Page 108 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 108

SUMMARY OF THE FACTS                               serious damage, and close its hearing against any other
               There was a series of collisions between a group of six   boat, as required by rule 63.5.
               small keelboats running on the same tack to a leeward   The protest committee in this case correctly addressed the
               mark  in  strong  wind  and  tide  and  a  choppy  sea.  The
               protest committee found that the protests arising, which   question as to whether there was only one, or more than
                                                                  one, incident, and decided, before any hearing had been
               alleged  serious  damage,  were  invalid  under  the  rules
               applicable  at  the  time  (rule  61.1(a)(4)  not  then  being   opened,  that  there  was  no  causal  link  between  any
                                                                  infringement  by  W  and  subsequent  infringements.  It
               available), and decided to act under rule 60.3(a)(1). It
               had learned from the invalid protests that there had been   therefore  felt  itself  precluded  from  protesting  her,
                                                                  whether under rule 60.3(a)(1) or rule 61.1(c). The RYA’s
               contact between the  most windward of the group (W)
               and  the  boat  to  leeward  of  her  (L),  not  resulting  in   decision is that, given several boats in close proximity, L
                                                                  changing course as a result of contact with W, and then a
               damage.  L  had then  borne away  and there  followed a
               chain  of  collisions  between  windward  and  leeward   series  of  contacts  all  within  a  ten-second  period,  there
                                                                  was a causal link and therefore only one incident.
               boats, resulting in serious damage to two of them.
                                                                  Once  it  is  established  that  there  was  an  incident
               It concluded that the collision between W and L was an   resulting in injury or serious damage, and involving the
               incident  separate  from  the  subsequent  collisions,  and
               decided  that  it  was  not  able  to  protest  W  under  rule   protestee, a protest under rule 60.3(a)(1) is no different
                                                                  from  any  other  protest.  The  protest  committee  must
               60.3(a)(1), as she was not involved in an incident that
               may  have  resulted  in  serious  damage.  It  protested  the   decide the facts and apply the rules to the incident. Any
                                                                  boat  involved  in  the  incident  and  protested  may  be
               other boats.
                                                                  penalized  under  the  appropriate  rule,  regardless  of
               L  and  the  boat  to  leeward  of  her  (X)  were  both   whether  it  was  she  that  caused  the  injury  or  serious
               disqualified under rule 11. The protest committee, with   damage,  and  the  fact  that  she  did  not  cause  serious
               clear evidence of contact between W and L, had found   damage  or  serious  injury  is  not  of  itself  a  reason  for
               as  a  fact  that  W  (not  represented  at  the  hearing)  had   exonerating her.
               broken rule 11, but she was not penalized as she was not   During  the  hearing  of  a  protest  brought  under  rule
               a party to the protest. L and X appealed.
                                                                  60.3(a)(1), a protest committee might also realise that it
               Both appeals were upheld, the RYA deciding (based on   had not initially cast its net widely enough, and that a
               the facts found by the protest committee, but contrary to   further boat was involved that might have broken a rule.
               the  conclusions  of  the  protest  committee)  that  all  the   It  is  then  entitled  under  rule  60.3(a)(2) to  protest that
               subsequent  collisions  had  resulted  from  the  original   boat. As that requires a fresh hearing (see rule 61.1(c)),
               collision  between  W  and  L,  entitling  L  and  X  to   it is obviously preferable if such a boat can be identified
               exoneration.                                       earlier  and  included  within  the  protest  under  rule
                                                                  60.3(a)(1) from the outset, if only later to eliminate her.
               In its decision, the RYA gave the following guidance on
               rule 60.3(a)(1).                                   In this case, W cannot  be penalized by the RYA under
                                                                  rule 71.3 as she was not a party to the protest. The protest
               SCOPE  OF  RULE  60.3(a)(1)  AND  RELATED          committee may not now protest her, as any possible time
               PROCESS                                            limit for a protest has long since expired. There is no rule
               When there was an incident that may have resulted in   giving the RYA power to return the case to the protest
               injury  or  serious  damage,  rule  60.3(a)(1)  states  that  a   committee and require it to protest W.
               protest committee may protest any boat involved. At the
               time when it is deciding what action to take, it will not   Protest Committee v Ariel and others, Royal Lymington YC
               have  firm  facts as to the details of the  incident or the
               precise  involvement  of  each  boat.  The  protest   RYA 2003/5
               committee is allowed to protest any boat that may have   Rule 14(a), Avoiding Contact
               been involved and, when it decides to protest, the RYA   Rule 16.1, Changing Course
               recommends  it  should  protest  all  boats that  may  have   Rule 18.2(b), Mark-Room: Giving Mark-Room
               been  involved.  Stating  a  belief  that  rule  14  has  been   Rule 18.2(c), Mark-Room: Giving Mark-Room
               broken would be appropriate for this purpose.      Rule 21, Exoneration
               Once  the  hearing  begins,  the  protest  committee  must   Rule 21 offers no exoneration for breaking rule 14. In
               then identify the incident more precisely, and establish   order to avoid penalization when damage results from a
               that injury or serious damage resulted from it.    collision,  a  right-of-way  boat  rounding  a  mark  may
                                                                  need to delay her normal change of course, or indeed
               When only two boats are involved, it is not difficult to   change course in the other direction in order to comply
               identify  an  incident.  When  more  than  two  boats  are   with  the  requirement  to  avoid  contact  if  reasonably
               involved  and  there  are  sequential  failures  to  comply   possible.
               with  the  rules,  the  protest  committee  has  to  decide
               whether there is only one, or more than one, incident.
               The test is that there must be some causal link between
               the events. If  it decides that  there was  more than one
               incident, it should proceed only with the protest against
               boats involved in the incident that resulted in injury or


                                                             108
   103   104   105   106   107   108   109   110   111   112   113