Page 76 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 76

errors by the race committee, it is a good principle that   Confronted with a much larger boat than herself, which
               any doubts be resolved in favour of the competitor.   was a keep-clear boat and not therefore, as defined, an
                                                                  obstruction,  A  avoided  a  collision  by  tacking.  In  so
               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS                               doing she broke rule 13 in respect of B but was required
               The outer limit mark of the finishing line was attached   to  do  so  by  rule  14,  was  compelled  to  do  so  by  C’s
               by  cordage  of  a  semi-floating  variety  which  was  too   failure to keep clear, and is therefore to be exonerated
               long  when  used  in  shallow  areas.  The  excess  was   under rule 64.1(a).
               usually tied into a bunch but it became loose.
                                                                  Skaggerak v Merlin Royal, Northumberland YC
               It produced an underwater hazard floating two to three
               yards to leeward of the mark and, with a flood tide, on   RYA 1989/13
               the course side of the finishing line. It was not visible to   Rule 2, Fair Sailing
               an  approaching  boat and several  boats were caught  in
               this tangle, hit the mark, took a one-turn penalty and re-  Use of standard, designed positions for equipment (e.g.
               crossed  the  line.  Only  one  boat,  Instant  Sunshine,   a spray hood) not restricted by class rules or the sailing
               requested redress, as the scores of the others were not   instructions  does  not  break  rule  2,  since  there  is  no
               affected. The protest committee, refusing redress, stated   clear-cut violation of the principle of sportsmanship.
               that  the  mark  and  ground  tackle  were  the  equipment   SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               used regularly as a finishing mark in that area and that   Squaw  was  sailing  on  a  twenty-mile  race.  During  the
               the length and type of warp was not unreasonable in the   downwind  leg of the course she sailed with  her  spray
               circumstances. Instant Sunshine appealed.          hood (with an approximate area of one square metre) in
               DECISION                                           the raised position. On the windward leg to the finishing
               Instant Sunshine’s appeal is upheld, and she is to be re-  line she sailed with the spray hood in the lowered position.
               instated  in  her  position  when  she  first  crossed  the   Squaw was protested under rule 2 and was disqualified:
               finishing line.                                    she appealed.
               Marks are laid for the benefit of competing boats and it   DECISION
               is important that ground tackle be arranged to minimise   Squaw’s appeal is upheld and she is to be reinstated into
               possibility  of  being  fouled  by  the  boats.  In  cases   her finishing position.
               involving  errors  by  the  race  committee,  it  is  a  good
               principle that any doubts  be resolved  in  favour of the   The  spray  hood  of  a  boat  is  a  standard  part  of  her
               competitor.                                        equipment.  When  fixed  normally,  hood  up  and  hood
                                                                  down  are  standard,  designed,  positions  for  this
               Request for Redress by Instant Sunshine, Poole YC
                                                                  equipment.  Further,  neither  class  rules  nor  the  sailing
                                                                  instructions  placed  any  restrictions  on  the  use  of  the
               RYA 1989/12                                        hood while racing.
               Definitions, Obstruction
               Rule 64.1(a), Decisions: Penalties and Exoneration   In  this  case  there  is  no  evidence  to  show  that  Squaw
                                                                  broke  any  class  rule  or  sailing  instruction,  nor  is  the
               A boat compelled by another boat to break a rule is to
               be exonerated. A keep-clear boat is not an obstruction.   evidence sufficient to show that she had been propelled
                                                                  by  an  abnormal  sail  since  it  was  not  necessarily
                                                                  abnormal to carry the hood in the raised position when
                               C2                                 sailing  downwind,  however  it  had  been  positioned
                                      A2           Wind           during upwind sailing.
                                             B2                   Rule  2  was  not  broken  since  there  was  no  clearly
                        C1
                                                                  established violation of the principles of sportsmanship.
                                                                  Krait v Squaw, West Kirby YC
                                            B1
                                  A1
                                                                  RYA 1990/1
                                                                  Rule 11, On the Same Tack; Overlapped

                                                                  Rule 15, Acquiring Right of Way
               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               Immediately after the start of a race, two Solings, A and   When a boat is obliged to change course to keep clear
               B,  were  close  hauled  on  starboard  tack  with  A   of another boat that has acquired right of way, she must
               overlapped to leeward and ahead. Unexpectedly, a 40ft   act  promptly,  since  a  right-of-way  boat  that  does  not
               boat,  C,  racing  on  port  tack,  crossed  A’s  path  on  a   change  course  is  required  only  initially  to  give  her
               collision course. A hailed C in vain, luffed and fell off   room to do so. After that, rule 15 does not apply.
               onto  port  tack.  This  manoeuvre  forced  B  to  tack  to
               avoid  a  collision  with  A.  At  the  end  of  the  race,  C
               retired  in  acknowledgement  of  breaking  rule  10.  B
               protested A under rule 13, for tacking too close to her.
               A was disqualified and appealed.
               DECISION
               A’s appeal is upheld and she is reinstated.

                                                              76
   71   72   73   74   75   76   77   78   79   80   81