Page 105 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 105

lifted at the end of the season and laid again each spring   starboard tack. Both boats held their course. There was
               by  a  contractor  acting  on  behalf  of  the  local  clubs.   contact   between   Cadhire   Falcon’s   bow   and
               Unknown to the race committee, one of the marks had   Desperado’s  starboard  quarter  130mm  from  her
               been laid 0.4 nm from its published position. Fandango   transom, before which Desperado’s helmsman, fearing
               was one of several boats who used GPS to sail to the   for his safety, left his position. Serious damage resulted.
               mark’s published position in race in force 4 winds and   Desperado took a penalty and continued racing.
               good visibility, and she lost time locating and rounding   Cadhire Falcon protested Desperado. Both boats were
               the mark as actually laid. She asked for redress.
                                                                  disqualified,  Cadhire  Falcon  under  rule  14.  Cadhire
               The  protest  committee  refused  redress  and  referred  its   Falcon appealed, claiming that, by the time it was clear
               decision to the RYA, asking for guidance on the extent to   that Desperado was not keeping clear, it was too late for
               which  a  race  committee  was  obliged  to  check  the   her, Cadhire Falcon, to avoid contact. She also asserted
               positions of such marks: the extent to which a boat might   that the act of Desperado’s helmsman leaving the helm
               rely on navigation by GPS alone, given that other boats   would  have  caused  Desperado  to  luff  because  of
               had detected the error earlier by keeping a good lookout;   weather helm, turning a near-miss into an unavoidable
               and whether the caveat in the sailing instructions would   collision.
               always prevail against a redress claim.
                                                                  DECISION
               DECISION                                           Cadhire Falcon’s appeal is dismissed.
               The decision of the protest committee is confirmed.
                                                                  Desperado  was give-way  boat on port tack and  broke
               As concerns a seasonal mark that is laid by a contractor   rule  10.  Although  she  took  a  penalty,  the  protest
               on behalf of local clubs, a race committee is entitled to   committee found that the damage was serious and she
               expect that the mark was  laid  in  its  intended position,   should have retired as required by rule 44.1(b). She did
               and  cannot  be  expected  to  check  the  positions  of  all   not do so and was correctly disqualified.
               marks  it  might  use.  If  it  learns  of  an  error,  it  should   Based  on  the  facts  found  it  was  clear  at  10  seconds
               advise competitors.
                                                                  before contact occurred that Desperado was not keeping
               A caveat concerning the accuracy of mark positions in   clear  once  she  was  committed  to  crossing  ahead  of
               sailing instructions does not relieve the race committee   Cadhire Falcon.
               of its responsibilities. When the race committee learns   Therefore  Cadhire  Falcon,  as  right-of-way  boat  on
               before a race that any mark is out of position, and does
               not act on that knowledge when it is possible to do so,   starboard  tack,  was  required  by  rule  14(a)  to  act  to
                                                                  avoid contact within those 10 seconds. As the collision
               this  may  be  an  improper  omission  giving  rise  to  the
               possibility  of  redress.  When  a  race  committee  learns   was only 130mm from the stern of Desperado there was
                                                                  no reason why, in the prevailing conditions and within
               during  a  race  that  any  mark  is  out  of  position,  it  is
               required  to  act  under  rule  34,  if  possible.  If  it  is  not   the  10  second  period,  Cadhire  Falcon  could  not  have
                                                                  born away sufficiently to pass behind  Desperado. The
               possible,  abandonment  under  rule  32.1(c)  may  be
               appropriate if a mark is so far from its intended position   protest  committee  found  that  Cadhire  Falcon,  as
                                                                  confirmed in her own evidence, made no attempt to bear
               that boats cannot be expected to find its actual position,
               or can do so only at the expense of changes in position   away and held her course throughout.
               too  extensive  or  unquantifiable  to  be  remedied  by   Cadhire  Falcon  asserts  that  she  would  have  avoided
               redress that is fair for all the fleet.            contact,  albeit  by  the  smallest  possible  margin,  if
                                                                  Desperado's  helmsman  had  not  left  his  position,
               However, a boat that relies solely on GPS for sailing the
               course in good conditions is not without fault if she is   resulting  in  a  small  course  change  that  caused  the
                                                                  collision. A boat that takes action to keep clear or (as in
               delayed  in  arriving at a  mark that is  not in  its correct
               position but is reasonably near it, and she is not entitled   this case) to avoid contact and elects to pass very close
                                                                  astern of a boat crossing ahead of her does so at her own
               to redress.
                                                                  risk  if  she  is  able  to  pass  further  away.  This  is
               Request for redress by Fandango, Warsash SC        particularly  true  of  large  boats  sailing  at  speed.
                                                                  However,  the  facts  found  (which  the  RYA  sees  no
               RYA 2002/11                                        reason  to  question)  do  not  support  any  claim  that the
               Definitions, Keep Clear                            course sailed by Desperado altered significantly during
               Rule 14(a), Avoiding Contact                       the  final  few  seconds  before  the  collision  after  her
               A boat that takes action to keep clear or avoid contact   helmsman  left his position  fearing  for his safety. That
               and elects to pass very close astern of a boat crossing   he  felt  the  need  to  do  so  was  clear  evidence  that
               ahead of her does so at her own risk if she was able to   Cadhire Falcon was not complying with rule 14.
               pass  further  away,  and  there  is  contact  resulting  in   Cadhire  Falcon  broke  rule  14  and  was  correctly
               serious damage.                                    disqualified.

               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS                               Cadhire Falcon v Desperado, Warsash SC
               Desperado,  a  20m  Swan,  was  approaching  the
               windward mark close-hauled on port tack in 12 kts. She   RYA 2002/13
               realised she had overstood the layline, eased her sheets   Rule 71.4, National Authority Decisions
               and  slowed  somewhat.  Cadhire  Falcon,  a  13m
               lightweight  racer,  approached  her  close-hauled  on
                                                             105
   100   101   102   103   104   105   106   107   108   109   110