Page 83 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 83

leave the last mark of the course on the correct hand and   opportunity  to  take  evasive  action,  since  S  swung
               then finish in accordance with the definition.     directly  into  the  collision.  There  was  then  a  general
                                                                  recall.
               No  boat  sailed  the  course.  All  boats  broke  rules  28.1
               and  28.2.  This  resulted  from  the  act  of  the  race   The  protest  committee  found  that  ‘S  altered  course
               committee  in  setting  a  course  that  could  neither  be   abruptly  and  unexpectedly  giving  P  no  opportunity  to
               started nor finished, and in which the only way rule 28   keep  clear’,  thus  breaking  rule  16.1.  P  then  requested
               could  be  complied  with  at  the  end  of  each  lap  was   redress  under  rule  62.1(b)  and  was  awarded  average
               neither as it must have been intended, nor as any boat   points.  Although  S  was  exempt  from  penalization
               might  have  reasonably  expected.  All  boats,  including   because  of  rule  36,  she  appealed,  maintaining  that  P
               the appellant, appear to have made a reasonable attempt   should have expected boats that were on the course side
               to extract a sailable course from the instructions given.   of the line to try to return.
               No  boat  was  at  fault,  and  so  all  boats  are  entitled  to   DECISION
               redress from their technical liability to disqualification.   S’s appeal is dismissed.
               The  appellant  does  not  allege  that  the  slightly  greater
               distance  she  sailed  compared  with  the  protested  boats   The  RYA  sees  no  reason  to  alter  the  protest
                                                                  committee’s  decision.  S  was  a  right-of-way  boat  that
               affected her score.
                                                                  changed course. She did not give P room to keep clear.
               The case  is returned to the protest committee to  grant   P was not required to anticipate S’s action.
               redress.  The  protest  committee  may  consider  that  the
               most  equitable  redress  is  for  the  appellant  to  be   The  RYA  wishes  to  underline  the  importance  of  the
                                                                  correct  procedure  adopted  here  by  the  protest
               reinstated  in  her  actual  finishing  position,  and  for the
               resulting scores to constitute the result of the race.   committee.  When  there  is  a  protest  in  respect  of  an
                                                                  incident in a race that is then recalled or abandoned, the
               Scherzo of Brae v Selene and others, Royal Northern and Clyde YC   protest must be heard, so that facts are found and a boat
                                                                  that  has  broken  a  rule  is  identified,  even  though  she
               RYA 1993/5                                         cannot  be  penalized  because  of  the  provisions  of  rule
               Rule 16.1, Changing Course                         36.  When  such  facts  are  found,  the  protest  committee
               Rule 36, Races Restarted or Resailed               may  then  consider  and,  if  the  requirements  of  rule
               Rule 60.1, Right to Protest; Right to Request Redress or   62.1(b) are met, grant redress.
               Rule 69 Action
               Rule 62.1(b), Redress                              Challenger v Ayesha, Royal Northern and Clyde YC
               A give-way boat is not required to anticipate a right-of-  RYA 1993/6
               way boat's alteration of course.                   Rule 41, Outside Help
               While  rule  36  may  remove  the  possibility  of  a  boat   When a boat acts on potentially useful advice given by
               being penalized because the race was recalled, a boat is   an interested person, she receives outside help.
               entitled to have her protest heard. If it is found as a fact   SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               in the protest that the other boat broke a rule of Part 2,
               the  protest  committee  may  go  on  to  consider  whether   In  a  team  racing  event,  after  an  incident  between  GP
                                                                  and EK, EK started to get clear to take a penalty, but
               redress under rule 62.1(b) is applicable.
                                                                  before she did so she was hailed from the shore by the
                                                S1                team  coach  (under  a  misapprehension  that  a  sailing
                                                                  instruction permitted him to do so) and told to sail on.
                              Wind                                GP protested EK, which was penalized under rule 41 by
                                                                  the protest committee. EK appealed.
                                                                  DECISION
                                                                  EK’s appeal is dismissed.
                                          S2
                                                                  It  is  clear  that  EK  would  have  performed  her  penalty
                                                                  had not the team coach hailed her not to do so. Rule 41
                                                                  prohibits a boat from receiving outside help, except in
                               P1           P2                    four specific situations, none of which was applicable in
                                                                  this  case.  It  is  obviously  impossible  to  avoid  hearing
               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               About ten seconds before the starting signal of a race, P   advice  given,  and  a  competitor  may  be  fortunate
               was reaching along the starting line, approximately one   enough,  without  risk  of  penalization  under  rule  41, to
               length  on  the  pre-start  side  on  port tack.  Many  boats,   learn from the comments of spectators that his current
               close-hauled on starboard tack, were already over or on   intentions are not in his best interests.
               the line.                                          However, when specific advice is given by any person
                                                                  with  an  interest  in  the  matter,  and  acted  on  so  as  to
               About  five  seconds  before  the  starting  signal,  one  of
               these boats (S) bore sharply away to a run. At the point   improve a boat's finishing position, that is information
               of  dead  downwind,  she  found  the  gap  between  other   from  an  interested  source,  albeit  unsolicited,  which  is
               starboard tack boats blocked by P, and collided with her   clearly outside help that breaks rule 41.
               port  side,  causing  extensive  damage.  P  had  no   GP 13175 v EK22393, Southport SC

                                                              83
   78   79   80   81   82   83   84   85   86   87   88