Page 94 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 94

At that point, the race officer signalled an abandonment   After  the  resailed  race,  Bones  Jones  again  requested
               from the shore flag mast, out of sight and earshot of the   redress, this time on the grounds that ff2278, which had
               fleet, which continued racing. The wind picked up, and   not sailed the original race, had been allowed to sail in
               the remaining boats crossed the finishing line within the   the  rescheduled  race,  and  because  the  resail  date  had
               time limit. The boat that would have won on handicap   been  impossible  for  herself  (Bones  Jones)  because  of
               asked  for  redress,  which  was  refused  on  the  grounds   boat  damage.  The  protest  committee  held  the  resailed
               that  the  decision  of  the  race  officer  to  abandon  was   race  to  be  invalid  for  the  reasons  asserted  by  Bones
               correct  at the  time  he  made  it.  The  protest  committee   Jones and abandoned it. It then gave redress of average
               referred its decision to the RYA.                  points to those boats that raced in the first race, in which
                                                                  ff2278 had not started.
               DECISION
               The decision of the protest committee is not confirmed,   The race committee appealed.
               and  the  case  is  returned  to  the  protest  committee  to
               grant redress.                                     DECISION
                                                                  The race committee’s appeal is upheld: the results of the
               When  the  race  was  abandoned,  there  were  still  55   race  held  on  29th  August  are  to  stand,  including  the
               minutes for the leading boat to sail less than a lap that   result of ff2278.
               had  previously  been  sailed  in  just  over  20  minutes,
               which  would  have  resulted  in  finishing  places  for  all   The decision by the protest committee to resail the first
                                                                  race is not the subject of this appeal and is therefore to
               other boats that finished – see rule 35. It could not have
               properly been said at that moment that it was unlikely   be accepted.
               that any boat would finish within the time limit, since   In  deciding  the  claim  for  redress  by  Bones  Jones, the
               there was sufficient time for a stronger breeze to return.   protest  committee  made  an  error  when  it  decided that
               The decision to abandon was premature, and redress is   ff2278 was not entitled to take part in the resail. ff2278
               to  be  granted  to  those  boats  that  continued  to  race,   was  an  entrant  (albeit  not  a  starter)  in  the  race  in
               based on the recorded rounding times at the end of the   question by virtue of the club’s sailing instruction and
               second lap.                                        therefore  entitled  to  sail  in  the  rescheduled  race  in
                                                                  accordance with rule 81.
               It should be noted that the decision to abandon would
               have  been  equally  improper  had  no  boat then  crossed   When  the  date  is  chosen  for  a  race  to  be  resailed,  it
               the  finishing  line within the time  limit,  but that could   often follows that a boat that sailed the abandoned race
               not  result  in  redress,  since  in  the  absence  of  the   is  unable  to  take  part  in  the  resail.  Provided  that  all
               abandonment the boats would not have had scores for   boats that entered the first race are notified of the resail
               finishing positions.                               date, and that the date is chosen fairly, there is no error
                                                                  by  the  race  committee  and  no  boats  are  entitled  to
               Request for Redress by Laser2 5749, reference from Lancing SC
                                                                  redress on the grounds of the rescheduled date.
               RYA 1999/9                                         The sailing secretary made every effort to ensure that the
               Rule 81, Rescheduled Event                         resail date suited as many people as possible. She cannot
               When a race is abandoned, and the race committee or   be  held  responsible,  due  to  circumstances  outside  her
               protest  committee  decides  that  it  will  be  resailed  on   control, for a competitor not being able to start. The fact
               another day, rule 81 applies. A boat  that had entered   that the appellant was unable to race on the day chosen
               but  not  sailed the abandoned race has a right to take   for  the  rescheduled  race  was  unfortunate,  but  not  an
               part. A boat that took part in the abandoned race but is   improper action of the race committee.
               not  able  to  participate  in  the  resail  is  not  entitled  to   Request for Redress by Bones Jones, County Antrim YC
               redress,  even  though  the  abandonment  resulted  from
               her own previous request for redress, provided that the   RYA 2000/5
               race committee acts reasonably in deciding a date for   Rule 28.2, Sailing the Course
               the resail.
                                                                  When the sailing instructions state that a mark is to be
               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS                               rounded, boats shall do so, even if the intentions of the
               The notice of race and sailing instructions for a 10-race   race  committee  were  otherwise.  However,  a  boat  that
               series, with two discards, did not require an entry to be   did not do so for good safety reasons would be entitled
               made in writing, and Flying Fifteens on their moorings   to redress.
               were  deemed  to  be  entrants,  scoring  points  for  DNS
               when they did not take part.                       The string in rule 28.2 is to be taken to lie, when taut, in
                                                                  navigable water only.
               After  a  race  sailed  in  June,  Bones  Jones  requested
               redress, and as a result the protest committee abandoned   When a mark to be rounded is too close to the rhumb
               the race and ordered a resail. The race was rescheduled   line from the previous mark to the next mark for a boat
               for  29th  August,  the  last  practical  date  in  the  season.   to be able to decide visually whether it has to be looped,
               Bones  Jones  then  suffered  damage  and  was  unable  to   a boat that does not loop it and is successfully protested
               take part. The rescheduling was arranged by the owner   is entitled to redress.
               of  ff2278  who  was  the  sailing  secretary  of  the  club.   However, she will not be entitled to redress if the marks
               ff2278  had  not  taken  part  in  the  abandoned  race,  but   are  charted  and  the  boat  can  be  expected  to  carry
               competed in seven of the other nine races in the series.

                                                              94
   89   90   91   92   93   94   95   96   97   98   99