Page 82 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 82

The protest committee found as a fact that the crew of B   proper care in establishing them. The protest committee
               touched the mark. There was adequate evidence for it to   applied rule 18.2(b) correctly to disqualify O.
               arrive at this conclusion and the RYA sees no reason to   Sunshine v Point Blank, Royal Thames YC
               question the protest committee's decision.

               Outside witnesses are not essential, although they may   RYA 1993/1
               help  a  protest  committee  to  decide  a  case.  In  many   Rule 28, Sailing the Course
               incidents the protestor and protestee are the only ones   Rule 62.1(a), Redress
               who  see  what  happens,  but  this  does  not  prevent  a   When a course set by the race committee is ambiguous,
               protest from being decided.                        so that all boats break, or appear to break, rule 28, they

               Solo 3591 v Solo 3583, Papercourt SC               are all entitled to redress.
               RYA 1992/9
               Rule 18.2(e), Mark-Room: Giving Mark-Room
               A  protest  committee  should  have  recourse  to  rule           A
               18.2(e) only when there is insufficient reliable evidence
               for it to decide the case otherwise.
               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               A collision took place at a mark between I (inside) and
               O (outside). The two boats were overlapped at five hull           Course sailed by appellant
               lengths from the mark; at four lengths it was agreed that
               O luffed and broke the overlap but it was re-established   Starting Line
               (I claimed) while O was bearing away for the mark, at   X
               which time she was still outside the zone. In protest and                          B
               counter-protest,  O  denied  I's  statement  that  I  had        Course sailed by 5 boats
               become overlapped again in proper time.
               The  protest  committee,  finding  that  I  had  become
               overlapped again in proper time and that O had failed to
               give  I  mark-room  under  the  first  sentence  of  rule
               18.2(b),  disqualified  O.  She  appealed,  on  the  grounds        C
               that  ‘the  onus  was  on  the  inside  boat  to  satisfy  the
               protest  committee  that  she  established  the  overlap  in
               accordance  with  rule  18.2(b);  not  on  the  protest   SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               committee trying to prove the situation through dubious   The relevant section of the sailing  instructions  for the
               conclusions drawn from the facts given by both parties.’   event stated: ‘cross line at the end of each round’; the
                                                                  starting  and  finishing  line  was  given  as  ‘between  the
               DECISION
               O’s appeal is dismissed.                           committee boat mast displaying a blue flag and X’
                                                                  On the notice board, the course set for a race was:
               A  protest  committee  begins  a  hearing  with  an  open
               mind. Evidence is then presented. Contrary to the views    X-A-B-C-X. All marks to starboard, 3 times round
               of  the  appellant,  statements  made  in  evidence  by  the
               parties and witnesses are not facts. When, having heard   Five boats (out of a fleet of six) sailed one course (solid
               the evidence, the protest committee  is reasonably sure   line),  the  sixth  another  (dotted  line).  The  sixth  boat
               of what happened, even though (as is usual) there was   protested the other five  for not sailing the  course, but
               conflicting  evidence,  it  will  state  what  it  believed  to   was  herself  disqualified  for  not  passing  through  the
               have happened as facts found, apply the rules to those   finishing line at the end of each round. She appealed.
               facts, and decide accordingly.                     DECISION

               When the protest committee is unsure about the facts, it   All six boats are entitled to redress.
               is  normally  the  protestee  that  gets  the  benefit  of  any   The course set included mark X as:
               doubt. However, rule 18.2(e) states that, in the special
               case of reasonable doubt that a boat obtained or broke   (a) a starting mark
               an overlap in time, it shall be presumed that she did not,   (b) the first and last rounding mark of each lap, and
               a  presumption  that  may  favour  either  protestee  or
               protestor.                                         (c) a finishing mark.

               While  this  was  a  case  involving  the  obtaining  of  an   Mark  X  could  not  be  both  a  starting  mark  and  the
               overlap,  it was not a case  involving reasonable  doubt.   purported first mark of the course. At the end of each
               The  protest  committee  was  satisfied  on  the  evidence   round,  the  only  way  the  course  could  have  been
               that  the  overlap  was  re-established  in  time,  and  rule   correctly  sailed,  if  at  all,  was  to  execute  a  360°  turn
               18.2(e) was not applicable. The RYA is satisfied with   around  mark  X,  leaving  it  to  starboard.  Indeed,  the
               the facts presented and that the protest committee took   course  might  have  been  interpreted  to  require  a  720°
                                                                  rounding  of  mark  X.  It  was  thereafter  impossible  to

                                                              82
   77   78   79   80   81   82   83   84   85   86   87