Page 92 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 92

Waverider v 527 and 4 other boats; Request for Redress by   RYA 1999/4
               Waverider, Lymington Town SC
                                                                  Rule 62.1(a), Redress
                                                                  A boat that believes she has been adversely affected by
               RYA 1999/3                                         a mistake of the race committee, but which chooses not
               Rule 3.1(a), Acceptance of the Rules               to race or to continue racing although able to do so, is
               Rule 63.1, Hearings: Requirement for a Hearing     not  without  fault,  since  she  contributes  to  her  own
               Rule 76.1, Exclusion of Boats or Competitors       worsened score, and so is not entitled to redress.
               By  participating  in  a  race,  a  competitor  agrees  to  be   SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               governed by the rules, as defined, despite any assertion   The watch used by the race officer to start the race was
               to the contrary.                                   some  3  -  5  minutes  fast,  and  so  the  race  was  started
               A  race  committee  cannot  disqualify  a  boat,  except  as   before its advertised time, in very light airs.  Blue was
               permitted  by  Appendix  A5  for  breaches  of  rules  30.3,   not able to reach the starting line for her starting signal.
               30.4 and 78.2.                                     She  would  have  been  able  to  do  so  if  the  race  had
               To reject or cancel the entry of a boat in a series under   started  at  the  correct  time.  Other  boats  were  able  to
               rule  76,  the  organizing  authority  or  race  committee   make  a  satisfactory  start.  Blue  did  not  try  to  start,
               must do so before the first race of the series.    returned to the shore, was scored DNS, and asked  for
               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS                               redress, which was refused. She appealed.
               SI 14, Safety Regulations, placed the responsibility for a   DECISION
               boat’s safety on the boat. The owner of Shock believed   Blue’s appeal is dismissed.
               that the course set by the race committee was dangerous
               and wrote to the organizing club saying that he would   The  race  officer  made  a  mistake,  which  affected  only
               hold  the  club  liable  for  any  damage  to  his  boat.   Blue.  Any  prejudice  that  might  have  resulted  became
               Nevertheless Shock started and completed the race, but   irrelevant when, rather than sail the course, Blue made
               was disqualified by the race officer and not awarded a   no attempt to race and elected to return ashore. For the
               finishing  time.  The  race  committee  lodged  no  written   purposes of rule 62.1, she was  not without fault, as  it
               protest,  nor  did  it  explain  the  reasons  for  the   was  she  that  had  deprived  herself  of  a  score  for  a
               disqualification. Shock requested redress.         finishing position.

               After a hearing, the protest committee decided that, as   Request for Redress by Blue, Pwllheli SC
               the owner’s letter purported to repudiate acceptance of a
               specific  safety  sailing  instruction,  Shock’s  race  entry   RYA 1999/5
               had  been  invalidated.  She  had  therefore  not  been   Definitions, Keep Clear
               eligible to race. The protest committee refused redress   Rule 2, Fair Sailing
               and, invoking rule 76, reclassified Shock as DNS. Shock   When  a  give-way  boat  is  already  breaking  a  rule  of
               appealed.                                          Section  A  of  Part  2  by  not  keeping  clear,  deliberate

               DECISION                                           contact does not necessarily break rule 2.
               Shock’s  appeal  is  upheld:  she  is  to  be  reinstated  and   SUMMARY
               given her finishing time and position.             Before the starting signal, two boats were reaching on

               The race committee disqualified Shock under rule 76   starboard tack toward the committee vessel at the end of
               without protesting her. Rule A5 permits a race     the  starting  line.  L  established  her  leeward  overlap
               committee to disqualify a boat without a hearing for a   when there was room for W to keep clear. W made no
               breach of rules 30.3, 30.4 and 78.2. Except in these   attempt to keep clear. L’s crew leaned out and touched
               circumstances a race committee has no powers to score   an  item  of  W’s  equipment  which  was  in  its  normal
               a boat DSQ on its own initiative. Rule 76 permits an   position. L protested W. L’s evidence was that her crew
               organizing authority or race committee to reject or   had  touched  W  to  prove  that  W  was  too  close  to  be
               refuse an entry, but not to disqualify a boat, and a race   described as keeping clear.
               committee or organizing authority wishing to use rule   The protest committee found that W had broken rule 11
               76 must, in a series, act before the first race of that   and  disqualified  her.  It  also  found  that  L  had  broken
               series.                                            rule 2 by making deliberate contact with W, citing WS
                                                                  Case 73. W appealed.
               The protest committee reclassified  Shock  as DNS, but
               DNS (like DNC and DNF) is a statement of fact, and in   DECISION
               this case not appropriate since Shock started.     W’s appeal is dismissed: however, L is to be reinstated.
               Rule  3.1(a)  states  that  by  participating  in  a  race  each   In WS Case 73, W was keeping clear, so that L’s action
               competitor agrees to be governed by the rules. ‘Rule’ is   in  deliberately  touching  her  could  have  had  no  other
               a  defined  term  that  covers,  in  detail,  all  documents   intention  than  to  cause  W  to  break  rule  11.  In  the
               governing  an  event.  When  a  competitor  races,  he   present case, the protest committee was satisfied that W
               signifies that he agrees with the conditions of entry. By   was  already  not  keeping  clear,  as  defined,  before
               racing,  Shock’s  owner  accepted  the  entry  terms  and   contact  occurred  (even  though  there  was  no  contact
               Shock was entitled to a result.                    between the hulls or equipment of the boats) and so W
                                                                  was already breaking rule 11 when contact was made by
               Request for Redress by Shock, Guernsey YC

                                                              92
   87   88   89   90   91   92   93   94   95   96   97