Page 85 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 85

sighting the starting line is better placed than any   an announcement that there was plenty of time to get to
               competing boat to decide whether a boat was over the   the starting area. Both junior and senior fleets began to
               line at the starting signal and, if so, whether she   leave, and GBR 4073 tallied out nearly last. When she
               returned and started correctly.                    arrived  at  the  starting  line  the  preparatory  flag  was
                                                                  already  displayed.  She  requested  redress  because  she
                                                                  had been unable to make a good start, and had had an
               ASSUMED FACTS                                      indifferent result.
               Keelboats were starting on a 300 metres start line
               between the masts of two committee vessels. At the   The  protest  committee  found  that  there  had  been
                                                                  nothing  in  the  tally  system  to  prevent  GBR  4073
               starting signal, the race officer judged three boats to be
               over the line. Flag X was promptly displayed with a   leaving  the  shore  earlier;  that  the  junior  fleet  was  the
                                                                  last to leave; that boats started to arrive at 16 minutes to
               sound signal. The assistant race officer, in the other
               committee vessel, confirmed the identity of the three   the  start;  that  GBR  4073  had  arrived  at  the  start  2½
                                                                  minutes  before  the  gun;  that  it  took  approximately  2
               boats and that they had not returned and restarted
               correctly. All three boats were scored OCS. One of   minutes to sail from one end of the line to the other. The
                                                                  protest committee decided that a period of less than five
               these three boats completed the course and finished
               first. On learning that she had been scored OCS, she   minutes  was  insufficient  to  allow  a  competitor  to
                                                                  prepare  for  a  start.  Having  left  the  shore  amongst the
               requested redress, maintaining that she had returned and
               started correctly. She called as witnesses two other   last,  she  did  not  arrive  at  the  line  until  after  the
                                                                  preparatory signal. The requirements of rule 62.1 were
               competitors who had been close by and who believed
               that she had returned and started correctly.       satisfied. However, the only  equitable decision  was to
                                                                  let the result stand.

               QUESTION 1                                         GBR 4073 appealed, on the grounds that, harm to her
               May the decision of a race officer that a boat has not   finishing  position  having  been  established,  she  should
               started or restarted correctly be overruled on the basis of   have been awarded average points.
               other evidence? If so, in what circumstances?
               ANSWER 1                                           DECISION
               Yes, if the protest committee is satisfied on the weight   GBR 4073’s appeal is dismissed.
               of the evidence that the race officer was not watching   Based on the facts found, the protest committee should
               while the boat was crossing the start line or carrying out   have  dismissed  the  request  for  redress.  No  improper
               the returning manoeuvre, or was mistaken as to the   action  by  the  race  committee  was  established.  In
               identity of the boat.                              addition,  it  is  clear  that  GBR  4073  was  in  part  the
                                                                  author  of  her  own  misfortune  in  arriving  late  at  the
               QUESTION 2                                         starting line when there was nothing to prevent her from
               In assessing the weight of evidence in such a case,   arriving earlier. Furthermore, her race result could not
               should the protest committee attach more weight to that   be directly linked to the situation at the start.
               of the race officer?
               ANSWER 2                                           It follows that GBR 4073 should continue to retain her
               The evidence of the race officer, who is in the best   result for the race concerned.
               position to judge, is more reliable.               Request for Redress by Optimist GBR 4073, Clyde Cruising Club


               QUESTION 3                                         RYA 1994/10
               If the issue is simply whether a boat was ‘over’ the   Rule 3.1(a), Acceptance of the Rules
               starting line, or whether it had ‘wholly’ returned, is a   When  a  sailing  instruction  requires  a  measurer  at  an
               person who was not in a position to sight along the line
               a competent witness?                               event  to  check  within  a  required  time  that  a  sail
                                                                  limitation has been complied with, and when this is not
               ANSWER 3
               See Answer 2. A race officer sighting directly along the   done,  this  does  not  relieve  the  competitor  from  the
                                                                  obligation to comply with the sail limitation.
               line at all relevant times is in the best position to make
               such a judgement.                                  SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
                                                                  Laser  II  8600  was  protested  for  using  more  than  one
               Questions from South Caernarvonshire Y C
                                                                  spinnaker  during  the  regatta  contrary  to  Sailing
                                                                  Instruction 8 that read:
               RYA 1994/9
               Rule 62.1, Redress                                     BOATS AND EQUIPMENT
                                                                      a)  All  competitors  shall  use  only  one  hull,  mast,
               Redress is not  available for a boat  that is in  part  the   boom,  centreboard  and  rudder.  Only  one  suit  of
               author of her own misfortune.                          sails shall be used which shall be identified by the
               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS                                   measurer before the second points race.
               The helmsman of Optimist GBR 4073 arrived in good      b)  In  the  event  of  damage,  boats  and  equipment
               time at Largs Sailing Club for the junior fleet race. He   may only be substituted with the written permission
               then  changed  into  his  wet  suit  and  rigged  the  boat.   of the Principal Regatta Measurer.
               When competitors were allowed to go afloat, there was

                                                              85
   80   81   82   83   84   85   86   87   88   89   90