Page 75 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 75

protest, which is within two hours  of the finish of the   A boat appearing alone at the start is entitled to sail the
               last  boat  in  the  race  in  which  the  race  or  protest   course  and  to  be  awarded  any  prize  unless  sailing
               committee  saw  an  incident  in  the  racing  area.  The   instructions  say  otherwise.  A  request  that  seeks  the
               protest was clearly invalid.                       correction  of  an  alleged  error  of  the  race  committee
                                                                  ranks  as  a  request  for  redress  even  if  it  does  not  use
               Race Committee v Tee Pee, Up River SC
                                                                  those words. If it is lodged promptly after the facts are
                                                                  known,  this  is  sufficient  good  reason  for  a  protest
               RYA 1989/8
               Rule 28.1, Sailing the Course                      committee to extend the normal time limit.
               Rule 63.1, Hearings: Requirement for a Hearing     SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               Appendix A5, Scores Determined by the Race         Imperator was the only entry in her class in the series in
               Committee                                          July. The starts of several classes were combined. There
               A  race  committee  is  not  allowed  to  disqualify  a  boat   was a prize for the combined results. Imperator finished
               without a hearing, except under the U Flag and Black   correctly in her races.
               Flag rules. A race committee is not allowed to score a   The race committee recorded ‘No Race’ for her series.
               boat DNF for failing to sail the course if she complies   When Imperator received the results the owners wrote
               with  the  definitions  Start  and  Finish.  A  protest  is   immediately  complaining  that  this  was  incorrect  and
               needed.                                            that Imperator was entitled to her points in these races.

               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS                               The race committee replied that since only one boat had
               A  Topper  failed  to  sail  the  course  that  the  race   come to the starting line there was a ‘no race’ situation.
               committee  believed  was  prescribed  in  the  sailing   After further correspondence Imperator lodged a formal
               instructions and was disqualified without a hearing. She   request  for  redress  in  October.  At  the  hearing  the
               immediately  requested  redress  but  was  refused  a   request  for  redress  was  found  to  be  invalid  and  an
               hearing.  A  similar  request  the  next  day  was  also   extension of the time limit was refused on the grounds
               refused. After a third request she received a letter from   that  there  had  been  unreasonable  delay  in  requesting
               a Flag Officer of the club to the effect that the request   redress.  At  the  class  meeting  in  October,  Imperator’s
               had been considered and rejected. The Topper had not   series was declared invalid and the decision to present
               been invited to be present.                        no prizes reaffirmed. Imperator appealed.
               A  request  was  made  to  re-open  the  case.  The  protest   DECISION
               committee agreed to the request and a hearing was held.   Imperator’s appeal is upheld, and she is to be awarded
               The protest committee decided that the disqualification   points for her finishing positions.
               was correct. After further vain attempts to get the case
               re-opened again, the Topper appealed.              Although the owners’ politely worded letter dated 23rd
                                                                  July did not contain the words ‘Request for Redress’ it
               DECISION                                           in fact met all the requirements for a request for redress,
               The  Topper’s  appeal  is  upheld  and  she  is  to  be   and well within a reasonable time  from the receipt of
               reinstated in her finishing position.              the results. It was, therefore, valid and should have been
               While  the  case  does  not  turn  on the  point, the  course   heard when received.
               was ambiguously described in the sailing instructions.   Rule J2.2(36) requires sailing instructions to state, if it
               A race committee is not empowered by any rule (other   applied,  the  minimum  number  of  boats  required  for  a
               than rule A5 for breaches of rules 30.3, 30.4 and 78.2)   race to be started. Failing any such statement - in this
               to  disqualify  a  boat  without  a  hearing.  Her   case there was none - a single boat may sail the course
               disqualification was therefore invalid.            and claim the prizes. Rule 90.3(a), which rule 86.1(b)
                                                                  says cannot be changed by sailing instructions, requires
               (Nor is it open to a race committee to score as DNF a   a race to be scored if only one boat finishes. Were this
               boat that finishes, as defined. In rule A5 the word Finish   not so, it might be possible, if the race were reduced to
               is printed in italics and is therefore to be used in strict   two  competitors,  for  one  of  them  to  manipulate  the
               accordance with  its defined  meaning. In this case, the   points by a timely refusal to start or to finish.
               Topper crossed the finishing line from the course side
               as intended by the race committee.)                The  race  committee  is  not  empowered  to  ignore  the
                                                                  Racing Rules of Sailing or the sailing instructions and
               Request for Redress by Topper 28057, Thorpe Bay SC   declare  the  series  invalid.  A  boat  that  has  sailed  the
                                                                  whole series without competition is entitled to the same
               RYA 1989/9                                         prizes as if she had beaten another boat.
               Rule 61.3, Protest Requirements: Protest Time Limit
               Rule 62.2, Redress                                 Request for Redress by Imperator, Royal Thames YC
               Rule 63.5, Hearings; Validity of the Protest or Request
               for Redress                                        RYA 1989/10
               Rule 90.3(a), Race Committee; Sailing Instructions;   Rule 62.1(a), Redress
               Scoring: Scoring                                   Rule 64.2, Decisions: Decisions on Redress
               Appendix J, 2.2(36), Notice of Race and Sailing    Redress may be given for a race committee's failure to
               Instructions: Sailing Instruction Contents         provide  suitably  equipped  marks.  In  cases  involving



                                                              75
   70   71   72   73   74   75   76   77   78   79   80