Page 87 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 87

the collision but in vain. Boat A sailed a steady course   No  rule  exempted  C  from  the  requirement  for  a  boat
               throughout, hailing S that there was a general recall of   over  6m  hull  length  wishing  to  protest  to  display  a
               S’s race and that she (A) had right of way.        protest flag at the first reasonable opportunity in respect
                                                                  of  an  incident  not  involving  her  that  she  saw  in  the
               S  and  C  lodged  protests.  The  protest  committee   racing area. Her protest was invalid.
               disqualified  A  and  C  for  breaking  rule  10.  Boat  A
               appealed.                                          395 v 398, RYA Olympic Qualifier
               DECISION                                           RYA 1996/4
               A’s  appeal  is  dismissed.  The  disqualification  of  C  is   Rule 32.2, Shortening or Abandoning after the Start
               reversed  and  the  protest  committee  is  to  give  her   Race Signals
               redress.
                                                                  A sound signal  made  when a boat crosses a finishing
               The rules of Part 2 applied to all boats, since they were   line is only a courtesy. It has no bearing on the race. A
               either  racing,  or  had  been  racing.  The  preamble  to   race  committee  cannot  shorten  course  without  the
               Section  D  of  Part  2  states  that  when  rule  22  or  23   appropriate signal.
               applies  between  two  boats,  Section  A  rules  do  not.  It
               follows  that  when  rule  24,  also  a  Section  D  rule,   SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               applies, the right-of-way rules in Section A still apply.   After  rounding  the  penultimate  mark  of  the  course,
               In addition rule 24.1 does not require a boat that is not   Stampede,  in  Class  1,  noticed  a  fast  committee  boat
               racing to ‘keep clear’. However, the preamble to Part 2   station  herself  at  that  mark  and  shorten  course  for
               does  allow  for  the  penalization  under  rule  14(b)  of  a   subsequent  classes.  Class  1  could  not  be  shortened  at
               boat not racing when the incident results in damage.   that  mark  as  Stampede  had  already  rounded  it.
                                                                  Stampede  expected  therefore,  that  the  Class  1  course
               It follows that A’s obligation under rule 10 was in force   would be shortened by the main committee boat at the
               and she was required to keep clear. This she  failed to   next  mark,  which  was  Poole  Fairway  buoy,  the  last
               do,  and  was  correctly  disqualified.  Had  she  tacked  or   mark of the course.
               borne  away,  keeping  clear  of  S,  she  could  then  have
               protested  S  under  rule  24.1.  S,  trying  to  fulfil  her   Stampede approached Poole  Fairway  buoy and passed
               obligation under rule 24.1, bore away to go astern of A,   between the buoy and the committee boat. She heard a
               a manoeuvre that finally resulted in a collision between   sound  signal,  believed  she  had  finished  and  stopped
               S  and  C  resulting  in  damage..  This  was  due  to  A’s   racing. However the race committee did not display flag
               failure to fulfil her obligation under rule 10, and despite   S nor did it make two sound signals. No other Class 1
               S’s prompt attempts to do so, it was not possible for her   boat  reached  Poole  Fairway  buoy,  let  alone  the
               to avoid contact with C. Whether S infringed rule 16, or   designated  finishing  line, within the time  limit and  so
               C rule 10, or both, both boats are exonerated, S under   the race was abandoned.
               rule  64.1(a)  and  C  under  rule  21(a).  Since  C  was   Stampede asked for redress on the grounds that the race
               damaged and had to retire, the protest committee is to   committee  had  signalled  a  shortened  course  with  a
               act under rule 60.3(b) to consider redress for C.
                                                                  finishing  line  between  the  committee  boat  and  Poole
               Rampallion  v  Down  Under  and  Lingo,  Lingo  v  Rampallion,  Royal   Fairway  buoy,  that  she  had  finished  properly  on  that
               Western Yacht Club of England                      line  within  the  time  limit  and  that  she  had  received  a
                                                                  finishing signal.
               RYA 1996/2
               Rule 61.1(a), Protest Requirements: Informing the   Her  request  was  refused  on  the  grounds  the  race
               Protestee                                          committee  had  not  shortened  the  course,  and  no  boat
                                                                  crossed  the  finishing  line  designated  in  the  sailing
               When a boat sees an incident between two other boats   instructions  before  the  time  limit  expired.  One  sound
               in the racing area and wishes to protest one or both of   signal had been made in error as Stampede passed Poole
               them, she must display a protest flag, when applicable,   Fairway  buoy  but  this  in  no  way  affected  her  score.
               at the first reasonable opportunity after the incident.   Stampede appealed.

               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS                               DECISION
               During  a  race  there  was  an  incident  between  boats  A   Stampede’s appeal is dismissed.
               and B. A hailed ‘Protest’ and flew her protest flag; but
               she  lodged  the  protest  late,  and  the  protest  committee   It  is  nowhere  written  either  in  the  rules  or the  sailing
               found  that  it  was  invalid.  When  this  result  was   instructions  that  a  single  sound  signal  denotes  that  a
               announced, boat C, which had been close by at the time   boat has finished; such signals are by courtesy only. It is
               of the incident, protested boat A under rule 13. Boat C,   clear  that,  whether  it  intended  to  or  not,  the  race
               whose  hull  length  was  more  than  6  metres,  had  not   committee did not signal a shortened course.
               displayed a protest flag.                          Furthermore, it is evident from Stampede's own account
               The protest committee found C's protest to be invalid,   that she had no expectation of finishing the full course
               and she appealed.                                  within the time limit. No action of the race committee
                                                                  prevented Stampede from getting a score for a finishing
               DECISION                                           position.
               C’s appeal is dismissed.
                                                                  Request for Redress by Stampede, Poole YC


                                                              87
   82   83   84   85   86   87   88   89   90   91   92