Page 86 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 86

The protest committee found that Laser II 8600 changed   those eligible to re-start race 2 were displayed, and the
               her spinnaker without authorisation in races 3, 4 and 5   competitors informed of this orally by the race officer.
               of the series. She was disqualified from races 3, 4 and 5.   Thus  the  sail  numbers  of  nos.  424  and  430  were  not
                                                                  displayed on the board. They restarted the race and were
               Laser II 8600 then requested redress on the grounds that   scored  DNE  by  the  race  committee.  They  requested
               she  had  not  had  her  sails  inspected  before  the  second   redress.
               points  race,  and  that  the  race  committee  had  later
               required competitors to sign a declaration that they had   The  protest  committee  decided  that  redress  was  due,
               complied with Sailing Instruction 8, thus appearing to   and that, in the light of great confusion at the start, the
               admit  that  inspection  procedures  at  the  event  were   most  suitable  redress  was  the  abandonment  of  race  2,
               inadequate  and  mismanaged.  Laser  II  8600  was   which  would  not  be  resailed.  After  this  decision,  no.
               therefore, she claimed, unfairly disqualified in races 3, 4   420  lodged  an  appeal  on  the  grounds  that  the  protest
               and 5  because the  inspection procedure was not up to   committee erred in abandoning race 2. Some boats had
               the standard expected at an event of this quality and she   completed it correctly and were entitled to their points;
               had been prejudiced thereby. In addition, before race 5,   the  protest  committee's  action  had  penalized  these
               she  had  received  permission  from  the  measurer  to   boats.
               change her spinnaker and ‘the error was therefore more
               that of the organizers than of her skipper’.       DECISION
                                                                  RS 400 420’s appeal is refused.
               The protest committee then granted redress to the extent
               that Laser II 8600 was reinstated in race 5 only. Laser II   The decision  may or may  not have  made  the score or
                                                                  place of RS400 420 worse, but she was not a party to
               8600 appealed against her penalization in races 3 and 4.
                                                                  the redress hearing as described in the definition Party.
               DECISION                                           Therefore, she had no right of appeal under rule 70.1(a).
               Laser II 8600’s appeal is dismissed.
                                                                  As soon as she learned of the abandonment, RS400 420
               Two separate issues were raised by this appeal: firstly,   should have herself requested redress, claiming that the
               that  of  a  competitor  changing  a  sail  without  seeking   decision to abandon the race was improper and that it
               prior  approval  of  the  event  measurer;  and,  secondly,   adversely affected her score. If she  had  not then  been
               whether the failure of the race committee to inspect all   given  the  redress  she  believed  was  due  to  her,  she
               the  boats  as  required  by  the  sailing  instructions  was   would have been entitled to appeal – see WS Case 55.
               prejudicial to the competitors.
                                                                  Appeal by RS400 420, Hayling Island SC
               Laser  II  8600  was  clearly  in  breach  of  SI  8(b)  by
               changing her spinnaker without prior approval, and she   RYA 1996/1
               admitted that this was so. However, it was only when a   Part 2, Section D Preamble
               protest  was  imminent  that  she  sought  the  measurer's   Rule 24.1, Interfering with Another Boat
               permission to change her sail. The failure of the event
               measurer to identify all the sails in accordance with SI   The rules of Section A of Part 2 still apply when rule 24
               8(a) does not nullify the appellant’s breach of SI 8(b).   applies, and a port tack boat that is racing must keep
                                                                  clear of a starboard tack boat that has been racing,
               The failure to complete inspection in time is regrettable.   independently of the obligation on the starboard tack
               However,  since  inspection  at  events  is  a  checking   boat not to interfere with a boat that is racing.
               process,  it  does  not  remove  the  obligation  of  every
               competitor  to  comply  with  sailing  instructions,  which
               are rules governing the  event that a boat agrees to be                        A2
               governed by when participating in the race.                   Wind  B2
               Laser II 9331 v Laser II 8600, Fowey Gallants SC                          A1
                                                                                                  S1
                                                                             B1            S2
               RYA 1995/3
               Definitions, Party                                                C1    C2
               Rule 70.1(a), Appeals and Requests to a National
               Authority

               A  boat  whose  score  or  place  in  a  race  or  series  may
               have  been  made  significantly  worse  as  a  result  of   SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               redress sought by and given to other boats is not a party   S,  close-hauled  on  starboard  tack,  was  on  a  collision
               to the hearing, and so does not have the right to appeal   course with A, close-hauled on port tack. The two boats
               against the decision: her remedy is first to seek redress   were racing in different races: A, followed by B and C,
               herself.                                           were coming through the starting line at the start of a
                                                                  new lap as part of their course, while S’s race had been
               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS                               started  and  then  recalled  about  20  seconds  before  the
               During  the  RS400  National  Championships  rule  30.4,   incident.
               Black  Flag  rule,  was  in  force  for  the  start  of  race  2,
               which was then recalled. So many boats were over the   S bore sharply away to avoid a collision with A, then
               line, including nos. 424 and 430, that it was not possible   avoided B, the next boat behind her but collided with C,
               to  display  their  sail  numbers.  Instead,  the  numbers  of   causing damage that caused C to retire. C tried to avoid

                                                              86
   81   82   83   84   85   86   87   88   89   90   91