Page 102 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 102

keeping clear, the right-of-way boat will be exonerated   of that incident. See WS Case 99. When there is serious
               if in the process she breaks rule 16.1             damage which may have been her responsibility, she is,
                                                                  by retiring, taking the penalty in rule 44.1(b) and she is
               When it is clear that a give-way boat that is limited in   exempted  from  further  penalties  in  respect  of  that
               her manoeuvrability cannot or will not keep clear, and   incident because of rule 64.1(b). S is to be scored DNF.
               the right-of-way boat maintains a collision course with
               her,  the  right-of-way  boat  breaks  rule  14,  even  if  the   In general, a right-of-way boat should be found to have
               actions  of  the  give-way  boat  hinder  the  right-of-way   broken rule 16.1 only if the give-way boat cannot keep
               boat from avoiding a collision.                    clear after taking proper action to try to keep clear  in
                                                                  response to the right-of-way boat’s changing course, or
                                                                  if the change of course frustrates what otherwise was a
                                                                  successful  keeping-clear.  Since  P  was  unaware  of  S
                                                                  during S's hardening up between 6 and 2 lengths apart,
                                                                  and was therefore not acting to keep clear, S should not
                                                                  be found to have broken rule 16 during that time.
                                                                  The protest committee found that, from 2 lengths apart,
                                                                  S's  alterations  of  course  were  an  attempt  to  avoid
                                                                  collision with a give-way boat. S sailed on a collision
                                                                  course  until  contact  was  imminent  when  she
                                                                  changed  course  to  comply  with  rule  14(a)  which
                                                                  says that she “need not act to avoid contact until it is
                                                                  clear that the other boat is not keeping clear or giving
                                                                  room”. This means that P was already breaking a rule.
                                                                  In  this  circumstance  if  the  avoiding  action  by  S
                                                                  (whether successful or not) breaks rule 16 she is entitled
                                                                  to exoneration under rule 64.1(a), as in WS Case 88. P
                                                                  had been give-way boat at all relevant times, first under
                                                                  rule  10,  then  under  rule  13,  and  possibly  under  rule
               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS                               21.1.  As  S  did  not  break  rule  16.1,  P  was  correctly
               Before the start for two-handed cruiser-racers in a force   disqualified for not keeping clear of her.
               4 wind, S was approaching the starting line to start on a
               broad reach. P, thinking that the start was to windward,   S  was  aware  of  P  from  at  least  6  boat  lengths  apart.
               was approaching the starting line from the course side   With P moving very slowly, and S having good speed,
               on a close-hauled course, slowly and with sheets eased.   and  therefore  manoeuvrability  in  those  conditions, the
               Had  they  held  their  courses,  contact  would  have   RYA has no reason to question the protest committee’s
               occurred.                                          conclusion that S could, and therefore should under rule
                                                                  14,  have  been  able  reasonably  to  avoid  contact.  The
               S hailed at six lengths, and luffed to a course that was   decision that S broke rule 14 therefore stands.
               still  a  collision  course.  P  did  not  hear  the  hail.  When
               they were two lengths apart, P saw S for the first time   Percussion v Cruella de Vil, Royal Naval & Royal Albert YC
               and  started  to  tack,  which  put  her  across  S’s  bow.  S
               bore away to try to pass astern of P, then, when it was   RYA 2002/6
                                                                  Rule 62.1, Redress
               clear that this would not succeed, luffed to try to cross
               her bow. There was contact  before P reached a close-  Rule 71.2, National Authority Decisions
               hauled  course  on  starboard  tack.  S  was  seriously   When  there  is  a  prize  for  a  certain  category  of  boat
               damaged and retired promptly. She protested P.     within the overall results of a race, competition for the
                                                                  prize ranks as a race for the purposes of rule 62.1.
               The  protest  committee  disqualified  both  boats,  P  for
               breaking rule 13, and S, firstly for breaking rule 14, as   When  the  conditions  relating  to  the  awarding  of  a
               she  could  have  avoided  contact  by  an  earlier  decisive   trophy  are  ambiguous,  the  RYA  is  normally  no  better
               change  of  course  in  either  direction,  and  secondly,   placed than the protest committee to interpret them.
               under rule 16.1, for changing course and not giving P
               room to keep clear.                                SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
                                                                  Guffin, a J/24 built by Westerly, entered a handicap race
               S appealed.                                        with an overall trophy and many additional prizes and
                                                                  trophies  for  boats  of  different  classes  and  types,
               DECISION                                           including a trophy for ‘the first Westerly Class Yacht on
               S’s  appeal  is  upheld  to  the  extent  that  the
               disqualification  of  S,  and  the  finding  that  she  had   handicap.’  She  was  awarded  the  trophy.  Kishmiro,  a
                                                                  Westerly  Tempest,  requested  redress  because  Guffin
               broken Rule 16.1, are annulled.
                                                                  was not a ‘Westerly Class Yacht.’ While J/24s were, for
               When  a  boat  retires  promptly  after  an  incident,  for   a while, built by Westerly, she asserted that the J/24 was
               whatever  reason,  she  has  complied  with  the  Basic   not  recognised  as  being  a  Westerly  boat,  nor,  unlike
               Principle,  Sportsmanship  and  the  Rules,  in  respect  of   ‘proper’ Westerlys, did Guffin carry a Westerly logo on
               any rules (apart from rule 2) she may have broken. In so   the sail.
               doing, she is exempted from further penalties in respect

                                                             102
   97   98   99   100   101   102   103   104   105   106   107