Page 81 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 81

SUMMARY OF THE FACTS                               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               S, a Mustang 30, was sailing close-hauled on starboard   Samba was protested by another boat for being ‘out of
               tack. At about one hundred yards, she saw P, a J24, on   class’ in respect of several specific class measurement
               port tack on a collision course. As the boats closed, S   rules.
               hailed three times but P took no avoiding action until it   The  protest  committee  referred  the  matter  to  a  class
               was too late, when she bore away into S's port quarter
               approximately  ten  feet  from  the  transom.  When  there   association  measurer  who  was  present  at  the
                                                                  championship. After receiving his report it disqualified
               was  no  possibility  of  avoiding  P,  S  tried  to  tack  to
               minimise  the  damage  but  a  collision  occurred  which   her for not complying with class rules. She appealed on
                                                                  the grounds, among others, that the class measurer had
               caused S to retire.
                                                                  competed in the regatta.
               The protest committee disqualified P under rule 10 and   DECISION
               S under rule 14 stating that it believed that S ‘by earlier
               action  could  have  avoided  the  collision’  S  appealed,   Samba’s appeal is dismissed.
               stating that since a J24 was a very manoeuvrable boat it   The protest committee misdirected itself when it took a
               was only at a very late stage that it became clear that P   class  measurer  who  happened  to  be  present  as  the
               was  not  taking  sufficient  action;  that  the  faces  of  the   ‘authority responsible for interpreting the rule’ referred
               crew aboard the J24 were clearly visible so that she had   to in rule 64.3(b). This  is so only when that authority
               reason to believe P was aware of the situation, and that   has previously specifically appointed such a person for
               conditions were not so rough as to cause loss of control   the event. In the case of the class concerned, the class
               by either boat. S could indeed, the appellant stated, have   rules  state that the  authority  for  deciding  questions  of
               avoided the situation altogether by tacking at an earlier   deviation  from the design  is the  class committee. The
               stage; however, she did not believe it was the intention   protest  committee  was,  however,  correct  to  seek
               or spirit of the rules that a port-and-starboard incident   evidence  from  anyone  it  believed  could  contribute  to
               be resolved by S tacking to avoid P.               resolving the case,  including a class  measurer, despite
                                                                  the fact that he was a competitor.
               DECISION
               S’s  appeal  is  upheld,  and  the  case  is  returned  to  the   Having  received  that  evidence,  the  protest  committee
               protest committee for it to award redress to S.    should then first have decided whether it was in doubt
                                                                  about  the  meaning  of  the  class  rules.  If  there  was  no
               The collision between S and P resulted  in damage, so
               the protest committee was correct to consider rule 14.   doubt, it was able to decide the case. If there was doubt,
                                                                  it was then that the matter would have had to be referred
               A port-tack boat may steer a course to pass close astern   for  a  binding  interpretation  to  the  ‘responsible
               of  a  starboard-tack  boat  without  breaking  rule  10.   authority’ - the class committee.
               However, P may not take avoiding action so late that S
               is  thrown  into  the  quandary  of  holding  her  course  in   In this case, the evidence before the protest committee
                                                                  proved  beyond  doubt  that  that  Samba  broke  the  class
               accordance with rule 16 or trying to avoid the collision
               in accordance with rule 14. The protest committee was   measurement  rules,  and  she  was  rightly  penalized
                                                                  without  the  need  to  refer  the  matter  to  the  class
               therefore correct in disqualifying P under rule 10.
                                                                  association.
               Turning to S’s situation, it is a truism that, had S taken   Requiem for Woodwind v Samba, Essex YC
               earlier avoiding action, a collision would not have taken
               place,  but,  under  rule  14(a),  S  may  hold  her  course,   RYA 1992/7
               presuming that P will keep clear, until it is clear that she   Rule 63.6, Hearings: Taking Evidence and Finding
               is not doing so. In this case, S held her course until the   Facts
               first moment it was clear that a collision was about to
               occur, at which point she changed course in an attempt   When there is no other evidence, the protest committee
               to avoid or at least minimise the effects of the collision.   is  entitled  to  reach  a  decision  on  the  evidence  of  the
               Even though her effort was unsuccessful, it was carried   protestor and protestee alone. An additional witness is
               out no later than required by rule 14(a).          desirable but not essential.
               Another Dram v Gossip, Warsash SC                  SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
                                                                  A protested B under rule 31 because she believed she
               RYA 1992/2                                         saw the crew's  back touch a  mark. A  hailed B to that
               Rule 64.3, Decisions: Decisions on Protests Concerning   effect but B did not take a penalty.
               Class Rules
                                                                  The  protest  committee  disqualified  B  for  hitting  the
               When  a  protest  committee  is  not  in  doubt  about  the   mark,  stating  that  A  had  a  clear  view  and  that  B
               meaning of a measurement rule, there is no reason to   possibly was not aware of what had occurred.
               send questions to the relevant authority.
                                                                  B  appealed  on  the  ground  that  without  an  outside
               A  class  measurer  is  not  the  authority  responsible  for   witness  to  confirm  that  the  mark  had  been  hit  it  was
               interpreting  a  class  measurement  rule  when  the  class   incorrect to penalize her.
               rules state otherwise, but may give evidence to assist a
               protest committee to interpret a measurement rule.   DECISION
                                                                  B’s appeal is dismissed.


                                                              81
   76   77   78   79   80   81   82   83   84   85   86