Page 79 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 79

by rule 21, since she was not then taking mark-room to
                                                                  which she was entitled.)
                                                                  Once  the  Laser  had  capsized,  rule  23  began  to apply,
                                                                  requiring  the  Dart  to  avoid  the  capsized  Laser,  if
                                    Dart 1
                                                                  possible.  Given  the  brief  interval  between  the  capsize
                                                                  and  the  collision,  avoidance  was  not  possible.  When
                                                                  rule 23  applies, rules of Section A such as rule 10 do
                                                                  not – see the preamble to Section D.
                                      Laser 1
                                                                  The Dart did not therefore break rule 23. She did break
                                                                  rule 10, but is exonerated under rule 21(a) because she
                       Dart 2
                                                                  was sailing within the room to which she was entitled
                                                                  under rule16.1.
                            Laser 2
                                                                  Dart 1907 v Laser 132108, Starcross YC
                                               Wind
                                               Force 4
                                                                  RYA 1990/7
                                                                  Rule 60.1(a), Right to Protest; Right to Request Redress
                                                                  or Rule 69 Action
                                                                  Rule 60.2(a), Right to Protest; Right to Request Redress
                  Dart 3                                          or Rule 69 Action
                                        To next mark
                                  Laser 3
                                                                  Rule 60.3(a), Right to Protest; Right to Request Redress
                                                                  or Rule 69 Action
                                                                  Rule 61.1(a), Protest Requirements: Informing the
                                                                  Protestee
               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS                               Rule 61.2, Protest Requirements: Protest Contents
               Two  boats  approached  a  port-hand  gybe  mark  on  a   Rule 62, Redress
               starboard-tack  reach.  When  she  entered  the  zone,  the
               Laser was clear ahead of the Dart, which was steering a   Rule 61.2 does not permit a protest committee to change
               course  further  from  the  mark  than  the  Laser’s.  The   a  request  for  redress  into  a  protest  against  a  boat.  A
               Laser gybed on to port tack within one boat-length of   protest by a boat must always comply with rule 61.1(a).
               the mark to assume her new course.
                                                                  SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               Immediately  the  Laser  had  gybed,  the  Dart  began  her   An incident occurred between Atlantis and Caprice, as a
               gybe at more than three hull lengths from the mark and   result of which Atlantis lodged a protest in which a third
               around two hull lengths from the Laser. On taking her   boat, Carina, was named as witness. Their hull lengths
               new course, the Laser, ahead and to weather of the Dart,   were  more  than  6  metres.  There  was  no  damage  or
               lost control. She skewed to starboard, gybed again onto   injury. The protest was lodged 15 minutes after the end
               starboard tack and capsized on to her port side so that   of  protest  time,  and  was  refused  as  the  protest
               she lay at right angles to the new course and across the   committee saw no good reason to extend protest time.
               bows of the Dart.                                  Next morning, Carina lodged a report which the protest
                                                                  committee  treated  at  first  as  a  request  for  redress,  in
               A  collision  took  place  about  2-3  seconds  after  the   which she stated that she had witnessed the incident and
               capsize in which the Laser suffered damage.  The Dart   alleged that Caprice had broken a rule of Part 2.
               protested the Laser. The protest committee disqualified
               the Dart under the second sentence of rule 18.2(b) for   The protest committee accepted the request for redress
               not giving the  Laser sufficient room to pass and gybe   as a valid protest under rule 60.1(a), extended the time
               considering the wind conditions and speed differences.   limit,  and  disqualified  Caprice  for  breaking  a  rule  of
               The Dart appealed.                                 Part 2. Caprice appealed.

               DECISION                                           DECISION
               The  Dart’s  appeal  is  upheld;  she  is  reinstated  and  the   Caprice’s appeal is upheld; she is to be reinstated into
               Laser is disqualified.                             her finishing position.

               The second sentence of rule 18.2(b) required the Dart to   Carina's  request  began:  ‘Under  rules  60.2(a)  and
               give mark-room to the Laser, which was clear ahead at   62.1(a)  I  wish  to  inform  the  race  committee  of  an
               the zone. It is clear that the Dart did so. That obligation   infringement  of  the  rules  in  race  3’.  That  amounted
               ended  when,  shortly  after  position  2,  the  Laser  no   merely to a report. It was not a valid request for redress,
               longer needed room to leave the mark on the required   as  it  did  not  include  any  allegation  that  the  race  or
               side. When the Laser then involuntarily altered course   protest committee had acted or omitted to act so as to
               and gybed, she became the right-of-way boat under rule   make  Carina's  score  significantly  worse.  The  report
               10. She did not give the Dart room to keep clear, and   came  from  a  competitor,  but  rule  60.2(a)  specifically
               broke  rule  16.1  before  her  capsize  and  before  the   prohibits a race committee from protesting as the result
               collision, for which she is to be penalized. The fact that   of  a  report  from  a  competitor,  as  does  rule  60.3(a)  in
               she was out of control does not excuse her breach – see   respect  of  the  protest  committee  in  the  absence  of  a
               case  RYA  1994/4.  (Had  her  loss  of  control  happened   report  of  injury  or  serious  damage;  hence  the  protest
               while at the mark, she would not have been exonerated
                                                              79
   74   75   76   77   78   79   80   81   82   83   84