Page 101 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 101

W  broke  rule  11  but  was  compelled  to  do  so  by  L’s   SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               infringement. She is exonerated under rule 64.1(a).   The  sailing  instructions  said  that  the  starting  line  was
                                                                  from the committee boat mast to a dan buoy flying the
               Wild West Hero v Limbo Dancer, Parkstone YC.
                                                                  club burgee. The race committee laid a different mark,
                                                                  without  a  burgee,  and  tried  to  notify  the  boats  about
               RYA 2002/3
               Rule 14, Avoiding Contact                          this. No amendment to sailing instructions was issued,
                                                                  nor did the sailing instructions provide for oral changes.
               When there is contact that causes damage, a right-of-  All  the  fleet  started  on  the  line  intended  by  the  race
               way boat does not break rule 14 if it was not reasonably   committee, except for Waxwing, which did not arrive at
               possible for her to avoid contact.                 the  starting  area  until  four  minutes  after  the  start,  did
                                                                  not  receive  the  information  about  the  different  buoy,
                                                                  and did not sail between the race committee’s mark and
                             P3         A3                        the committee boat, as she believed that another buoy
                                                 Wind             on a different alignment was the starting line mark.
                                            B3
                        P2                                        Kathleen’s protest against Waxwing  for not sailing the
                                                   B2             course  was  dismissed,  and  she  appealed.  The  protest
                                     A2                           committee  observed  that  that  starting  line  did  not
                  P1                                              comply  with  the  sailing  instructions,  and  so  no  boat,
                                                        B1
                                                                  Waxwing  included,  could  be  said  to  have  started
                                           A1                     correctly:  and  that  Waxwing  began  to  sail  the  course,

                                                                  four  minutes  late,  from  a  position  close  to  the
               SUMMARY                                            committee  boat,  having  closed  it  to  check  the  course,
               In  the  J/24  National  Championships,  A  and  B  were   and so gained no advantage.
               close-hauled  on  starboard  tack.  A  was  some  distance
               ahead and to leeward of B. P was close-hauled on port   DECISION
               tack on a collision course with A. P did not keep clear   Kathleen’s appeal is dismissed.
               of A and, to avoid her, A was compelled to crash-tack   The appeal and the original protest allege that Waxwing
               on to port, and that tack put her directly ahead of B. B   did not leave the starting line mark on the correct side.
               then  tried  to  avoid  contact,  but  there  was  a  collision   The protest committee found as a fact that there was no
               resulting  in  damage.  B  protested  A.  The  protest   starting  line  mark  as  described  in  the  sailing
               committee  found  that  the  tack  was  so  close  to B  that   instructions.  The  appellant  gives  no  grounds  for  the
               contact  was  inevitable.  It  disqualified  both  boats  –  A   RYA to question this or any of the other facts found, or
               under  rule  10,  and  B  under  rule  14  for  failing  to   the conclusions and decision of the protest committee.
               anticipate  a  problem  between  A  and  P  and  so  take
               earlier action to avoid the collision. B appealed.   Kathleen v Waxwing, Hamble River S.C.
               DECISION                                           RYA 2002/5
               B’s appeal is upheld. Both A and B are reinstated.   Sportsmanship and the Rules
                                                                  Rule 14, Avoiding Contact
               While B tried to avoid A, she was unable to do so. A
               broke Rule 13 but was compelled to do so by the action   Rule 16.1, Changing Course
               of P. A is therefore exonerated in accordance with Rule   Rule 44.1(b), Penalties at the time of an Incident:
               64.1(a).                                           Taking a Penalty
                                                                  Rule 64.1(a), Decisions: Penalties and Exoneration
               Rule  14 requires a  boat to avoid contact with another   Rule 64.1(b), Decisions: Penalties and Exoneration
               boat only if it is reasonably possible to do so. When a
               boat on starboard tack is confronted with a  keep-clear   When  a  boat  retires  promptly  after  an  incident,  for
               boat that has taken violent evasive action immediately   whatever reason, she has complied with Sportsmanship
               ahead of her, the reaction time required to take steps to   and the Rules in respect of any rules (apart from rule 2)
               avoid contact can be too long to permit such action to   she  may  have  broken.  When  there  is  serious  damage
               be taken  successfully. In those circumstances  it  is  not   which  may  have  been  her  responsibility,  she  is,  by
               reasonably  possible  to  avoid  contact  and  the  boat   retiring, exempted from further penalties in  respect  of
               concerned does not break Rule 14 if contact occurs. B is   that incident.
               also reinstated.                                   When a boat acquires right of way or when a right-of-
                                                                  way boat alters course, she is required to give room for
               Rolling Stock v Jalapeno, Yacht Clubs of Weymouth
                                                                  the  other  boat  to  keep  clear.  The  give-way  boat  must
               RYA 2002/4                                         promptly manoeuvre in a way which offers a reasonable
               Rule 28, Sailing the Course                        expectation that she will keep clear. If the give way boat
                                                                  fails to keep clear she will break the relevant right-of-
               A boat is not to be penalized for not leaving a starting   way  rule  unless  she  was  not  given  room  for  that
               mark on the required side if the buoy laid as a starting   manoeuvre.
               mark is not  as described in  the  sailing  instructions, if
               she  has  not  been  validly  notified  of  this,  and  if  she   When a right-of-way boat changes her course to comply
               believes some other buoy near the committee boat is the   with rule 14 because the give-way boat is already not
               starting mark.

                                                             101
   96   97   98   99   100   101   102   103   104   105   106