                  was  refused  to  her  on  the  grounds  that  the  race
                             A2       A1
                  A3                                              committee had made no error. She appealed.
                                                                  DECISION
                                              Wind
                                                                  Appeal upheld; Optimist 3777 is to be given redress by
                                                                  the protest committee.
                   A4
                                                                  Firing a gun over the stern of a committee boat when
                               B5                                 competitors could be expected to be in close proximity
                         A5                 To next mark
                                                                  was  a  badly-judged  action  of  the  race  committee  that
                                                                  injured the helmsman and made his score significantly
                                     B4
                                                                  worse  as  a  result.  Clearly,  no  fault  lay  with  the
                                                                  competitor.
                                            B3
                                                                  Race  committees  using  cannons  for  sound  signals  are
                                                                  advised to locate any cannon on the bow on the opposite
                                                                  side from the starting line, and, before firing and when
                                                  B2
                                                                  firing, the sound signaller should observe along the line
                                                                  of fire. If a boat or sail is close by and on the firing line,
                                                         B1       the  guns  should  not  be  fired.  Rule  26  allows  for  the
                                                                  absence of the sound signal of a starting signal.
               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS                               Request for Redress by Optimist 3777
               Two boats, A and B, approached a windward mark on
               starboard tack with A well ahead of B. A rounded the   RYA 1996/8
               mark, gybed onto port tack and  made contact with B,   Rule 61.1, Protest Requirements: Informing the
               still  sailing  close-hauled  for  the  mark.  B  protested.  A   Protestee
               was disqualified under rule 10.                    Rule 62.1(b), Redress
                                                                  Rule 63.1, Hearings: Requirement for a hearing
               A appealed on the grounds that  rule 18 applied  at the
               time of the incident; therefore, although she was on port   The phrase ‘an incident in the racing area’ covers the
               tack and B was on starboard tack, she was entitled to   period envisaged by the preamble to Part 2 when boats
               mark-room under the second sentence of rule 18.2(b) as   are subject to the racing rules.
               she had been clear ahead when she entered the zone.   A protest committee must hear a valid protest, even if
                                                                  there is no prospect of a boat being penalized.
               DECISION
               A’s appeal is dismissed.                           A  boat  that  is  seeking  redress  for  having  been
                                                                  physically damaged by a boat required to keep clear in
               At the moment when avoiding action became necessary,   an incident before she is racing is advised to protest as
               after A4-B4, A was already leaving the mark.       well as to ask for redress.

               Rule 18.1(c) states that rule 18 does not apply between   QUESTION 1
               such boats, and A was correctly disqualified for failing,   Does the phrase ‘an incident in the racing area’ in rule
               as  a  port-tack  boat,  to  keep  clear  of  a  starboard-tack   61.1  mean  that  the  requirement  to  display  a  red  flag
               boat.                                              applies to a boat that is not racing? Is a boat intending to
                                                                  race, but not yet racing in the defined sense, required to
               Chalkhill Blue v Jagga, Brighton Marina YC
                                                                  hail  and  display  a  protest  flag  when  she  wishes  to
               RYA 1996/6                                         protest?
               Rule 62.1(a), Redress                              ANSWER 1
               When  a  competitor  is  injured  or  hindered  through  no   Yes, except that a flag need not be displayed by a boat
               fault of his own by race committee equipment, his boat   of hull length less than 6 metres.
               is eligible for redress.                           QUESTION 2
               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS                               When  there  is  an  incident  that  occurs  after  a  boat’s
               Two  fleets  of  about  65-70  Optimists  each  were  to  be   preparatory  signal,  as  a  result  of  which  she  does  not
               started at five-minute intervals. The wind was force 3/4   start, when may she lower her protest flag?
               with a slight sea. The committee boat, stationed at the   ANSWER 2
               starboard end of the line carried two small cannon, one   When she takes action to retire, such as by leaving the
               on  each  quarter  facing  aft,  loaded  with  blank  shotgun   vicinity of the course.

                                                              88
   83   84   85   86   87   88   89   90   91   92   93