Page 98 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 98

protest  hearing.  A  protest  committee  cannot  protest   SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               based on information learned in a request for redress.   Salena,  whose  hull  length  exceeded  6  metres,  hailed
                                                                  Touchwood  that  she  was  protesting,  and,  as  a  protest
               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS                               signal, displayed a grey and red glove in her rigging. At
               Vanilla, a boat of a class sailed only at the club, crossed   the  start  of  the  hearing,  Touchwood  objected  to  the
               the finishing line in first place. The trophy for the race   validity of the protest, on the grounds that a red flag had
               was  awarded  to  the  boat  that  finished  second,  and   not  been  flown.  The  protest  committee  found  that
               Vanilla was told that she had been disqualified by the   Touchwood  had  heard  the  hail  and  seen  the  glove.  It
               officers of the class because she had not complied with   believed that Touchwood regarded the glove, while not
               a recent change to class rules. She asked for redress
                                                                  a flag in the normal sense, as signalling an intention to
               The protest committee found that the class officers ‘had   protest,  particularly  in  the  context  of  three  hails  from
               not  complied  with  rule  60.2’  in  disqualifying  Vanilla   Salena to Touchwood to keep clear, a hail of ‘Protest’, a
               without a hearing, but that the amendment to class rules   request  to  take  a  penalty,  and  a  radio  message  from
               was  valid  and,  as  Vanilla  did  not  comply  with  class   Salena on an open channel that she was protesting.
               rules,  she  was  now  disqualified  by  the  protest   Touchwood was disqualified for not keeping clear, and
               committee. Vanilla appealed.
                                                                  appealed.
               DECISION                                           DECISION
               Vanilla’s appeal is upheld. She is to be reinstated into   Touchwood’s appeal is upheld and she is reinstated into
               first place and receive the trophy.
                                                                  her finishing position.
               The  protest  committee  was  correct  to  conclude  that   The  RYA  is  satisfied  that  Touchwood  objected  to
               Vanilla was wrongly disqualified. Vanilla had finished   validity  at  the  start  of  the  hearing,  and  was  therefore
               first. There had been no protest and no hearing. If the   entitled to appeal.
               race committee or another boat believed  Vanilla to be
               ‘out  of  class’,  one  or  more  of  them  should  have   Rule  61.1(a)  required  a  boat  of  Salena’s  length  to
               protested  her.  A  class  association  has  no  power  to   display a red protest flag. The glove displayed was not a
               protest, let alone disqualify without a hearing.   red flag, nor did it comply with the requirement in WS
                                                                  Case 72 to be seen primarily as a flag. In the words of
               The protest committee was wrong to believe that it then   the  protest  committee  itself,  it  was  ‘not  a  flag  in  the
               had  a  power  to  disqualify.  The  hearing  was  not  a   normal sense’, and, even if the protestor’s intention to
               protest, but a request for redress. It is clear throughout   protest was clear from the hail, a protestee is entitled to
               Part 5 of the Racing Rules of Sailing that protests and   contest the validity of a protest when the requirements
               requests  for  redress  are  different  from  each  other.   of  rule  61.1(a)  are  not  complied  with.  Touchwood  is
               Nothing  in  rule  64.2,  Decisions  on  Redress,  allows  a   reinstated into her finishing position.
               protest  committee  to  disqualify  a  boat  requesting
               redress.  The  power  in  rule  64.1  to  disqualify  applies   Salena v Touchwood, Liverpool YC
               only to a boat that is a party to a protest hearing, and not
               to a boat that is a party to a redress hearing.    RYA 2001/14
                                                                  Definitions, Obstruction
               It is well established that a protest committee may not   Rule 19.1, Room to Pass an Obstruction: When Rule 19
               expand  the  scope  of  a  request  for  redress  beyond  the   Applies
               ‘incident’  giving  rise  to  the  request,  which  was  that   Rule 19.2(a), Room to Pass an Obstruction: Giving
               Vanilla  finished  first  and  was  disqualified  without  a   Room at an Obstruction
               hearing  –  see  WS  Case  80.  Nor  may  a  protest   Rule 19.2(b), Room to Pass an Obstruction: Giving
               committee change a request for redress into a protest –   Room at an Obstruction
               see  RYA  Case  1990/7.  In  addition,  rule  60.3(a)  says   Rule 20.1, Room to Tack at an Obstruction: Hailing
               that, in the absence of exceptions that are not relevant
               here, a protest committee cannot protest a boat based on   The  question  of  whether  a  moored  vessel  is  an
               information learned in a request for redress.      obstruction depends on the definition of the term, which
                                                                  cannot be changed in sailing instructions.
               Request for redress by Vanilla, Parkstone YC
                                                                  When  overlapped  boats  on  the  same  tack  are
               RYA 2001/13                                        approaching  an  obstruction  that  could  be  passed  on
               Rule 61.1(a), Protest Requirements: Informing the   either  side  by  both  of  them,  the  leeward  right-of-way
               Protestee                                          boat may decide that both shall pass to windward. If the
               Rule 63.5, Hearings: Validity of the Protest or Request   leeward boat decides to pass the obstruction to leeward,
               for Redress                                        she  must  be  prepared  to  give  room  to  the  windward
                                                                  boat to do the same.
               A glove cannot be a protest flag.
                                                                  QUESTION 1
               When the display of a protest flag  is required but  not   We sail on a river with many yachts and keelboats on
               complied with, a protestee’s objection at the start of a   moorings  in  the  racing  area.  Confusion  has  arisen
               hearing to the validity of the protest is to be upheld even   concerning rule 19.1 when a moored boat can often be
               if  the  protestee  must  have  been  well  aware  of  the   passed on either side. Does rule 19 apply?
               intention to protest.


                                                              98
   93   94   95   96   97   98   99   100   101   102   103